We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2006

Agree with previous review that receptionist's attitude was definitely not that of a Select Registry bed and breakfast. Did not feel welcome by this receptionist, but other staff were friendly. Food was good. Room was fine overall for the price. Management seems to have problems with internal communication. Stronlgy recommend inquiring about the status of repair work before making reservations: we were subjected to extremely loud noise associated with removal of house paint with a beltsander, just outside our room window during afternoon time when we were hoping to enjoy the peace and quiet of St. Mary's. Management was apologetic but offered no real satisfaction regarding this issue.

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank JAXtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 513 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
atlanta,georgia
27
Reviewed June 5, 2006

I've stayed in St.marys often, and while the Spence House is clean,spacious, and pricey, it lacks characters and that "homey" feeling.It looks more like a museum than a place you would comfortable sleeping in, and the desk clerk had a snotty air about her, like we should not have been allowed to stay there. It just doesnt have the same home-like feel of most B&B's around

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2006

My wife and I just returned from an all to short visit to St. Marys, Georgia. We stayed at the Spencer House Inn and could not have been happier with our choice. We deliberated long and hard about where to go and were quite pleased to have chosen so well.

When we arrived, we were greeted warmly by Mary, one of the owners and innkeepers. She, her husband Mike and the gracious and helpful staff made our stay there more enjoyable than we would have imagined. It rained for much of our stay at St. Marys, but inside the Spencer House it was always warm and inviting. We stayed on the second floor in room 207, and the accommodations were just lovely. The entire inn had a homey feel and was wonderful appointed in a Victorian motif. The quiet verandahs and balcony were the perfect place to enjoy the quiet of St. Marys.

Mary helped us plan our daily activities and always provided us with many helpful insights. I can honestly say we have not encounter better hospitality at any other place we've stayed. The morning breakfasts were delicious with quite a variety of foods to choose from. In the afternoon tea and snacks are served. Every time we ate out on the town we thoroughly enjoyed our meals, and the highlight was dinner at Sterling's Southern Cafe (the coconut creme pie is out of this world).

We were looking for a quiet getaway and St. Marys offered this in abundance. The town itself was a pleasure to explore, and a day trip to Cumberland Island is a must.

In summation, I would have to say that this was our best B&B experience to date and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anybody looking for some quiet and relaxation with a healthy dose of southern hospitality and charm.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwoPynts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2006

We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed every relaxing minute of it. The Inn is beautiful and the service is outstanding. Great location in a quaint coastal town with easy access to Cumberland Island, Okeefenokee Swamp, and Fernandina Beach. Mary, Mike and their staff provide friendly, helpful service. They have a great attention for detail. Mike makes a great breakfast too! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kip72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2006

We stayed one night at The Spence House Inn B&B on March 25, 2006. It was wonderful. The house is impeccably clean. The owners are very nice. I especially liked the size of the place -- sometimes if a B&B is too small you feel a little too....homey; but not here. The place is large enough for privacy but still maintains hospitable charm. The bedding/towels/soaps were spa quality. Cable TV w/ HBO in the room was nice as was the communal fridge with reasonably priced sprits ($1.25 for beer or wine -- good selection of both). Sitting on the porch at sunset watching St. Mary's slowly drift by, you really feel what it was like at SHI 100+ years ago. Breakfast was delicious. We will definitely return. Trip Advisor has never let us down!

3  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2005

We were in St Marys to look over some property. Mary was most helpful, offering suggestions for dinner and other places to visit. Breakfasts were great, one day, an egg casserole, another french toast with 2 or more homemade breads, granolas, cereal and multiple juices, fresh fruits, jellies, and other "toastables". There were also tea or juices and chocolate chunk cookies in the late afternoon. Rooms were neat, clean and stocked with everything one might want. Lots of pictures on their web site.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heownby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2005

We were in St. Mary's buying property and needed a place to stay for the night, so chose this B&B that was right across the street from the realtor. What a great place. We chose a room with a double bed, but when we checked in the next night, since it wasn't that crowded, was upgraded to a room with a queen for the same price. The hot breakfast was incredible and the owners were extremely accomodating.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zeppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
0.1 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
217 reviews
7.9 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
703 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,560 reviews
12.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
0 mi away
Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 200 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558-8400
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range: $184 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spencer House Inn, built in 1872, is located in the heart of the St. Marys Historic District, within walking distance to restaurants, shops, museums and the ferry to Cumberland Island National Seashore. We can make your ferry reservation and pack a picnic lunch for you as you head off for your adventure on a beautiful, undeveloped and pristine barrier island - the beach was voted "one of the best wild beaches" by National Geographic Traveler magazine. You'll enjoy relaxing in the cypress rockers on the Inn's verandahs. Walk to the waterfront park, fishing pier and boat ramp. Take a leisurely stroll around our historic village. There are 2 championship golf courses nearby. Okefenokee Wildlife Refuge is 45 minutes away. The beaches of Jekyll, St. Simons and Amelia Island are a short drive from our St. Marys, Georgia bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing