We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quaint Escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wesley Chapel, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quaint Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Starting with the moment we arrived it was a wonderful getaway! Our hostess had a wonderful presence but never in the way! She did everything she could to make our stay memorable and told us to think of of her place as our home. We had a great room with plenty of storage and a place for everything. It was great to have such a large bathroom and fresh towels every day. Ahhh...the breakfasts! Wonderful hardly describes them. Mardja worked very hard to please in every way and we were never disappointed. The candlelit parlor with wonderful desserts and wine greeted us in the evening. We are two sisters who took a much needed trip with our husbands and would definitly return again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    24
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
69
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tifton, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great condition, very clean. We recieved a free room upgrade because a couple cancelled in a nice room. The owner was very friendly and the breakfast she prepared for us was awesome. 4 Stars because the bed was a little too worn to still be very comfortable. Would recommend and would stay again. Great location to the Cumberland Island ferry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
434 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

A group of us senior motorcyclists stayed at the Goodbread on a trip to visit Cumberland National Seashore, where we had a guided tour of most of the island that was well worth it. The inn is a most interesting, historic kind of place, filled to the brim with antiques and other kinds of stuff. It has two porches, one up and one down, which are perfect for hanging out and having a few... which we did. The living room is just the right size for cozy meetings and social get togethers, which we did as well. The bedrooms, upstairs or down, are just fine, with everything that you need. Old sometimes but they work. Ours, the Lancelot and Guenivere, had a huge bathroom with all of the normal fixings. Breakfast was cozy - the dining room sits only eight, or maybe ten - so we and the other guests just ate at different times... and the servings were good and plentiful. Parking is very convenient, right on the street out front. A few restaurants are just a five minute walk up toward the river. We had dinner two nights in a row at Seagle's and had a ball. Plus, the food was pretty darn good. I'd go back in a moment to stay at this place and to explore and hike the south end of Cumberland.

Room Tip: Upstairs or down in the back of the house will avoid the sounds of very late night conversations on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Innkeeper is nice but perhaps a bit distracted. Our room, like the house, was packed with antique finds that were meant to create an atmosphere. Unfortunately, it is so cluttered that it was hard to find places to put our luggage and toiletries. Also, all that 'stuff' becomes dust traps especially when added to carpeted rooms. Arghh the allergies kicked in and there was something nipping our feet in the room. Breakfast is kind of late especially for early risers or those trying to catch the ferry to Cumberland. Would have liked a little more time - like start servicing at 7:30 instead of 8:00 since the ferry leaves at 8:30. Nice to have coffee available but a collection of teas and hot water would have been nice. Good location but would we stay there again? Not sure.

Room Tip: Pictures on website make the rooms seem larger than they are. Might want to see if the room has bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garrison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

My 4 sisters and I spent 3 nights here and had a wonderful experience! Rooms quaint and super clean with comfortable beds. The owner is quite a cook, serving a creative and delicious breakfast each morning. We went to Cumberland Island one day and spent another day shopping in the quaint shops in town. Unfortunately, we did not have time to get to all of them.
Restaurants were great, good seafood and italian fare. I can't say how impressed we were with the hospitality we received at Goodbread House and all of the shop keepers and residents of the town. Definitely a great place to enjoy a few days vacation! We will be back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BJREALESTATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife and I took a short vacation to St. Marys and stayed three nights at the Goodbread. We wanted to be close to the restaurants and water, and the Goodbread is two blocks from all that downtown St. Marys has to offer. Granted, there isn't much to the downtown area, but we were looking for a quieter stay. We got a great summer special rate, and our room was even upgraded due to vacancy. Another big draw was that we were able to bring our dog with us as some of the other B&B's downtown would not allow this. We were also only an hour from Amelia, Jekyll, and St. Simon's Island if you wanted to take a day trip to those places. We enjoyed the complimentary wine in the evening and would drink on the swings on the veranda.

Our only complaints are minor. The house is old, and the walls are thin. This didn't matter as we were on the only guests one night. My wife and I thought the rooms and furnishings were kind of cheesy but that's a matter of individual taste. One of the breakfasts was practically inedible, but the other two were fine. The owner was not there during our stay, so this could change if she was there.

Overall, we would definitely stay here again if we were able to get the summer special rate, and we would recommend it if you're planning to stay in St. Marys.

Room Tip: If there will be other guests, I would recommend asking for a room that doesn't border another o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Socksmwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

On our trip to Florida from our home in Pennsylvania, I wanted to find a quaint town to stopover. St. Mary's fit the bill. As we travel with our dog, we are limited where we can go. I found Goodbread Inn listed. What a treat!!! This house is like a dollhouse with the most incredible collection of memorabilia and gorgeous antiques. Our room was the Scarlett and Rhett suite. I cannot even begin to describe the incredible attention to detail and the absolute charm. In the living room, there was chilled wines, water, ice, homemade cake and snacks awaiting us. We were steps away from restaurants and a beautiful waterfront park and the boat to Cumberland island. Breakfast was delicious with blueberry pancakes covered with peach slices and mild sausage and a sliced strawberry. We enjoyed our stay immensely and recommend this gem to all. It was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winkie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
2.8 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
7.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia Island
Comfort Suites Oceanview Amelia ...
#10 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 209 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558-8415
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing