We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in St. Mary's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in St. Mary's”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We spent the night at Spencer House after spending the day on Cumberland Island. It is just the most charming, clean, and comfortable place! The owner, Mary, is so friendly and helpful. She made us lunches to take to Cumberland and packed them in an insulated cooler. (No food available on the island so you have to take your own.) That evening after stuffing ourselves on the best and largest fried shrimp I've ever eaten (at Langs Marina Restaurant caught that day by the owner's fleet of shrimpboats), we enjoyed rocking on the upstairs veranda overlooking main street. It was a most enjoyable day. We slept like logs on a very comfortable bed, and enjoyed a wonderful hot breakfast the next morning. I would return in a minute to St. Mary's and Cumberland, and if I did I would stay at Spencer House again. We usually stay in mid price range motels when we travel and this cost a little more than what we're used to paying ,but you definitely get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    60
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
70
305
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Let me start with one word, and it is Mary. She is the innkeeper, and my wife and I loved meeting and conversing with her. The inn is wonderful, with beautiful, historic touches. Very importantly, it has ample porches with rockers and swings. The lemon coffee cake was ridiculous...ly good. Of course, the town was pretty and reminded us of our place at the North Carolina Coast. We had a romantic time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbsonboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

My husband and I absolutely love staying at B&B's. We think it is so much more intimate than staying at a commercialized hotel. The Spencer House Inn was extremely accomodating in every way. From packing a picninc lunch for us (which had way more than enough food in it for the whole day), to having a supply of buying beer or wine on the premises if you should want it ( and extremely reasonably priced). The roooms were very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was delicious, paired with interesting comnversations with all the other patrons staying in the Inn about their adventures from the previous day. My husband and I walked around the waterfront of St. Marys and checked out the other B&B's from the outside and I would HIGHLY recommend staying at the Spencer House Inn compared to the others. Mike & Mary were extremely hospitable in every way.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

My husband and I loved our stay at Spencer House. The breakfasts were wonderful and we even got to sample home-made ice cream at afternoon tea. The innkeeper, Mary, was very helpful and knew lots about area attractions. The inn is located just a short walk from a lovely waterfront park from which you can get the ferry over to Cumberland Island National Seashore. St. Mary's itself is a cute little town and the people are friendly and welcoming. The room we stayed in was not big, but it was very clean and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsysouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

This was the first time my husband and I have stayed in a bed and breakfast-always had children with us-it was a wonderful experience! The Inn is beautiful and the food was delicious. We were able to select the room we wanted online so there were no surprises.
The picnic lunch for our Cumberland Island day trip was generous and tasty. Mary is a lovely, delightful hostess and Mike is quite the chef! We will stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Twp, MI
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Mary and Mike are such warm, welcoming, charming owners. Mary is a wealth of local information for everything from the nearest 24 hour drug store to the best place for seafood to a great route for a 4 mile run! Mike is a great cook and the breakfasts were always fresh and great! We even bought some of his homemade granola to bring home.
The Inn itself is very comfortable, clean and welcoming. The rooms are spacious and very nicely furnished with antiques.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikeandrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Recently stayed here for two nights with my husband for our 10 year wedding anniversary. This was our first time staying at a B&B. At little apprehensive at first, not sure what to expect. Mary was very friendly and outgoing. Entire staff was helpful. We spent one day at Cumberland Island and took lunches that had been packed for us at the Inn. Plenty of food, especially for the money. $8 per person. Included sandwiches, chips, fruit, trail mix bar, peanut butter crackers, cookies, and a drink.
My only two complaints was that the window was painted shut. Since we were not able to control temp in the room, it would have been nice to open the window. My husband can be hot natured at times.
The other complaint was that breakfast was served 7:30-9. We are not early risers on the weekends. Both mornings we slept until 8:45 and I didn't think it would be appropriate to go down in my pjs. But I should say that we were by far the youngest guests and I'm sure the other guests had no problem with the early breakfast hour!!
Overall we had a great time and would go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carsonsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
2.8 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,435 reviews
12.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
7.9 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 200 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558-8400
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing