We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, awful staff”
Review of Pizzeria Mimosa

Pizzeria Mimosa
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Silver City, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food, awful staff”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We took a friend out to dinner at Mimosa. We went early because we wanted to sit by the windows and enjoy the view. The hostess would not seat us near them because a large party had reservations and wanted the windows. She offered us the outside, not noticing that it was 60 degrees outside and our friend was bald from chemo. We only had 4 people so they would not take a reservation from us. We had to get a little assertive not to get stuck sitting right next to the only other people in the entire room -- we did not want to hear their conversation. Almost 2 HOURS later, as we were paying our bill, the large party had not arrived and the table we wanted (specifically asked for when we arrived) was not even part of the party set-up. We were really peeved that the staff was such a collections of morons. We got to spend much of the evening staring at the empty table we had requested. At least they did not add insult to injury and seat someone else there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GretchenNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    83
    35
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our lunch”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have wanted to try Pizzeria Mimosa for a long time. But, I either passed the restuarant on my way to Sierra Vista, usually too early for lunch, or on my way home, too early for dinner! But, I was lucky and the timing was perfect for lunch on Wednesday. The restaurant offers a great luncheon special for $12. A sampler of appetizer, salad, entree & desert. There is a selection of 3 under each category. Although tempting, I wasn't in the mood for desert. So, DH & I split a Verdure pizza and a Pompei pannini. They were both very good, but the pizza was the best. Of course, at $14 for a 12" pizza (no salad included), it should be yum. We also got a separate side salad - the pannini came with a small salad. The dressing was quite good. I would recommend Pizzeria Mimosa for everyone, and thankfully there are many vegetarian options. I was disappointed in the service, however. Although DH got his beer, I had to go find our server to ask that my wine be served. Even after I requested, it took another 5 minutes to receive it. No apology from our server either. It's the small things that set off good from excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank service197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
“Great food with a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was greeted with a smile and shown to my table by a thoughtful young lady. I ordered a calzone, not really knowing what to expect since this was my first trip there. While I waited, a pleasant toasted bread with dipping sauce was a welcome treat. The calzone arrived after a short wait. Wow, it looked yummy and was a huge masterpiece; very flavorful and filling. Of course I had to ask for a box. I really enjoyed my meal and will certainly go back for another run.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Needs a little more flavor”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I had high hopes, but my pizza choice was slightly disappointing. I had pizza Eliseo, but the flavors were a bit bland. Needs a different cheese combo on it. I find Mozzarella a bit boring in this day of wonderful cheeses. Plus, I chose a glass of their GL Principato Cab/merlot and it was C-. It had an alright start but an extremely rough finish. Left a bad taste in the mouth. I should have sent it back. I did tell the owner he should look into finding a new house wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABHIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SOOOOO GOOD!!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Whenever we stay at Casa San Pedro we eat out at dinner time.Carl and Patrick at the Casa suggested we try Mimosa and we go back there everytime we stay at the Casa.The service has always been very good and the food wonderful!The menu is varied with great appetizers and fabulous gnocchi-yummy! I highly recommend this restaurant whenever you might be in the area!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fastpaws3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Mimosa also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Mimosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing