We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa de San Pedro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa de San Pedro
Ranked #1 of 7 Hereford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fine experience”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Casa de San Pedro was a joy, like a hybrid of a b-and-b and a very friendly small hotel. The setting is remote, the solitude wonderful, and if you're a birder, it's a terrific find, right next to 40 miles of protected landscape along the San Pedro River. The food and the service are extraordinary, too. Loved being at the pool and watching the sunset over the Huachuca Mountains. Well located for many wonderful hikes and excursions, and the interesting mining relic, Bisbee, is fairly close by.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
97
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I am not a B&B person; however, if Karl and Patrick could school others on this art form, I would be a convert. They balanced being available/accommodating with allowing you space to roam comfortably around "the casa" and the grounds. Their lovely B&B is one I would return to in a heartbeat

Rooms: We occupied room 9 for three nights. Spacious, clean and well appointed. Loved the large shower. No TV, a huge plus! Electric blanket for those who may visit in the colder months.
Common Area: Also spacious and comfortable. Loaded with books and periodicals. Computer with internet access and TV are also available.
Dining/Food: We had two types of quiche during our stay. Light and delicious. Pie and coffee available all day.
Grounds: Easy access to the river, feeders in "backyard" for additional bird watching - FUN. Grill available with table and chairs.
Guest Services/Laundry Room: Beverages (fee), laundry facilities and guest fridge are available. It was nice to be able to put together a meal and eat in the courtyard

Room Tip: Guest Services/Laundry room is next to room 5, there may be some light noise during the day. During...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesNoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Off the beaten track, so you may only go if you love the birds attracted by the feeders, but when you get there you will have a wonderful experience. Comfortable rooms, lovely lounge filled with books and magazines and warm welcome.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sueaveyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Maine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My friend and I did an overnight trip from the Phoenix area for the purpose of birding. My friend mentioned how she had heard good things about Casa de San Pedro and so we decided to go there. I cannot imagine how it could have been better. Our hosts, Karl and Patrick were SO friendly and helpful. Before our 6:30 AM bird walk coffee, muffins and hot pastry was awaiting us. When we returned at 9:30 we were served an amazing full breakfast that stayed with me all day - and that NEVER happens with me. It was just amazing. There were several varieties of homemade pie available 24/7 as well as coffee, tea and soft drinks.

Our room was quiet, clean and everything we could have hoped for. Original art decorated the space which was a really nice touch. The beds were very comfortable.

This elegant/casual place caters to bird watching types but I can't see how anyone, birder or not, would not fall in love with this place. I definitely hope to return and spend more time!

Room Tip: All rooms open onto a central courtyard so I think all rooms would be equally wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pahhhhhter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

A wonderful place to stay: hosts Karl & Patrick do everything possible to make you feel welcome.
A great location for birdwatching either in the grounds or on the adjacent National Conservation Area. We stayed for 3 nights and can no fault whatsoever with accommodation or food.We can thoroughly recommend this place .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lichfield2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is a very well-managed and friendly B&B. The rooms are a good size, and the bathrooms are nicely decorated with colourful ceramics. Breakfast is an all-guests-sit-down-together affair at 8:00am; delicious fresh pies, along with tea and coffee are available throughout the day. A great feature is the large amount of public space - a large "living room" with fireplace, and other comfortable rooms and nooks and crannies with books and magazines. Lots of them look out over bird feeders placed around the building.

With no restaurant at the B&B, you have two dinner choices: go out to one of the nearest restaurants, about a 20-minute drive away; or buy takeout or groceries during the day and store them in the guest fridge and heat things up for dinner. There's a comfortable table and chairs in the room, if you choose this option.

The thing we appreciated most about this B&B and its hosts was their helpfulness and flexibility: 8:00am is way too late for birders to eat breakfast, but Patrick and Karl will arrange to cook a takeaway breakfast for you if you are a crack-of-dawn birder. Also, we arrived late in the afternoon on Valentine's day, hungry. It was impossible to get a restaurant reservation, and Patrick and Karl invited us to a pot luck at the B&B. We had delicious meal, and a great evening.

For birders, this B&B is close to the canyons, and is on the road east towards Bisbee and the cranes at Whitewater Draw. It's farther from the more northerly birding spots like Patagonia State Park. A good base. An easy drive to the feeders at Ash Canyon B&B.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a bit close to the guest kitchen and laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I can't think of one negative thing to say about our four night stay at this delightful Bed and Breakfast. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and homey. The breakfasts are excellent, and the homemade pies in the afternoon are even better. The property is located along a small river with lots of birding opportunities. There are birding field guides and binoculars available to borrow. A gift shop offers field guides, tee-shirts, hats, etc. If you are visiting southeastern Arizona, this is definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-Birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hereford
11.6 mi away
Copper Queen Hotel
Copper Queen Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bisbee
726 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sierra Suites
Sierra Suites
#1 of 22 in Sierra Vista
537 reviews
11.4 mi away
Bisbee Grand Hotel
Bisbee Grand Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bisbee
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
The Tombstone Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Tombstone
977 reviews
15.4 mi away
Gateway Studio Suites
Gateway Studio Suites
#2 of 22 in Sierra Vista
162 reviews
15.6 mi away
Garden Place Suites
Garden Place Suites
#3 of 22 in Sierra Vista
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de San Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de San Pedro

Property: Casa de San Pedro
Address: 8933 S Yell Lane, Hereford, AZ 85615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Hereford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa de San Pedro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SE Arizona territorial hacienda located on the San Pedro River - one of the Nature Conservancy's Last Great Places on Earth. 10 luxury guest rooms. Only 90 miles SE of Tucson, but only inches from heaven. Perfect for birding, hiking, biking or relaxing. Above al it is quiet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Casa de San Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De San Pedro Hotel Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing