We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly B&B, though a bit overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
572 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“Very friendly B&B, though a bit overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

St. Marys is a charming little village, and overall we enjoyed our stay at Spencer House, but we felt it was lacking in a couple of areas, including value.

On the plus side, everyone at the hotel was very, very friendly and helpful. The location, just two blocks from the water and the ferry landing for Cumberland Island, is ideal. The included breakfasts were enjoyable. Our corner room was pleasant enough, though not overly large. We also liked having an elevator, a rarity in B&Bs in older homes.

As B&Bs go in Charleston, Savannah, Asheville and other popular destinations in the Carolinas and Georgia, Spencer House is not one of the more luxurious, but it is comfortable and well-maintained. As we own a 19th century house ourselves, we understand that old homes like this don't have all the modcons and that the walls are thin and noises carry, but we can live with that.

On the minus side, during the two nights we stayed here our room was never really cool and, especially in the afternoon, felt hot. The B&B has air-conditioning, much needed in this steamy coastal area (it was in the mid-80s by midday when we stayed here, in mid-October), but rooms don't have individual controls, and obviously the owners and staff are more acclimated to hot weather than we are. With the fan going, the room cooled off enough for sleeping, but because the old windows in our room didn't open, the room felt stuffy.

Most significantly, we felt prices here were a little higher than they should be. With taxes, my wife and I paid over $440 for two nights, more than twice what the Riverview Hotel two blocks away charges, and almost twice as much as the DeSoto Hilton in the Historic District of Savannah charged use for a beautiful corner room a day later.

I stay in hotels 50 to 100 nights a year, and I've written more than a dozen travel guidebooks, so I think I have some idea of value when it comes to hotels, and as pleasant as Spencer House is, I don't it quite cuts it in the value department when you compare it with other similar B&Bs in the Southeast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LanSluderBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    58
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
292
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

We wanted something near the highway on our way down to Florida. Great spot for a stop with an interesting and beautiful place to walk around and see authentic village buildings, have dinner, a drink with the local color near the Cumberland Island Ferry.
The inn is graciously updated, everything's clean and tidy. Room was clean and bed was comfy as was the bathroom. Grand sitting porch on second floor to see what's going on down the street (not a lot) and to enjoy birdsong with morning coffee that's ready when you are. Made-to-order eggs/omelet and lots of southern ooey-gooey stickey bun kind of stuff as well as fresh cut fruit and yogurt and juices. It was a quick but memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fhariefaae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

The Spencer House Inn

We were recommended to this establishment by a friend of a friend. We were traveling from N. Carolina to Florida, and looking for somewhere that was not a chain motel or hotel.

We booked ahead by phone from the highway and received prompt confirmation from the hotel by email to a cell phone. Very sophisticated for an old-fashioned b & b.

The place is an old 1870s 3-storey clapboard building, actually built as a hotel, with 14 bedrooms. Mary, who we had talked to on the phone, was eagerly awaiting our arrival shortly before 5 pm. She showed us all round the first floor including books, DVDs and other things we could use while staying there.

There is space on the first floor to sit comfortably and there is a very pleasant dining room. This is where we had the [included] breakfast the following morning. There are plenty of fresh fruits and cereals, together with assorted breads and cookies available. The hot breakfast [changes every day, Mary said] was a large four-cheese omelet with sausage on the side, and toast and jam provided. Mary insisted on serving the excellent coffees and many refills, rather than having us do it ourselves. Altogether a very personalized service.

Tea and home-made cookies are available downstairs in the afternoon.

The bedroom was on the third floor. There is a bathroom with basin, bathtub and shower. Not very large and couldn’t be used by two people at once. The king-sized bed was reasonably firm and very comfortable, with a plethora of different types of pillow. The only slightly negative thing I would say is that if you have to spend much time in the bedroom other than for sleeping purposes, then it could have stood a couple of comfortable chairs. The one small sofa was not big enough for two adults.

There are a number of restaurants in the street outside the hotel and we were provided with a home-made map showing all the amenities available within a short walk.

By mistake we left behind a couple of electronic charging cords, and Mary emailed us about them, and then mailed them to us. That is a service we have not received from any other place we have ever stayed. It indicates the personal zeal the owners have in making themselves available for their guests’ comfort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Spencer House B&B is a wonderful, welcoming historic Inn operated by live-in owners/hosts Mike and Mary. They, and their professional, gracious staff, made every effort to see that our stay was pleasant and memorable. The Inn is very well maintianed, clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfasts were cooked to order each morning and plentiful. The location is great, being a short walk from numerouse restaurants, shops, the waterfront and the ferry to Cumberland Island. This B&B is highly Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jekyll Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Spencer House and staff provided all the charming "extras" for a special anniversary get away! You cannot go wrong with this place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mueller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Spencer House B&B is conveniently close to I-95 in the fishing village of St. Mary's and was a delightful respite from all the impersonal chain motels we usually stay at on our travels. The pleasant staff and very helpful owners greeted us personally and showed us several attractive rooms from which to choose. After relaxing with a cup of freshly-made coffee, we walked a short block to explore the quaint waterfront and enjoyed an excellent dinner in a hotel built in the 1800's. We enjoyed a delicious, hot breakfast the next morning and were sorry to leave. This special place will be our regular stop when traveling through Georgia.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAILORPETEMIAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed overnite at Spencer's Inn Bed and Breakfast and found it to be a nice, comfortable getaway. Owners do a great job of keeping up this 1872 historic inn. Rooms were clean and very well kept. Many extras provided by the owners. Very nice breakfast made to order. Would recommend for a quiet getaway in south Georgia.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruggesfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
2.8 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 11 in Fernandina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 200 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558-8400
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing