We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity, Nature, Birding, Cycling, Cooking Classes! Truly a Diamond in the Rough!”
Review of Casa de San Pedro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa de San Pedro
Ranked #1 of 7 Hereford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serenity, Nature, Birding, Cycling, Cooking Classes! Truly a Diamond in the Rough!”
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Casa de San Pedro is owned and operated by two very special individuals that has obviously put thier heart and soul into the inviting beauty and comfort of this Bed & Breakfast. Gorgeous Amenities, Fabulous Rates, Inviting Activities all with a tremendous personal touch! Great place for Travelers to experience the inner beauty of the desert & wildlife and Great Escape for us Locals!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBum2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
104
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Karl and Patrick (and two lovely dogs) are the generous hosts of this comfortable adobe-style inn tucked away on the banks of a river.

Awaken in the morning by birds everywhere -- good luck photographing the roadrunners around the property, if you have the energy to retrieve your camera. Then sit down family-style in the spacious dining room filled with hand-carved furniture to feast on a gourmet breakfast. Perhaps a stroll around the property, take a dip in the pool or simply lounge in the hammock.

It's close enough to enough funky Bisbee, or your hosts will point you towards a decent restaurant.

At night you'll find home-cooked, fruit-filled, crispy-crust pies. Don't miss the cherry pie. Then watch the sun set from the back patio, settle into the library with a book or grab some binoculars for the birds scattered by the hundreds around the grounds.

The staff is completely wonderful and attentive, the grounds are well-kept and there are just enough amenities for relaxation. Leave your cell phone at home.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelostbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

After a long drive down seemingly endless roads we arrived, a small group of wildlife enthusiasts. This is one of the best B&Bs I have stayed in. It has already been well described and I back up every superlative so far written about it, especially the wonderful food. We had evening meals on 3 evenings and they were all brilliant. Breakfasts and packed lunches are also wonderful, fresh and there is easy access to hot drinks and snacks. Birding in the immediate vicinity and in the canyons is excellent and we loved the aerobatics of the night hawks at dusk in the field next door. My only gripe was that I couldn't get the advertised wi fi access running from anywhere and the lounge computer is very slow. But this is somewhere to escape from the world so it has to be 5 stars!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugsy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton,MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2009

Wonderful service with incredible breakfasts! The rooms are comfortable with great linens and amenities. The room we were in only had one window opening into the center courtyard with no view, but there may be other rooms with a view that we didn't see. Free laundry facilities were a godsend after an adventurous week of traveling! Karl and Patrick, the owners, were friendly and knowledgable about the abundant wildlife and things to see in the area. It was nice to have coffee, tea, and fabulous fresh homemade pies available all day! The property was immaculate in a serene setting!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prescott
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2007

You don't have to be a birder to like this B&B.
Since our family was going to be thousands of miles away over Christmas, we decided to follow John Grisham's advice and skip Christmas - at least at our house. A traveling friend of my wife recommended Casa de San Pedro. Where the heck is that? I asked when she proposed this location for a getaway. Her response was "I don't know but they really liked it."
Well we found it on the map about half way between Sierra Vista and Bisbee in Southern AZ. We live in Prescott AZ which is about 300 miles and 5 hrs north.
We arrived on Dec 23 and stayed until Dec 26. Had a delightful time.
We have stayed at about a dozen B&B's all over the West. This one ranks as one of the best.

Some specifics.
Setting - The Inn as you can tell from the website is a hacienda type square building with a courtyard in the center. All the rooms face the courtyard. Rooms are plain but adequate. The only downside was no TV in the room. There is a great "family room" with a TV w cable, plenty of books and games, internet WiFi service (at no extra charge) a desktop computer for those without laptops and field glasses for birders. The dining room/breakfast area is large with windows facing the bird feeders. There is a fountain in the courtyard with more bird feeders.

Facilities available - The guest services room has a full size fridge, washer and dryer and microwave with plates and silver ware for those who don't want to venture out to a restaurant after a day exploring the area. Karl and Patrick (the owners) encouraged us to eat our makeshift picnic dinner in the dining room. There also are several grills out back if you care to barbeque. Why all the emphasis on cooking yourself? Well the Casa is located about 10-15 miles from most restaurants. A 15 minute drive may not sound like much - but after out wandering and hiking all day we wanted to relax. Also we were there at Christmas and a lot of restaurants were closed.

Outside comforts - a hot tub and lap pool (in season).

Breakfast and snacks - Great breakfasts - and plenty of food. Some B&B's seem to skimp on the gourmet breakfast. We padded down to the dining room in our slippers about 8AM and enjoyed coffee while Karl and Patrick put the finishing touches on breakfast in the open kitchen. Then we dined with fellow guests from, California, Boston, New Mexico, Montana, Windsor and AZ. There are always plenty of cookies, pies, coffee and teas available on a 24 hr basis.

Activities - Ask the owners or fellow guests about what to see in the area. Bisbee is a must and if you go in the winter be sure to be at the Whitewater Draw between 11am and 1pm. Thousands of Sand Hill cranes will be returning from feeding at this time. They literally fill the sky. Lots of hiking trails available in the area.

We will be sure to go back.
.

  • Liked — Great hosts and breakfasts
  • Disliked — No restaurants in immediate vicinity
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank domino10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Delightful 10 room Inn. Very nice rooms and large, pleasant common areas. High quality breakfasts included, plus large kitchen for guest use in evenings. Gracious and knowledgeable hosts/owners. Amazing birding out the windows, on the grounds and down a short path to the river. Other excellent birding locations within a 15 mile radius. Although it is in a fairly remote area, there are quite good restaurants in Bisbee and Sierra Vista which are about 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tomdunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2007

Nice, large, comfortable rooms.
Gorgeous location on San Pedro River with trails right from the inn.
The hosts were accomodating and went out of their way to meet your needs, and the full breakfasts were excellent!
Mostly a destination for birdwatchers.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lakecanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hereford
11.6 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
737 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
563 reviews
22.1 mi away
Tombstone Monument Ranch
Tombstone Monument Ranch
#2 of 9 in Tombstone
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
314 reviews
15.4 mi away
Gateway Studio Suites
Gateway Studio Suites
#2 of 22 in Sierra Vista
165 reviews
15.6 mi away
Garden Place Suites
Garden Place Suites
#3 of 22 in Sierra Vista
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de San Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de San Pedro

Property: Casa de San Pedro
Address: 8933 S Yell Ln, Hereford, AZ 85615-9250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Hereford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de San Pedro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SE Arizona territorial hacienda located on the San Pedro River - one of the Nature Conservancy's Last Great Places on Earth. 10 luxury guest rooms. Only 90 miles SE of Tucson, but only inches from heaven. Perfect for birding, hiking, biking or relaxing. Above al it is quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa de San Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De San Pedro Hotel Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing