We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birders Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hereford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Battiste's Bed, Breakfast & Birds
Ranked #4 of 7 Hereford B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birders Paradise”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was our first stay at Batisste's B and B. We thoroughly enjoyed the hosts, Tony and Julie. What a lovely couple and so knowledgeable about the local wildlife. They have set up their yard as a haven for migratory and local birds. We even tried out the bird blind. The birds were so close. This was such a treat. We were also able to add a few life birds to our lists, by just sitting in their yard.

We stayed in the Casita del Pajaro, a studio apartment. We enjoyed having the kitchen. Julie made delicious baked goods for breakfast. They also provided other breakfast items, as well as juice and coffee. This allowed us to get an early start to the day, if we chose to.

The biggest treat was the returning Elf Owl, in their yard. We were there for 3 nights and got to see the owl all 3 nights. We saw the mate on the third night. Again, what a treat!

This B and B is ideally located for so many birding hotspots. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoggerheadShrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Foster City, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Battiste's in early April and enjoyed it a lot. The environment is lovely and Tony and Julie are warm and welcoming. But what makes Battiste's really special is that it lives up to its name of Bed, Breakfast and Birds. Their backyard is great for any birder (the resident elf owl and three new-born curve bill thrashers were the highlights when we were there) and a particular delight for bird photographers - photogenic perches are placed near the feeders and a discreet blind is situated nearby as well, enabling close-up photography of lazuli bunting, warblers, orioles, woodpeckers, hummingbirds etc, without disturbing the birds. Overall, probably the best set-up for photographing birds I've ever enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I arrived with 3 friends, one a couple who slept in a large, well appointed master suite with sliding doors to a patio. We were met by the outgoing and bird-loving owner and his equally friendly golden lab, a treat for animal lovers as we all were. The apartment we rented was quiet and equipped with a small refrigerator, toaster, sink and electric skillet. Our breakfast was self serve and included delectable bakery items fresh from the oven of the hostess. Our host was very friendly and very active in birding the surrounding area. We had many fine recommendations as where to go. Perhaps the very best part of the experience was the exquisite garden attached to the B & B which was bird friendly, including an old telephone pole for the use of the several varieties of woodpecker. The small room I and another female friend slept in had a bathroom across the kitchen. This is fine for the person who does not take a long time to wake up and doesn't mind trundling through the kitchen for the morning bathroom visit.. This is a wonderful choice for a couple who are avid birders who love animals and want a charming and friendly place for a vacation in beautiful SE Arizona. The extra bedroom is available for a reasonable additional fee.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My uncle and I have each birded SE Arizona multiple times - this was his third time staying at Battiste's and my second. As always, Tony and Julie's hospitality is second to none. Fresh fruit and baked goods were always waiting for us no matter how early we woke to go birding. Tony's expertise and knowledge of the area is tremendous. Because we've extensively birded the region, our targets were specific and mostly quite uncommon. Tony was able to help put us in the best position to find them - which we did, finding almost all of them. The yard is an oasis for birds and you can't get better looks at Elf Owl anywhere else. I can't recommend Battiste's Bed and Breakfast highly enough!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6ghokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had only one night in Sierra Vista area, and didn't have an opportunity to stay here, but I called and asked about seeing their Elf Owl that evening.
On the phone, Julie was wonderful about inviting us over to see it. Not really knowing what to expect, we found a group of birders already there - some we had seen on the trails earlier that day - all sitting on lawn chairs in front of a telephone pole in the back yard. Tony came out and gave a wonderful spiel about the resident Elf Owls that had been nesting in the pole for generations. He gave us a play by play of what usually happens every night, told us which branches to watch where they normally roosted - it was great! As it finally got dark, the action unfolded pretty much as he described. The female popped her head out, the male came from deep in the woods and called, it chased off a woodpecker that showed up, and then the couple headed out for the night.
Tony spun a great tale, and shone a flashlight so I could get a picture.
I can imagine this couple being great hosts, since they're so friendly to complete strangers just dropping by.
Thanks Tony and Julie!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frozen-in-MN-US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs CO
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a comfortable place to stay. We stayed three nights in April to see the Elf owl and all the yard birds. The Owl's Roost room was very comfortable. We enjoyed Julie's fresh baked breads every morning. Tony is great at identiflying birds by sight and sound. Also very good at helping us to get pictures of the Elf Owl. Tony gave us suggestions for walks each day and locations to look for birds. Thanks to his help we got to see the Trogon on our last day. Got some good pictures of the yard birds. Such a warm inviting place to stay with great hosts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Thank you, Tony and Julie, for the most excellent stay. The accommodations are very comfortable and made us feel at home. The home baked goods were delicious and the hospitality is phenomenal. It feels like you're visiting family, family that you like. The yard set up is so good it makes it hard to go elsewhere for birding, but the local birding advice did enable us to find several life birds in the area. Next time we will be staying longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdscout154938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Battiste's Bed, Breakfast & Birds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battiste's Bed, Breakfast & Birds

Property: Battiste's Bed, Breakfast & Birds
Address: 4700 E Robert Smith Ln, Hereford, AZ 85615-9679
Location: United States > Arizona > Hereford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing