We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older property trying to upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Marys
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A 4 building complex with 2 ice machines in one room in the back of building number 1, with 1 drink machine and a couple of washer's and dryers for the guest who don't happen to get a suite with all the amenities in a 2 room suite. We were moved after the first night, a room with 2 double beds.Our phone in the room did not work and we found a dying roach in the bathroom the next morning. The next 2 nights we had suite with a king and all the amenities of a small apartment.
2 flat screen TV's of which only 1 worked with the remote. Had to unplug to turn off. Bath towels were old and well used. Must admit that rooms where kept clean and beds where comfortable.
Would have to think real hard about staying again or recommending to friends. We were there for a fraternal family reunion of 6 rooms, made months earlier and were not even in the same building as requested. 1 room in bldg. #1, 2 rooms in bldg. #3 and 3 rooms in bld. # 2

Room Tip: Request a 2 room suite. Same price as 2 doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 227 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel three times in as many years and find the staff helpful, the anemnities perfect (where do you get a washer and dryer in your room?) and the grounds beautiful. Thanks to the entire staff. I'll be back!

Room Tip: everything you need is here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, General Manager at Cumberland Island Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

We are happy you were once again satisfied with your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We asked if they give military discount and the receptionist said that he will ask the manager in the morning. I went to check the status the following day and I was told NO they do not give discount not unless we're going to stay there for 7 days. If not only for the work that we did that second day we could have moved to another hotel. The suite that I had is kinda old the AC units were loud and kept me up most of the nights. The room need maintenance and their kitchen has barely stuff in there to cook. Their pool is closed since it need treatment, And their bar is also closed. I used the gym and grab their towel I almost threw up when I smelled it looks like it has been used and they just put it back - I tried two towels and both had the same smell.

To all my military and government coworkers try to get a hotel other than this it is not worth the $89+ tax that you are going to spend.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aceman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, General Manager at Cumberland Island Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

I'm sorry you were less than satisfied with your stay. Being so close to Kings Bay Naval Base, we are proud to serve any and all military and government personnel.

We offer our standard rooms at less than the government per diem, an 11% discount. You, however, opted to stay in a two room suite which is obviously more expensive. For our guests staying seven nights or longer, we do extend the government rate for those occupying a suite. Your stay was only for four nights.

As for the kitchen supplies, all suites are equipped with a set of pots & pans, plates, glassware, utensils, toaster, coffee pot, microwave, full size stove, and refrigerator. We even have a washer/dryer in the suites. We try to offer all of the conveniences of home.

Once again, I apologize that you were disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at the Cumberland Inn & Suites after arriving in St Marys with BRAG (Bicycle Ride Across Georgia). The hotel looks a little sketchy on the outside but rooms were comfortable and clean. The rooms had amenities of refrigerator, microwave and in room coffee. The breakfast was sufficient to get us on the road. It was conveniently located to the downtown area. If I am ever in St Marys again I would stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank COMO1ColumbiaMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, General Manager at Cumberland Island Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We were very happy to have several BRAG participants stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Quiet, clean, frig in room. Charming gazebo and pool in garden setting with barbeques. I was going to pay $260 to stay near the waterfront in a B&B or $190 for a moldy vacation rental. But then I realized there was no frig in my room and I don't like the lack of privacy and mildew in old homes turned into Bed & Breakfasts. For $200 in savings, I was willing to give up being a block from the ferry. AAA and military discounts. Walk to banks, movie theaters and drug stores. Plenty of parking in town so why not drive for $200 a night?

Room Tip: Second floor has no elevator, but no one walking over head. Rooms facing the pool have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ecolux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, General Manager at Cumberland Island Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you so much. We are thrilled your stay was a pleasant experience and that you had a wonderful time in St. Marys. We look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed here while visiting my daughter for 2 weeks, and stayed in a suite. My room was nice, clean, and quiet. Loved the wood floors, and having a kitchen and washer and dryer was convenient. The staff was really nice. No complaints... I will stay here next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, General Manager at Cumberland Island Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting family and that you were happy with our suites.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Cumberland Island Inn and Suites enjoys an ideal location for those visiting Cumberland Island. The price is certainly the best and our generous package included a $40.00 voucher for food at one of two top restaurants of your choice and the forty-five minute ferry trip over to Cumberland Island. Located a mere, almost traffic-less seven minutes north of the St. Marys Historic District is a real plus. The well maintained grounds consist of several buildings of rooms, a lovely gazebo, a picnic area, and a covered outdoor pool. Unfortunately, winds approaching gale proportions and driving rain the entire time we were there prevented us from using any of them. The main building where guests sign in, features a lovely reception area, a small but completely equipped workout room, and the usual breakfast area. All immaculately maintained. Our love affair ended the moment upon entering our room. The smell was that of a place that had been closed up for years. It knocked us back. I must make it clear, it was our choice to stay there once I sprayed thoroughly. Because the management was outstanding, I am sure we could have changed rooms had we asked. I only mention this as a factor for visitors with allergies. Non-carpeted floors, however, were a real plus for those of us who are highly allergic. The beds, bedding, drawer space, spotless refrigerator and microwave were all standard. The bathroom and "vanity" area, left much to be desired. The uninviting, stained black top of the vanity would have been a poor choice even when it was new . The soap dish was appalling and the usual complimentary bath accessories, unappealing. Every sad towel showed its age and needed replacing. An unfinished, raggedy hole in the wall where a pipe of the commode lacked the usual cosmetic plate that hid such connections. An online description of the amenities at the Inn included "a free deluxe breakfast featuring Belgian waffles" , "restaurant", and night life in the lounge. While the self-serve breakfast was fresh and inviting (the best coffee ever), the fare was standard for "chains." The only restaurant nearby was across the street, and the lounge had been closed for seven years. The aforementioned outstanding management, however, did give hope that the lounge might open again in the future. Otherwise, loved the good stuff and would stay there again.

Room Tip: State your needs up front when you sign in and if your room is not up to your standard, this managem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, General Manager at Cumberland Island Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your recent stay.

I agree with the comments about the black vanity, although it is clean it shows water stains and is a constant source of frustration. I'm not sure what the problem was with the smell upon entering your room, but it is something we will definitely address.

We hope to see you on your next trip to St. Marys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
2.8 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
217 reviews
10.5 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
705 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingsland
15.7 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
5.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kingsland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Island Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Island Inn & Suites

Address: 2710 Osborne Rd, St. Marys, GA 31558-4000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Marys
Price Range: $87 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Island Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has rooms with two Queen beds or one King bed. All rooms have micro/fridge, free WIFI,and 32" flat screen TVs. Two room suites are available with living room with sleeper sofa, full kitchen, washer/dryer, and separate bedroom with two Queens or one King bed. Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cumberland Island Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Island Hotel St. Marys
Cumberland Island Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing