We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hereford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ramsey Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Hereford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Have stayed at the Inn 3 times over the past 12 months.

Shirlene (the owner) is very gracious, it is a B&B so once you are checked in you are pretty much on your own until Pies are served (3 pm... heavenly!) and/or breakfast the next morning. Last trip we met travelers from Washington and California, this time a scientist from Costa Rica and a few couples from the Phoenix area. It's a pretty diverse group and always friendly.

The views are spectacular and you are literally next to the Nature Conserv. and amazing hiking trails for most any hiking level during the day (note - closed on Tues/Wed but we don't travel mid week much). For birders there are something like 150+ species there and 15 or so of just hummingbirds so we spent a great deal of time at the feeders enjoying the view. Last trip we had a great (quick) sighting of a bear from the road and we've seen deer and fox on others. Bats are somewhat common and we heard others say they've seen a wild turkey group but we haven't been that lucky yet.

Definately worth the money ($150 a room or so... more I think for the fully furnished apartment) and you can't beat the location for a beautiful and secluded get-away from the heat.

Room Tip: Housekeeping suites (2 each) and apartment (1) have full kitchens and sitting areas - we opted for r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliCarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 116 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

The location is convenient to the conservancy nature preserve, but considering that the preserve opens at 8 am there is no real reason to stay at this bed and breakfast. The grounds are small and there are no trails in the property or near it that you can use after the nature preserve closes at 5 pm. Nice pie and ok breakfast, although I most say that there was not a great variety of items and no seconds were offered. Breakfast is served at 8 am, which I think is a bit late if you want to leave early or want to go hiking when they open the preserve next door. We have stayed at the cabins in Madera canyon not that far from the are and I think that the wildlife was more abundant there. The trees make this location fairly dark and the hummingbirds were not always n the sun. I would stay somewhere else cheaper and would visit the Ramsey canyon preserve to see the birds and hike.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We sat on the cool, shady front porch, enjoying a delicious piece of Shirlene's homemade pie and the great view of the Inn's large front yard and bird feeders. Just beyond, we could see the entrance to the famous Ramsey Canyon Reserve. We thoroughly enjoyed our four day stay. This Inn is in an ideal location; our room was comfortable; and the breakfasts were tasty. Best of all, perhaps, the owner/hostess really helped make our visit a success by answering all our questions about the best birding locations and good restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Easter and enjoyed our stay. We are birders so enjoyed the hummingbird feeders! We stayed in one of the suites behind the main building. You can hear your neighbors sometimes and the wireless connection was sporadic from our room but no issues with the internet From the main building.

We birded in the morning and enjoyed the grounds of the inn for the afternoon. The pie was awesome!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mango01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were a little off season for birding (Mid Feb) but the weather was beautiful. The Inn is just steps away from the Ramsey Canyon Preserve and the area is green and peaceful. It is low key, warm friendly and more than adequate for a hiking weekend.. Fresh homemade pie was waiting in the kitchen when we arrived (delicious!)which is open to a great room with fireplace and very comfortable furniture. Internet access and free phone calls in US and Canada. Breakfast was fun with everyone meeting at big table by kitchen - wonderful fresh homemade coffee cake and sausage- great coffee always available and an assortment of teas. Outside is a lawn area with an abundance of hummingbird and wildbird feeders. Appropriate since this canyon has one of the largest hummingbird sitings in North America due to migratory patterns. We had booked the cheapest room and it was very small but OK since we had lots of places to hang out and only wanted to sleep there. Other visitors were very happy with their accommodations. The hike is beautiful!! Lots to see - deer, turkey and, of course a large variety of birds. WIll definitely go back. The place is for sale and has been for awhile. When we win the lottery we will consider it : )

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is the 13th year my wife and I, along with another couple from our Arizona neighborhood, have stayed at the Ramsey Canyon Inn. It is wonderful. The family who run the Inn are as helpful and friendly as can be. And the setting is gorgeous. We have stayed in many places throughout Arizona and have found this to be one of the premier places to relax, take in nature and hike.

The adjacent hiking trails offer choices for outdoor enthusiasts from the novice to the all-day hiker. And at the end of the day, the homemade pies are a great way to "replenish" the lost calories.

I am from the East Coast originally and have traveled to South Florida many times. Let me tell you, the key lime pie is "authentic." It is light colored (not green which indicates food coloring) and is made with condensed milk (how the old-timers made it). If you don't believe this is the way key lime pie should be--watch "Dexter" who did a whole show on finding Florida's perfect key lime pie!

G-d willing, we hope to visit the Ramsey Canyon Inn for at least another 13 years in a row. We have already reserved for next year!

Room Tip: The creek side housekeeping suites are special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We had stayed here twice previously in winter. Winter has its charm (crisp days and nights, snow on one occasion, fires in the great room), but summer was wonderful. This is a premier wildlife viewing area. The hostess puts out over a dozen hummingbird feeders and also many seed or suet feeders. One lounges under the large, shady, beamed porch, and views the frenetic activity at about a dozen feeders at a time. Take a half-mile stroll through the adjacent Nature Conservancy property, containing more feeders, exhibits, wetland reconstruction and historic cabins. Get your heart racing when you climb the switch-backs into the extensive trail system of the Miller Wilderness Area. You have just earned your piece of fresh pie made daily on the premises all from scratch by your pie-award-winning hostess. We also liked to have a glass of wine out on our private balcony overlooking the stream, more feeders, a huge California Redwood, and a peach tree (which contributed its fruit to our latest pie treat). The hummingbird feeders are usually covered by bags nightly to prevent the liquid from being consumed by bats, but we wanted to see the bats, so our hosts left them off. On that night, we were amazed to watch the bats flocking to the feeder just outside the dining room window. We took photos from only a few feet away (see below). Then we toddled off to our very quiet, comfortable room. The wildlife is wonderful, but so was our host. We plan on coming back again and again. We cannot get enough.

Room Tip: Two rooms in the main house have private balconies. Ours (eastern) was larger and had better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mathew_brady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hereford
7.2 mi away
Gateway Studio Suites
Gateway Studio Suites
#2 of 22 in Sierra Vista
165 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
594 reviews
23.0 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Garden Place Suites
Garden Place Suites
#3 of 22 in Sierra Vista
229 reviews
22.8 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
318 reviews
23.2 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#8 of 11 in Bisbee
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramsey Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsey Canyon Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 29 E Ramsey Canyon Rd, Hereford, AZ 85615-9613
Location: United States > Arizona > Hereford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price Range: $135 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For 30 years this nationally-acclaimed inn has been offering guest comfort & hospitality in a world-class setting. The Arizona Republic proclaimed Ramsey Canyon Inn to be one of the "Top 10 Bed & Breakfasts in Arizona" Bird watchers, hikers, athletes, nature lovers, history buffs and the romantic at heart, herald the inn as an upscale but inviting inn. At an elevation of 5500 feet in the Huachuca Mountains, Ramsey Canyon Inn is nestled in the world famous Ramsey Canyon birding area, just 80 miles southeast of Tucson.Ramsey Canyon Inn offers a peaceful retreat for those seeking to enjoy the wonders of nature right at their finger tips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ramsey Canyon Hotel Hereford
Ramsey Canyon Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing