We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cowpens National Battlefield”

Cowpens National Battlefield
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Chesnee
Certificate of Excellence
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cowpens National Battlefield”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

SC is steeped in history. More battles were fought here during the Revolutionary War than were fought in any other state. The Battle of the Cowpens was a major turning point of the war.
The significance is not lost in the guided tours of the battlefield site (Apr. 28-Sept 22). The Anniversary Commemorations on Jan. 18 and 19 also highlight the battle. Even the "Grasshopper Run", a walk-run event sponsored by the Spartanburg Running Club pays tribute to the run for the two British cannons that were left behind as the forces retreated.
This fall (Oct. 5-7) a Revolutionary Weekend will feature special events (period reenactments) at Walnut Grove, a Spartanburg County Upstate Plantation Historical Site; Cowpens Battlefield, and King's Mountain State Park. History Buffs would get to connect with their past, and children could gain a greater perspective of the legacy of our country.
Authenticity is the primary focus, and the commercialism is very much on the back burner. It is an excellent place to gain historical perspective.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    63
    15
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ocoee, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Peaceful, informative and historic”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fifteen of us visited the battlefield together. It was nice that we did not have to pay any entrance fee. Parking was convenient to the visitors center. Some of us wanted to go outside and walk the loop around the battlefield. The trail had informative signs explaining key points in the battle. It was shady enough to be pleasant even on a hot day. There was nice landscaping of native plants. Some cousins were content to remain in the visitors center and look at the film and other interpretive presentations like an illuminated map with an audio narrative. Some people browsed the small gift shop. All of us learned about the battle where our Laney ancestors fought for our freedom. The materials did an excellent job of making the battle come alive. We had a lot to think about and discuss on the van ride back to our hotel. It was a long drive, but worth the trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vlaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Off the beaten trail”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Having grown up with Valley Forge in my backyard I enjoy visiting historical sites, Civil War and Revolutionary War especially battlefields. Cowpens is not located near anywhere I travel but this time I was close enough to make the diversion. Its low key, a nice walk with plenty of background information describing the battle and its importance. worth a visit for history buffs.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank WhisperDowntheLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikiski, Alaska
Level Contributor
164 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Enjoyed by all”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a low-key place, but interesting and enjoyable for a couple of hours. There are interactive displays that my little cousins enjoyed, and the dramatic storytelling movie about the battle was informative and well done. The fields are lovely in and of themselves and I enjoyed walking on the historic pathway.
The old cabin nearby is a fun bonus. Wish I could go inside.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AKgrown_goes_to_Indo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my visit”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Came here at the end of June, peaceful pretty battlefield. It has a small but cozy welcome center. There is a short but entertaining and informative movie about the battle. Also another short but informative voice over in front of a map that gives you information about the battle. There is a small gift shop in the visitor center. We took the three mile loop drive around. It was very nice and we all enjoyed it. This battle was small but important. Easily seen in just a couple of hours but well worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank history713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowpens National Battlefield also viewed

 

Been to Cowpens National Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing