We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most hospitable place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most hospitable place to stay”
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I stay freqently at Spencer House and never am disappointed. Mike and Mary make you feel so welcome and are so accomodating. Sitting in the beaurtiful living room, I feel so comfortable. My favorite time is breakfast - such a delicious treat. I keep going back because consistently it's such a pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lslriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    60
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
70
305
24
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2011

My husband & I had a wonderful stay here. Our room was lovely-comfy bed-and very clean. The breakfast was yummy and the staff were so nice. Quaint town, walked to the Cumberland Island ferry, spent afternoon on the island. Quiet, relaxing, just what we needed. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktimblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Cordial and helpful hosts. Excelllent breakfast. Hope to visit again

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesclegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panhandle of Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

What a holiday! The four of us enjoyed our stay immensely. The staff was incredibly accommodating and made sure we had everything we needed. Our trip to Cumberland Island was made all that much easier by having lunches packed and reservations made for us! We hope to return to St. Marys again, and would love to stay at the Spencer House Inn when we do. Thanks for making our stay so wonderful.
Warmly,
Paige and Friends!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swmpgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

The Spencer House B&B offers a beautiful, comfortable setting in the serene and quaint city of St. Marys. The lovely historic building opens up to a wonderful collection of guest rooms, all beautifully appointed and each with its own unique touch. The B&B offers a delicious hot breakfast each morning, often accompanied with the most scrumptious homemade mini muffins. Situated right in the middle of downtown historic St. Marys, the B&B is within easy walking distance of wonderful little shops, a variety of restaurants, and the city's beautiful waterfront area. The owners truly make you feel welcome and are always gracious hosts. I highly recommend the Spencer House Inn B&B.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricksana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
602 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

well if Aunt Martha's is Fort Walton Beach's answer to Roxbro house then Spencer House is Georgia's answer to both of them its a lovely building with a real oldy world feeling, so much so we asked if it was haunted! Having said that I realised with the year that it is actually not as old by seven years as my house. Anyway the hospitality and breakfast was great the set up with a drinks fridge brilliant, the town is lovely and you must visit Seagles to witness the phenomenon that is Cindy and her little red corvette that is an experience in itself just do as you are told. Amazingly there is a lift in Spencer House due to an old use as an office building that adds to the novelty value all round.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Mary and Mike are the most WONDERFUL hosts to all of their guests and cater to your every need no matter how big or small. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone for the kindness that they show and the uniqueness and beauty of the building. The breakfast in the morning is very, very delicious and filling - homemade cooking! Plus, it is located right in downtown St. Mary's, which is perfect for walking to dinner, the dock, a park, and the beautiful marsh along the river. Check it out!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myna3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
2.8 mi away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn Amelia Island
Residence Inn Amelia Island
#1 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#3 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,434 reviews
12.9 mi away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
7.9 mi away
The Seaside Amelia Inn
The Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 200 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558-8400
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing