We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Middlesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Mt. Sterling, KY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean and Friendly”
Reviewed June 9, 2007

We stay at this facility once a year, usually in June, but sometimes in July because the Holiday Inn Express in Middlesboro is so busy that it is sometimes difficult to book. Contrary to two previous reviews, we found the same comfortable, clean and friendly facility in '07 that we have been experiencing since 2000. The staff is most friendly and accommodating (especially the maintenance man who immediately replaced the hair dryer in our room which had a faulty plug), the rooms and beds are comfortable, and our room was exceptionally clean. We looked for things to complain about, expecially after reading some recent reviews. Sorry, but we didn't find anything to complain about. No, this isn't the Ritz. Yes, the facility is heavily used. That is because it is the ONLY decent place to stay in a twenty-five mile radius. The breakfast area is small and can easily be made messy by an unattended child, but this is not the fault of the staff. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, starting with Chinese, Mexican, Southern regional, buffet-type all-you-can-eat facilities and ending with every fast food chain you can think of. The pool looked inviting, but no one was using it. Inside and outside, this Holiday Inn Express is well maintained. Yes, the motel backs up to an imposing hill, but this is in the mountains after all. The rates are reasonable, a newspaper is free. There is high speed internet (though we did not use it). Lastly , if you are in the area to sight see (and there is plenty of that, beginning with the Cumberland Gap National Historical Park), this is THE place to stay. We will go back next year and we will be staying at the Express. No worries, no problems.

  • Liked — Location, comfort, amenities.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mtsrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    35
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
51
35
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Downriver Suburbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2007

This *was* a nice resting stop, once upon a time. Granted, the staff is extremly friendly however the rooms and elevator are completely outdated. No one to blame but the owner, who will quickly tell you to "find someplace else".... so we did.... it's by no fault of the employees that this place has went from 5 stars to 1.
Options:
Cumberland Gap Inn in Cumberland Gap, TN.(3 miles) -or-
Pine Mtn Resort Lodge in Pineville. (15 miles)

Comparable prices at a MUCH cleaner, updated location.

Don't get so road-tired that you settle... you might not sleep well.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank KimRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2006

Very dirty carpet in the room and a FILTHY breakfast area. Dripping faucet in room, and the A/C unit whined loudly when it came on and went off - so we used earplugs to get some sleep. Some kind of beetles on the inside of the window.

Great location near Cumberland Gap and Pine Mountain State Park, but no decent eateries nearby. Few hotel choices in area.

  • Liked — Near scenic Cumberland Gap Park
  • Disliked — Poor housekeeping, foodservice, and building maintanence
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay elsewhere
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank victor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
200 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Cumberland Gap area. The property is well maintained and looks relatively new. It is across the street from Wal Mart and other shopping, gas, restaurants and the Cumberland GAp Hotel are nearby. The staff was generally helpful and friendly with the exception of the night clerk (maybe he was just having a couple bad days, not terrible, not just as friendly as the other staff). The breakfast which was included was more than adequate for our needs and wants. The room was more than adequate and clean and the towels were generous, fluffy and absorbant, this property is moving to the new Holiday Inn Express standards. The view out our window was of a cliff but that was not important. We did not use the pool but for those with children it seemed adequate.
I would stay here again and would recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigbuster885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 24, 2005

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Middlesboro, Kentucky after a concert at LMU in Harrogate, TN. The Holiday Inn was only five miles from the campus and you get to travel through the popular Cumberland Gap tunnel. The town of Middlesboro is small, but there are several good places to eat and a few sights to see.

The Holiday Inn itself was one of only two selections this small but quaint town has, but it is a very good choice. The staff was very friendly, the rooms very clean and mostly up-to-date. The hotel has interior corridors which I prefer. Their continental breakfast was good.

I definitely plan to stay there again whenever I am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlesboro
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Middlesboro
8.0 mi away
Pine Mountain State Resort Park
17.4 mi away
Woodlake Lodge
Woodlake Lodge
#2 of 4 in Tazewell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Best Western Wilderness Trail Inn
2.6 mi away
Cumberland Gap Inn
Cumberland Gap Inn
#2 of 2 in Cumberland Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
12.8 mi away
Tazewell Motor Lodge
Tazewell Motor Lodge
#1 of 4 in Tazewell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro

Property: Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro
Address: 1252 N 12th St, Middlesboro, KY 40965-1826 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Middlesboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Middlesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro Hotel is located in Middlesboro's blend of historic woodlands, wonderful views, and well-seasoned beauty. We are located next to one of the oldest State Parks - Pine Mountain State Park and Cumberland Gap National Park. The Holiday Inn Express is not far from Cumberland Gap, the trail that was used by Daniel Boone, features a lot of hiking trails, crafts and Southern Hospitality. The Holiday Inn Express is located in an area where the dining is the choosing, whether you desire the charm of a historic view or the economy of a family restaurant, you can find it here. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Middlesboro, KY and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro Hotel Middlesboro
Holiday Inn Middlesboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing