We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott at the University of Dayton
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great service and location”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed here one night on rewards points. Check-in was quick and very friendly. Everyone we encountered in the hotel was nice. This is an older Marriott but the location is great (by University of Dayton and a nice bike path) and the hotel is very well-maintained. Rooms are updated and the pool looked like it would be nice in warm weather. It is a 1980's Marirott but I would definitely stay here again because of the service, cleanliness, locaiton, and amenities (nice bar, gym, pool).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioChowhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    192
    97
    39
    19
See reviews for
138
66
32
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Just a one night trip and I guess this is the best that Dayton has to offer? The hotel seemed like a made-over cheaper hotel with upgraded carpet, wallpaper, furniture, and beds. Don't get me wrong, it was comfortable enough. And the staff was wonderful! In fact, I've stayed at five star hotels that didn't have a staff, especially the check-in counter, this accommodating.

The biggest thing that is a non-starter with me are the hotels with the Motel 6ish heating/air unit in the room. You know, the one's with "off, low, and high" that blow constantly, right at the bed? I"m one of those who just turn it off at night and deal with the cold in the morning. (It was January in Dayton.)

I've stayed in nicer Marriotts and worse. This one? Just so-so, but clean and well-attended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pramstroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had a great time, would go again. Their are good restaurants nearby and the staff was very helpful.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed New Years Eve and took advantage of one of the packages offered. Rooms on the concierge floor were very tight. Air conditioning unit was an old fashioned outside wall unit and it was very difficult to reach the wall unit due to a chair between the unit and the bed. Room was very tight and bathroom was very tight as well. Compared to other Marriott's, rooms were very small and tight and the old heating air conditioning unit on the outside is clunky and should be controlled by the more modern thermostat. Hotel is very old looking on the outside and is right on the University of Dayton campus. About a 3 long blocks walk to restaurants right in the heart of the campus. Hotel overlooks parks and is right on the Miami river about a mile or so from downtown Dayton. Excercise room was huge and very well stocked with cold towels, numerous types of equipment and even had a fruit bowl. Even though the excercise room was awesome, the pool, being winter, was very small and a 4 person whirlpool was old. I like to swim laps, not in this pool and no other options like local health clubs was offered to me. Service in the restaurant, front desk, van drivers and excercise room was very good. Lobby had TV's with tables, but on New Year's Day a significant leak was occurring in the lobby and it wasn't even raining! a steady stream of water was coming through the roof in the middle of the lobby and a trash dumpster was placed underneath to capture the leak. Breakfast buffet was traditional around $15 per person with tax without tip appeared a bit high for just the traditional omelletes, bacon and sausage. It did not have any baked goods other than waffles and biscuits and had 5 or so types of fresh fruits. Nothing really special compared to other Marriott's who have many locally baked breakfast items. The restaurant view overlooked the University's excavation projects. Overall, average hotel with tight rooms. Be wary, if you paid for a concierge room during the last few weeks of the December, the room was closed most of the time and you really don't receive anything special for the extra money. Hotel was quiet, even though quite a number of families and couples were there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Concierge floor were very quiet, but very small. It would be very difficult to fit 4 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emsiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Pros: The front desk staff was very helpful and cheerful, although I needed little from them during my stay it is always nice to receive a warm, personal welcome. The location is also convenient to downtown. The rooms are generally clean and have updated furnishings
Cons: The bed was pretty horrible; overly firm without being supportive - I woke up feeling like I had been in a car wreck, I was so sore. This was a surprise, as I usually like the beds in Marriott hotels. The room HVAC is also extremely loud, even when on the "low" setting. While some white noise is usually a good thing in hotels, this was bothersome. Finally, there was no buffet available at breakfast, and the service was very slow. Overall, not a good value for the $150/night rate. I will stay elsewhere the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayngretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one night. Attended a symphony concert in town. The hotel was very convenient to the concert hall. It was sufficiently appointed and very clean. The breakfast buffet had a wonderful variety for all tastes. The restaurant food was very good and the staff was friendly and helpful. Convenient to the interstate highway.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crescendo012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milltown, IN
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We booked this hotel because we knew it was in walking distance to the Big Beers & Barley Wines Festival. The hotel is a bit dated and the rooms a bit small, but overall it was a nice place to stay for a decent price. The breakfast that was included in the cost of the room was AWESOME and all the staff we dealt with were courteous and attentive. The hotel is also in walking distance to several nice restaurants and pubs, making it an ideal location if you are visiting the college. Very clean, comfortable beds. We will book again when we are in the Dayton area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyk39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
7.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dayton
Crowne Plaza Dayton
#17 of 45 in Dayton
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
6.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dayton South/Miamisburg
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott at the University of Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott at the University of Dayton

Property: Marriott at the University of Dayton
Address: 1414 S Patterson Blvd, Dayton, OH 45409-2105 (Formerly Dayton Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott at the University of Dayton 3*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a park-like setting on the University of Dayton campus, the Marriott at the University of Dayton, Ohio is moments from downtown and major corporate and government facilities. All 399 Dayton hotel rooms, including Concierge level rooms and suites, are stylishly decorated and feature luxurious bedding and complimentary high-speed internet access and Wi-Fi. Let our acclaimed chef entertain your taste buds with locally sourced ingredients at Parmizzano's restaurant, and enjoy a local brew or other favorite beverage at Gambit's Lounge. Discover amenities such as a relaxing indoor/outdoor pool and an on-site fitness center. A spacious choice for meetings and conferences, this Dayton, OH hotel has state-of-the-art facilities, first class catering, and a professional dedicated staff. With all we have to offer, choosing among Dayton hotels is easy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott at the University of Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Marriott
Marriott At The University Of Dayton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing