We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path, delightful bed and breakfast near Cumberland Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This gem of a bed and breakfast is exactly what we needed, a quiet, much slower moving, elegant bed and breakfast, delightfully decorated on the coast of Georgia. Warm, easygoing ambiance, excellent service and facilities, great breakfasts and packed lunches (for our trip to Cumberland Island of course.) Sat on the porch and watched a huge thunderstorm pass through before we headed out to a local dinner with fresh fish caught that day. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjdbm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 513 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

Absolutely wonderful! St.Marys is such a gem and the Spencer House only makes it better. Super adorable and comfy- I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. Georgia Tourism is doing a giveaway for a one night stay, including breakfast, at the Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast on Twitter tomorrow [July 12]- I wouldn't miss this chance for a free stay at my favorite place for anything! You can enter on the @GeorgiaTourism twitter page. I hope I win!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l_p_876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Spencer House is a delightful historical inn that has been well maintained but without compromising its historical charm. The rooms and bathrooms and spotless. The service was warm and accommodating to all our needs. We were able to enjoy every aspect of our stay including references to great local restaurants. If you decide to take the ferry to Cumberland Island, be sure to purchase the lunch for two filled with a nice sandwich, drinks, and many healthy snacks. Our sincere thanks to Mary and her entire staff for a wonderful weekend.

We highly recommend the Spencer Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Lovely and tastefully decorated B&B. The hosts were gracious and attentive. Great public areas for relaxing and reading with a varied selection of periodicals and newspapers. Wonderful rocking chairs on porches. Good selection of foods for breakfast and hot cookies in the afternoons. Would stay there again. St. Mary's is a small, walking town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Can't say enough how wonderful our stay was at Spencer House. Our room was cozy, bed was so comfortable and food was amazing. Mike, Mary and staff were extremely professional yet personable. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank jbelldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Spencer House Inn on a visit to Cumberland Island National Park. One of the loveist B & B's we have stayed at. The hosts were very accomadating and made good recommendation for local resturants and activities. They offered a hot breakfast and had ice tea and cookies available anytime. They packed us a delicious lunch for our trip to Cumberland Island.
I would recommend Spencer House anytime you're in the Southeast Georgia, or Northeast Florida.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma8834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Everyone was so nice! Very clean & good food. Excellent for the first time visitor headed to Cumberland Island. Highly recommended ordering the picnic lunch from the Spencer House. It was more than enough food & so convenient. You're only a couple of blocks from the Ferry to Cumberland Island, so very good location, & I felt very safe there. My first experience at a B&B, & I give it 2 thumbs up.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank TravelingCountryGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
0.1 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
217 reviews
7.9 mi away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
703 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,560 reviews
12.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
0 mi away
Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 200 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558-8400
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range: $184 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spencer House Inn, built in 1872, is located in the heart of the St. Marys Historic District, within walking distance to restaurants, shops, museums and the ferry to Cumberland Island National Seashore. We can make your ferry reservation and pack a picnic lunch for you as you head off for your adventure on a beautiful, undeveloped and pristine barrier island - the beach was voted "one of the best wild beaches" by National Geographic Traveler magazine. You'll enjoy relaxing in the cypress rockers on the Inn's verandahs. Walk to the waterfront park, fishing pier and boat ramp. Take a leisurely stroll around our historic village. There are 2 championship golf courses nearby. Okefenokee Wildlife Refuge is 45 minutes away. The beaches of Jekyll, St. Simons and Amelia Island are a short drive from our St. Marys, Georgia bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing