We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner is a delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast
209 Osborne Street, St. Marys, GA 31558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Conway, AR
Level Contributor
228 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“The owner is a delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Mardja the owner was a delight to talk to and was very helpful about the attractions and restaurants in the area.

The room was clean and the food was fantastic.

There was wine and a great cake downstairs each evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsj1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Flowery Branch, GA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Clean, quiet, just the right mix of friendliness and respect for our privacy. The breakfasts were good, and Mardja was very helpful with reservations for the Cumberland Island ferry in place when we arrived.
If you are looking for a pleasant stay in a bed-and-breakfast, you won't go wrong with Goodbread.
We are looking forward to returning!

The McDonalds, Gainesville, GA

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a wonderful place. Marja is a terrific hostess at this quiet, quaint, and comfortable B&B. Both the Bed & Breakfast were terrific. It is unusual to find a B&B that has two beds in a room - this one has TWO of them, one upstairs and one downstairs!!!
It is also unusual that there is not set checkin and checkout times - Marja works with each guest individually for their schedule and needs. It is also unusual to find a property that will accept a single night's reservation on a holiday weekend - again Marja did!!
Goodbread is located within easy walking distance of the waterfront, many restaurants, and there is a golf cart available for guest use as well.
The porch swings (one up and one downstairs) are the perfect place to relax and read or just enjoy the incredible breeze.
Obviously had a terrific weekend and would go back and recommend to others without any hesitation!

Room Tip: No suggestions, other than to know there is a bed type for everyone, both upstairs and downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Starting with the moment we arrived it was a wonderful getaway! Our hostess had a wonderful presence but never in the way! She did everything she could to make our stay memorable and told us to think of of her place as our home. We had a great room with plenty of storage and a place for everything. It was great to have such a large bathroom and fresh towels every day. Ahhh...the breakfasts! Wonderful hardly describes them. Mardja worked very hard to please in every way and we were never disappointed. The candlelit parlor with wonderful desserts and wine greeted us in the evening. We are two sisters who took a much needed trip with our husbands and would definitly return again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great condition, very clean. We recieved a free room upgrade because a couple cancelled in a nice room. The owner was very friendly and the breakfast she prepared for us was awesome. 4 Stars because the bed was a little too worn to still be very comfortable. Would recommend and would stay again. Great location to the Cumberland Island ferry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
352 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A group of us senior motorcyclists stayed at the Goodbread on a trip to visit Cumberland National Seashore, where we had a guided tour of most of the island that was well worth it. The inn is a most interesting, historic kind of place, filled to the brim with antiques and other kinds of stuff. It has two porches, one up and one down, which are perfect for hanging out and having a few... which we did. The living room is just the right size for cozy meetings and social get togethers, which we did as well. The bedrooms, upstairs or down, are just fine, with everything that you need. Old sometimes but they work. Ours, the Lancelot and Guenivere, had a huge bathroom with all of the normal fixings. Breakfast was cozy - the dining room sits only eight, or maybe ten - so we and the other guests just ate at different times... and the servings were good and plentiful. Parking is very convenient, right on the street out front. A few restaurants are just a five minute walk up toward the river. We had dinner two nights in a row at Seagle's and had a ball. Plus, the food was pretty darn good. I'd go back in a moment to stay at this place and to explore and hike the south end of Cumberland.

Room Tip: Upstairs or down in the back of the house will avoid the sounds of very late night conversations on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALPhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Innkeeper is nice but perhaps a bit distracted. Our room, like the house, was packed with antique finds that were meant to create an atmosphere. Unfortunately, it is so cluttered that it was hard to find places to put our luggage and toiletries. Also, all that 'stuff' becomes dust traps especially when added to carpeted rooms. Arghh the allergies kicked in and there was something nipping our feet in the room. Breakfast is kind of late especially for early risers or those trying to catch the ferry to Cumberland. Would have liked a little more time - like start servicing at 7:30 instead of 8:00 since the ferry leaves at 8:30. Nice to have coffee available but a collection of teas and hot water would have been nice. Good location but would we stay there again? Not sure.

Room Tip: Pictures on website make the rooms seem larger than they are. Might want to see if the room has bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garrison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
2.7 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#4 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 997 reviews
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia Island
Residence Inn by Marriott Amelia...
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,154 reviews
8.0 mi away
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
Elizabeth Pointe Lodge
#2 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 209 Osborne Street, St. Marys, GA 31558
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing