We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Place to Stay on the Georgia Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Marys
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I attend the Amelia island Concours almost every year, and this hotel is the only place in which we will stay. The rooms and suites are moderately priced and have been upgraded steadily over the years. The property includes a screend-in swimming pool, exercise room, and Internet access. The hotel is located between a shopping center, a CVS drug store, and a Bank of America, and is close to another large shopping center nearby. The Amelia Island Concours is about 25 minutes from the hotel, and Jacksonville is a short drive and ferry ride away. The hotel provides a free Continental breakfast with a large selection of fresh items. In all the years we have stayed here we have never encountered any problems with the hotel or the staff. In my opinion, this hotel is one of the best-kept secrets on the Georgia coast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are the quietest and offer the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anjna D, Manager at Cumberland Island Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy to know that you always enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon.
Thank you,
Anjna Dawda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 223 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were pleasantly suprised! We traveled in the off season, so when we pulled up we thought the hotel might be closed, but went ahead and tried the door. We are glad that we did. The night staff was super friendly and offered lots of advice on things to do in the area. He placed us in a quiet room on the back of the hotel. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. It was a great value! The free breakfast was ample and we found plenty for our girls to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anjna D, Manager at Cumberland Island Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We appreciate your comments and information for future guests. Our staff both the night shift Front Desk agent and housekeeping is definitely motivated and will keep giving the best service. Hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Anjna Dawda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here last week on the 2 night Cumberland package and were very pleased with the accommodations. Our room and bathroom were clean, the bed was very comfortable, and it was nice having a refrigerator to keep our picnic food. It was convenient having the expanded Continental breakfast before our early trip to Cumberland. The screened in pool area and surrounding courtyard were attractive. Quiet location. The staff we met were friendly and helpful. After reading some negative reviews, I was leary of staying here, but glad we paid more attention to the positive reviews. It is an old motel but well maintained. We went knowing not to expect a 5 star luxury hotel or a new Hampton Inn and were pleased enough to definitely do this package again and recommend to friends. We used our dinner voucher at Borrell Creek Landing Restaurant and had delicious fried shrimp. The Cumberland Island trip was beautiful & perfect weather for January - 78 and sunny. We enjoyed walking around the pretty waterfront area of St. Marys. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MTJBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, General Manager at Cumberland Island Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very glad you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Rooms are old but they have done good trying to fix it up. Housekeeping could do a little better in the bathrooms but not to bad. The heater in the room was awful loud and to hot or to cold. Pretty good for one night good location for the purpose. The winter rate is fine but the normal rate would be way to high for this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mkjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were tempted by the online special for two nights with a dinner and ferry voucher. Looking at the pictures online they looked great, but when we arrived we realized this is a very run down hotel. Picture a flashback to 1970 popcorn ceilings that are cracking and all. The mattresses were very old and hard as a board. The hotel was also very noisy even on the second floor. We hardly slept. We would have been much better off down the road in kingsgate ( with a cheaper price but higher quality hotel) when we asked to cancel our second night the woman at the front desk was not helpful at all quoting us a rediculous price. This place is seriously a dump.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldsojourners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbpgolfer, General Manager at Cumberland Island Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay, there are however many discrepancies in your comments. You checked in just after 4pm on Friday, November 23rd on the two night package which includes ferry vouchers and dinner at a local restaurant ( $80.00 value for both) at a price of $209.00. We have sold approximately 1,800 of these packages the past three years with many return guests.
On Saturday morning, you told the front desk associate that you didn't sleep well on Friday evening and wanted to check out. She offered to change your reservation to the one night package, which is $149.00 and includes the ferry tickets and dinner. You told her that you wanted to pay $65.00 for Friday, and keep the certificates. That would mean that we would have paid you $15.00 for staying on Friday. You then threatened that if we did not do as you wanted, that you were going to write numerous bad reviews on the internet and give us "bad press". You then proceeded to stay another night.
Please be assured that the pictures on the internet were taken at our property and are not "false". Also, we are located in the central business district of St. Marys between a brand new CVS pharmacy and a Bank of America. This is hardly a "shady part of town".
Again, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. I am perplexed though as to why if you checked in at 4pm and were disappointed, you would not seek accomodations elsewhere, and then stay for a second night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

i was pleased with my suite,very clean and spacious ,with a full size kitchen ,and a sitting area. there was even a washer and dryer in the room which mad eit very convenient to cstch up on some of my laundry. my second floor suite looke dout over ther pool / court yard area ,so the view was nice .quiet as the hotel rooms are behind the main building,awy from the noise traffic.also aviable to guest was the complameatary breakfast.a nice variety of both hot and cold items.the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and very knowledable about hthe area ,and scheduled activities in st.marys and they refurred me to a wonderful seafood restaurant about a mile away( thanks dana) the next time i have the need to stay in st.marys ,i will definatley stay there again...thanks alot for everything

junior

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbpgolfer, General Manager at Cumberland Island Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to express your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Cumberland Inn is perfectly located about 5 mins from the Cumberland Queen ferry to take to the island. I wouldn't say the pictures are misleading, but they are....well taken. You can really tell this place used to be run down, but they have taken big steps to restore the place. The wood floors are a nice touch and the beds feel brand new and are very comfortable. The paint job of the room we stayed in was horrible. It could really use a second coat. Bathroom fixtures were super cheap and the bathrooms were tiny. The breakfast was decent I must say and that was a nice surprise. Morning front desk help was waaay to busy reading the paper to say good morning. The place was absolutely overpriced, but there is not a lot of selection in the area so they can charge what they want...and they do.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wtipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
2.8 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
214 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mariners Suites
Mariners Suites
#14 of 21 in Kingsland
47 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingsland
11.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
523 reviews
10.5 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Island Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Island Inn & Suites

Address: 2710 Osborne Rd, St. Marys, GA 31558-4000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Marys
Price Range: $87 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Island Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel has rooms with two Queen beds or one King bed. All rooms have micro/fridge, free WIFI,and 32" flat screen TVs. Two room suites are available with living room with sleeper sofa, full kitchen, washer/dryer, and separate bedroom with two Queens or one King bed. Complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cumberland Island Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Island Inn And Suites
Cumberland Island Hotel St. Marys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing