We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Bruce B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott at the University of Dayton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott at the University of Dayton
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
“Bruce B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just stayed for 3 nights at the Dayton Marriott. The hotel is located right near the University of Dayton, making easy access to a wide variety of restaurant. I second the comments on the gym - exceeded my expectations. The standard room did seem a bit small, but not a problem for a business trip (might upgrade if bringing the family to some of the awesome air museums.) The staff was super friendly, from the front desk to the housekeeping crew to the concierge lounge staff. The hotel also has good access to I-75 and Hwy30, making getting around to Wright Patt. I'll be staying here next time I'm in the area for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    150
    77
    37
    16
See reviews for
97
51
22
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for a sports tournament and found it to be centrally located and right next to the University of Dayton. It is the nicest hotel in the Dayton area (one of the only full service hotels to be found). The rooms were clean - albeit small. We upgraded to a junior suite which was 3 times the sized of a standard room. There are two restaurants on site which were satisfactory. The pizza was actually outstanding. The bathrooms were well appointed and wifi was complimentary. I recommend getting the package that includes breakfast (cost savings of 25 to 30 dollars for breakfast for two). The staff was friendly and helpful; overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Junior suites are extremely spacious for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I enjoyed the friendly and professional attention I received here from check in to check out! Great gym with free weight dumbbells up to 100 lbs, who else has this? Pool is cool, so was the hot tub but the gym was way better than what I'm used to; short to going to a gym close to hotels, this pretty much as more than other hotels across the country I've been to.
The concierge lounge with Richard in the morning is outstanding! Great food and service, as is the evening concierge lounge service with Lisa.
The weekend breakfast buffet I had on Saturday was fabulous as was the omelette/waffle chef, the helpful waiter staff, and there's even a guy there who looks like Manny Pacquiao...
This was a business trip for me, but since I travel a lot with my family, we would stay at a place like this as well...as apparently so many other parents had the same like-minded thinking when I had noticed this phenomenon during the weekend...LOL Just saying...when I'm in Dayton, this is the only place I will stay at!

Room Tip: Get your Platinum ranking and stay on the 6th floor with the concierge lounge access! Great view fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here for a family wedding, hotel was perfect, had a shuttle bus that would take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius plus within walking distance to cafe's etc on brown street. There wasn't too much to do in Dayton however we were there to see family so it didn't really matter. Room's were nice and clean, only complaint was that the maid kept coming at 8am which wasn't great when we had been out til about 2am however this is mainly a business hotel so can understand that normally guests would be up and about at 8am! Guys at reception were lovely and always willing to help, phoned restaurants for us to make reservations etc.

If visiting again would definitely choose this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lainey3718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Dayton Marriott for 2 nights during the holidays. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff-from the reception desk to the people who maintained the rooms, to the lady who took care of the fitness room-were all friendly and helpful. The restaurant is also good. Beds are very comfortable.

Room Tip: We asked for a room in the back and on an upper floor to insure quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freude1joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
298 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very typical Marriott; close to University of Dayton & downtown. On weekends, this hotel is VERY popular with families with young & teenage children attending sports tournaments. This is true all seasons of the year - soccer, volleyball, hockey. So, in the evening, the lobby is FULL of parents & their coolers of beer & wine. Pool & hallways are FULL of children going from room to room. This continues until late (sometimes very late) in the evening.

Front desk staff admits that during such weekends, there are no "quiet" areas of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night on the weekend, call hotel directly before booking to verify whether sport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClevelandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

I stood here from 11/22-25/2012. I was visiting family for Thanksgiving. The hotel is lovely. The only thing negative I can complain about is their pool & jacuzzi were being renovated. I missed being able to use them. Other than that--absolutely wonderful. Will stay here again when visiting my relatives!










































































  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dayton
Crowne Plaza Dayton
#17 of 46 in Dayton
3.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
7.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott at the University of Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott at the University of Dayton

Property: Marriott at the University of Dayton
Address: 1414 S Patterson Blvd, Dayton, OH 45409-2105 (Formerly Dayton Marriott)
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott at the University of Dayton 3*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a park-like setting on the University of Dayton campus, the Marriott at the University of Dayton, Ohio is moments from downtown and major corporate and government facilities. All 399 Dayton hotel rooms, including Concierge level rooms and suites, are stylishly decorated and feature luxurious bedding and complimentary high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi. Let our acclaimed chef entertain your taste buds with locally sourced ingredients at Parmizzano's restaurant, and enjoy a local brew or other favorite beverage at Gambit's Lounge. Discover amenities such as a relaxing indoor/outdoor pool and an on-site fitness center. A spacious choice for meetings and conferences, this Dayton, OH hotel has state-of-the-art facilities, first class catering, and a professional dedicated staff. With all we have to offer, choosing among Dayton hotels is easy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott at the University of Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Marriott
Marriott At The University Of Dayton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing