We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This bed and breakfast is part of the Select Registry B&B's and offers a great location in such a quaint town? This was the first stop of the beginning of a vacation and was a welcome place! After a few obstacles to overcome (flat tire, tow truck, auto repair :( ) on our journey to St. Mary's we finally arrived late evening. During all of this I was in contact with Mary at the B&B to let her know that we were on our way but having a few automobile problems. Mary called several times during the repairs to make sure we were OK and offered to come pick us up so we did not have to sit around waiting on the repair - what a wonderful gesture to help ease our stress! After arriving at Spencer House we felt completely at home in such a beautiful place. Mary seemed to always be there at the right time and absent the rest of the time - amazing! Our room was so homey and inviting along with all the yummy breakfast....loved it all!

Room Tip: All the rooms look are beautiful and inviting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10discovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    58
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
295
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tavares, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

When you think of a bed and breakfast you think of the Spencer House. It is everything a B&B should be: historic home, charming rooms with four-poster beds and clawfoot tubs, friendly innkeepers, and a hearty breakfast. Our room was spacious and comfortable and quiet. It was wonderful to relax on the upstairs verandah as the sun was going down over St. Mary's. The innkeepers are gracious and accommodating, we wanted for nothing during our stay. The afternoon iced tea and homemade cookies was a lovely touch. The innkeeper recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner. We regret we only had one night at this inn but are eager to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed 2 nights for a Birthday week end. What a delight. The town was charming and so was Mary! This was our 1st B & B so we were a little skeptical at first. When we met Mary that all went away immediately. She checked us in and gave us a tour of the Inn. We loved our entire stay. She gave us recommendations for dinner. We had booked the Ferry to Cumberland Island and we reserved a packed lunch from the Inn. It was all perfect. The Ferry is a 5 min. walk from the Inn. The breakfasts were delicious and Mike is a great cook. We had plenty of everything. The afternoon cookies and iced tea was perfect after a day at the Island. We will definately return to visit Cumberland Island again and stay at The Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We used St Mary's as a gateway to Cumberland Island. We research using the Internet and came across similar lodgings in the area but decided on Spencer House Inn and we were very glad we did!
Mary the owner was very welcoming and made us feel very much at home. The inn has a peaceful and relaxed feeling to it with a wonderful lounge and drinks and home baked treats after a long day at C. island.
A big thumbs up to Mary who genuinely cares about her guest's experience. Heading to St Mary's? Head to Mary's Inn!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I was aprehensive about taking by husband to a B & B but because he has an interest in history, decided to try Spencer Inn as his first experience. The structure itself is beautiful and authentically kept. Mary and Jack are a most gracious hostess/host. My husband was facinated with the building but totally won over once breakfast was served. There were many delicious items to select from and everything we ate was outstanding. It is a very clean, efficiently run establishment in a perfect location for visiting Cumberland Island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank St_Johns_FLDian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We drove down from Atlanta to spend the Independence Day holiday in St Marys and chose the Spencer House Inn for our lodging. This property is more of an old-time hotel than a B&B, in all the best of the definitions. Mary & Mike make you feel very welcome and at home from your arrival to departure. Cold drinks are always available, sweets of some kind make their appearance in the afternoon and the room was clean, comfortable and quiet - the hat trick for staying away from home. Spencer House is conveniently located to everything you might want to do in St Marys, including being right on the parade route for the big 4th of July parade in the morning. We just put our lawn chairs by the curb after breakfast and plunked down a little later for the hour long parade. The only things missing were a live marching band and a naval unit from the nearby U.S. Navy submarine base. Suggestions for places to go for food and drink were happily provided. When we come back for a visit to Cumberland Island in the future, we will book again at the Spencer House.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are probably a little roomier than those on the 3rd floor - but saying that, our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

The Spencer House combines the best of both worlds: authentic historic atmosphere and modern conveniences. True to Select Registry standards, the room was beautifully decorated and comfortably accomodating. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, and Mike and Mary were knowlegeable, considerate, and helpful. When in St. Mary's, we will certainly stay there again.

J&B

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonandBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
2.8 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
12.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 200 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558-8400
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing