We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chuluota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A perfect place to relax”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My sister and I went to the Spencer House Inn B & B for spring break in March 2013. It was a perfect place to relax! The home is right in the downtown area of St. Marys, GA. You can walk to the ferry to go to Cumberland Island or walk to any of the restaurants in town.
Mary's knowledge of the area was very precise! She informed us that the Walmart is 8 lights down, and it was! Any question you have about the area or surrounding areas, she is the one to talk to.
The house was very comfy. We didn't have nice weather during the 2 days that we were there, but it was perfect for us because all we wanted to do is stay put. The living room area was a great place to just relax and read a book. The Veranda on the second floor is a wonderful place to sit and rock in their wooden rocking chairs, too.
The breakfast was a bit of a surprise for me, however. It starts off with continental syle food. They also offer an extra breakfast to you if you choose. The first morning they had oatmeal with apricot and an egg frittata dish. (Which was delicious!) The second morning they offered a cheese omelette with bacon. (This was delicious, too).
In the late afternoon there is always some type of homemade dessert that is made by Mike. (Request the chocolate German cake. It was wonderful!) Coffee, tea, and water is always available in their very spacious dining room.
Mary and Mike were wonderful hosts, but very business like to me. Once your question was answered, they went on their way to accomplish other tasks throughout the house. Holly, on the other hand, made you feel welcomed in the home. She was a very easy to talk to and was really interested in what you had to say.

Room Tip: Be careful of the stand alone tubs. There is no place to hold onto when you need to wash your feet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    60
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
70
300
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Even though this was my first expierence with a B&B, was not sure what to expect. the location of the spencer inn, was fantastic. with the exception of going to dinner at banzai's my vehicle never left the parking lot until it was time to go home. mary was very informative about where to eat and the area. lang's seafood by the way, definately worth the trip. the staff at spencer house went above and beyond and if you need to know anything about anything up there, mary is the go to person. for an older lady, she does not stop. very impressive. the geust who also stayed there, very nice people. the only draw back, again this was my first B&B, was breakfast. it was very good, please do not get me wrong. was not sure if there is supposed to be more of a selection of hot food or it could just be me.either way, i did not leave hungry. the building itself is in excellent condition, decorated very nicely and certainly has character. if/when i ever go to cumberland island again, the spencer house inn will definately be reserved for the trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegasus3231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This B&B is so-o-o accommodating. Mary and Mike make you feel right at home and they both have a great deal of knowledge about the area. Don't pass up this charming Inn. You can tell the love and care that is given to each and every aspect of the Inn experience by the owners and staff. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our first trip to Cumberland Island, Georgia. I had been planning this trip for about a year because there are arrangements and reservations to make and other things to consider. At the top of the list of arrangements to make is... "Where to stay?" As a business traveler my first thought was to look for a corporate hotel either in St. Mary's or nearby. There's not too many corporate hotels in St. Mary's but on Amelia Island there are several to choose from including a Ritz-Carlton where I'm a platinum member. I also considered staying in the inn on Cumberland Island but in the end I decided to stay at the Spencer House Inn.

The Spencer House Inn is the perfect place to stay when you visit Cumberland Island...

First, it's almost across the street from where you catch the ferry over to Cumberland Island. Therefore, you can leave your car at the Inn and walk to the pier. And when you return after a long day on Cumberland you're back in your room within a couple of minutes after getting off the ferry.

Second, Mike and Mary are superb hosts. It's clear to see that they've gone to great lengths to make Spencer House Inn comfortable and inviting.

Third, Mike and Mary will serve you a great breakfast that will fortify you for a day on Cumberland Island. They also offer (for a very reasonable price) a box for you to carry over to the island. I highly recommend purchasing their lunch. Our lunches were great and you can't beat the convenience of Mary handing you your lunch as you walk out the door to catch the ferry. And, when you return from Cumberland Island Mike and Mary will tea and cookies ready and waiting to be consumed by weary island explorers.

Room Tip: We were in a room on the second floor adjacent to the porch... it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InConstantPursuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As one of the Authors of the book "Cumberland Island - A Treasure of Memories" I always stay with Mike and Mary at the Spencer House on my visits to Cumberland, Okefenokee and the St. Mary's area. They are great hosts and their Breakfast has been great every time I have been. They both have vast knowledge about the area as far as places to visit and for advise on where to get a great meal. The house has so much character and history about it. I have stayed in several rooms there and each one has been great. Great antique furnishings, very comfortable beds and all have private baths. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on my trips to that area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed in the double twin room 205. It was charming...clean...and had an adorable claw foot tub/shower in the bathroom. Check in was a breeze...light refreshments were available...and Mary and her team were fantastic in taking care of us. They gave great recommendations for meals...and they provided useful information for our tour over to Cumberland Island. We took advantage of the picnic lunch option...and neither one of us could eat the entire thing. Breakfasts were ample...simple, yet elegant. The only drawback to the hotel is that you can hear a lot going on around you. As long as you and other guests are respectful of noise levels, it's not a problem. If we ever return to this area, we'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the double twins in room 205. When we arrived, not all guests were present, so the doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A group of four couples stayed at the Spencer House for a night before we took the ferry to Cumberland Island for the weekend. The place is lovely. location is great, and Mary is unbelievable with her kind and wonderful service. She catered to us in all of our needs...booked dinner reservations, made sure we ate breakfast first to catch the ferry, and let us park our vehicles in her lot. Back to st. Mary's in the future will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
2.8 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
12.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 200 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558-8400
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing