We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Helpful hostess”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middlesboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cumberland Manor B & B
Ranked #1 of 2 Middlesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very Helpful hostess”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The house is a lovingly restored mansion built when mansions were interesting. But the best part of your stay will be the hostess..... a woman who is that in every sense of the word. She will make you feel at home, she will cook up a great breakfast, and best of all she will be generous in sharing her extensive knowledge of the town, its restaurants, its attractions, and the cumberland gap area. Cumberland Manor is orders of magnitude a more interesting and comfortable place to stay than a chain motel.

We stayed in a third floor room (Kennedy I believe) which was nice and comfortable but would be a bit of a climb if two flights of steep stairs are a problem. The toilet and shower are separated from the bed area only by a portable screen..... possibly an issue if privacy is a concern. And the room has a window AC unit that may be noisy if running. That said, if these things are issues there are other rooms. We will stay in one of them if we are again in MIddlesboro.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
57
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed here while visiting relatives in Middlesboro. Our first night we stayed in the Kennedy room, which was very nice. It was up on the 3rd floor, in what was probably servants quarters originally. Jill made us very welcome, offering a gourmet breakfast the next morning, and extensive suggestions for things to do in the area. My father persuaded us to come back for a 2nd night later in the week, and for that stay we splurged and rented the suite. There's something fundamentally decadent about stepping out of the tub onto a bath mat laid atop an oriental carpet. The 2nd night being mid-week and during the off season for the area, we had the place to ourselves, and Jill really treated us like royalty. We'll definitely be staying there on future visits to my family.

Room Tip: The staircase from the 2nd to the 3rd floor is narrow and steep. If you have difficulty with stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Cumberland Manor sits at the top of a geographical phenomenon, a "shock tower" from the meteorite strike of 300 million years ago that created a rare circular valley. It may not be at the "peak" geographically, but figuratively it's tops: beautiful Victorian house, great breakfast, and a congenial host who is very knowledgeable about the many attractions of this historical and scenic area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyLingual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014

we recently stayed at the Cumberland Manor B & B while in the area for a funeral. The accommodations were very nice and the Manor offered the quietness we were seeking. Thanks to Jill the much needed morning coffee was waiting for us, the breakfast was excellent. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryostandifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had the opportunity to stay here on our recent trip to Kentucky. The hosts couldn’t’ve been nicer … the room and breakfast were wonderful. They were very helpful and provided much information about the area and, particularly, what we shouldn’t miss in Cumberland Gap Nat’l Park.

You can’t go wrong by staying at Cumberland Manor on the top of the highest point … wonderful views … in Middlesboro.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank two_cachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speedwell, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Out of town guest stayed and we attended a dinner there. The atmosphere was decorated in a fall theme and very inviting. The food was absolutely wonderful. We had an authentic French menu with appetizer and dessert. I highly recommend the Cumberland Manor B&B not only for the food but also for the historic value! We toured the rooms and all were quite lovely. I can only imagine how good the breakfast would be. I will definately visit again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty, but Lincoln and Kennedy have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife, son and his girlfriend, brother and sister-in-law, sister, Mom and I, recently stayed at the Cumberland Manor Bed & Breakfast. Jill and her husband John are the perfect host & hostess. They make you feel like long lost relatives. The entire place is very tastefully decorated and landscaped. The house is 123 years old with all the charm and craftsmanship that comes with a mansion from the late 1800's. John is a very skilled carpenter and keeps the place in top shape. He also doubles as Jill' s helper with serving breakfast. The gourmet breakfasts alone are worth the price of a night's stay. If you have never experienced a stay at a B&B, then I highly recommend Cumberland Manor as a first experience. It is like staying with your favorite relatives. The feeling of home cannot be achieved at a hotel. Jill and John are doing it right. We will definitely stay with them again.

Room Tip: The Lincoln Room, with a private bath and jacuzzi tub, is the best in the house. We stayed in The Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlesboro
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Middlesboro
8.8 mi away
Pine Mountain State Resort Park
16.9 mi away
Woodlake Lodge
Woodlake Lodge
#2 of 4 in Tazewell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Best Western Wilderness Trail Inn
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesboro
2.8 mi away
The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Manor B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Manor B & B

Property: The Cumberland Manor B & B
Address: 208 Arthur Heights, Middlesboro, KY 40965-1728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kentucky > Middlesboro
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Middlesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 127 year old Victorian mansion, built for John B. Cary, the secretary-treasurer of this uniquely historic town, has 20 rooms furnished in period antiques and stained glass windows. Overlooking historic downtown Middlesboro, the only city built entirely inside a meteorite crater, has views of three states and the Cumberland Mountains. One mile from Cumberland Gap, TN, you can enjoy wildlife, scenic hikes, State and National Parks, golf, lots of special events, museums and history. I try to use fresh fruits, vegetables, and herbs from my garden at every meal. I offer healthy and gluten-free options and something special for those who have a sweet tooth. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing