We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much charm and potential- if only the owners cared about customer service and maintenance!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverview Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St. Marys
Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So much charm and potential- if only the owners cared about customer service and maintenance!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

A truly charming old building with wonderful old windows and amazing waterfront views. We loved being able to walk across the street to the Cumberland Island ferry. Breakfast was adequate, but no options for hot tea. The renovated bath/ shower was done with beautiful travertine, but basic maintenance and housekeeping is lacking. (Could someone sweep the beautiful stairway?!)We did love Daisy the cat! If only the owners would have more passion for the gem of history they own!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seafoodfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    68
    36
    26
    15
See reviews for
38
101
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This comfortable, old-fashioned hotel is located right in the heart of pretty St. Mary's Georgia. It is particularly recommended for anyone planning a trip to Cumberland Island, for the ferry dock is literally across the street. The hotel has been nicely restored by the couple who run it, and they have done a good job. The rooms are small but quite comfortable, and the place retains the feel of a small-town central hotel, with wood paneling, long open corridors and even an open veranda on the second floor. There is also a bar and a restaurant attached, though they serve a continental breakfast in the lobby.

Room Tip: comfortable hotel, centrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeSyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint augustine
Level Contributor
224 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is an old hotel with minimal renovation / restoration. That is truly part of its charm. People in town told us it was reputed to be haunted, especially Room 2. We were delighted to be upgraded to Martha's room, on the corner of the hotel, with town and river views. We saw the signatures of the many celebrities who have stayed in this hotel before us.

The high points: Oversized windows with plantation shutters, a beautiful second story porch with easy access from a communal room, six inch baseboards, marble shower, and a hall that looks like Miss Kitty was going to emerge to greet Matt. The low points: Those six inch baseboards were grimy, the windows were not soundproofed so the room was noisy from street noises, the front desk is inaccessible from the room, and even from an outside call (goes to voice mail), and no one gave instructions at checkin on what the weird electrical controls were on the wall.

We were there on a weeknight, so the hotel was pretty much empty. Don't expect "big", "luxurious", phones, dead bolt locks, a bath tub, a closet, and you will be delighted.

Room Tip: They actually have rooms with no windows, which I would avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cantbackup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

St. Marys, Georgia is a little town on the St Marys River that time has forgotten. It has its own kind of charm. Just 40 miles north of Jacksonville, Fl. It is close enough yet far enough away to get away from the big city for the day or weekend. The Riverview Hotel has been owned and operated by the same family for almost one hundred years and you always feel welcome.The rooms all have classic charm as does the whole building. The are a variety of places to eat and Saturday mornings there is a community market on the water front. If you want a relaxing time and want to learn a little history I highly suggest the welcome center and a walking tour around the town. I drive up to St. Marys several times a year and I fall in love with it more each time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amdfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife is born and raised in St Marys and we often make trips from south Florida to visit her family. On each trip I look forward to the opportunity to stay at the Riverview Hotel. This hotel really captures the charm of St Marys--it's quaint, warm, a little rough around the edges but always a good time. No night is complete without seeing Cindy downstairs at Seagle's Saloon for a nightcap. Every other review about Cindy and the saloon is spot on and we wouldn't have it any other way. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarneyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
168 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had high hopes for this place on reading some of the reviews. You really have to do your research in this area. I came to St Mary's not to go to Cumberland Island, and there wasn't really much happening here. I was hoping the hotel would be more romantic, I got a cramped room over the restaurant. Not that it was noisy, but then again, there weren't many people eating. The rooms are old and a threadbare. There were some maintenance problems with the plumbing causing banging pipes until I turned off the water. I wish I had spent both nights in Jacksonville. Checking in was abrupt.

Room Tip: Deck runs length of all rooms, but provide view; water view rooms have a far view of the water which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 112PCS112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA FE
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a room above the bar, and it was very noisy (we go to bed early), but it quieted after 11 pm. Liked the dog and cat residents. Standard room was a bit tight. We visited in a cold period and the supplemental heater took quite a while to heat the room, (high ceilings). We like staying in historic places, and this place has good ambiance. Very convenient to historic downtown and docks.

Room Tip: Chose a room away from the bar. River side would be nice, but they cost a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobL190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
2.8 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
7.9 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#6 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
8.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island at the Beach
Days Inn & Suites Amelia Island ...
#10 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mariners Suites
Mariners Suites
#15 of 21 in Kingsland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Hotel

Property: Riverview Hotel
Address: 105 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558-4599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in St. Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverview Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Lodging to Cumberland Island Ferry, The Riverview Hotel circa 1916 has 18 guest rooms each named after some of the notable guests that have either visited or stayed at the hotel over the years. We serve a deluxe continental breakfast daily, wireless internet access, full service bar and restaurant, and pack picnic lunches to carry out. Reasonable rates and convenient location are a plus. Discover history, discover Cumberland Island, discover yourself, at the Riverview Hotel. Relax and enjoy beautiful St. Marys, GA, the little town by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview Hotel Saint Marys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing