We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid! Great Value”
Review of Balanced Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balanced Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Fruita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here for several nights prior to riding the kokopelli trail in early May. Excellent value and very comfortable. Firm beds, free Internet and super clean. The owners are there and it makes a difference. I normally stay at name brands like Hyatt and Marriott but wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Highly recommended. Pluses: bike wash station and they allowed us to keep our bikes in the room.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank 2quixotictravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 109 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Great service and really nice room. Cheap as well. Loved that the owner said the full price at first question (but I guess it's because he's from Europe originally..). Safe and quiet place. Free wifi.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sigrid111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Driving at 10:00 PM on I70 westbound with bleak Green River UT as the next possible stop I decided to overnight in Fruita. I was not looking forward to paying the going rate at one of the major chains when I noticed a somewhat obscure sign for the Balanced Rock Motel. I gave it a shot. A very nice Polish lady gave me a good price that included tax. The room was large and clean. Just what I needed for 40 winks and an early departure.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kiwini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I happened by chance at the Balanced Rock Motel. I had just had a stroll through Aspen Avenue in Fruita and as soon as I was about to get out of downtown I came across a two story grey building displaying a small sign : MOTEL. At the beginning I was hesitant thinking that a motel not displaying a visible sign has something to hide. I was wrong twice. First because the usual illuminated sign was placed on the front side of the motel, and coming from downtown you see the back first. Second, and that's what matters, because the Balanced Rock Motel proved to be an excellent choice. I was offered a clean room for a very good rate. I was surprised that the rate asked was tax included, something unusual in US but very welcome to people like me coming from Europe where all the prices must be taxes included. My room was equipped with a microwave and a fridge, appliances I always appreciate in my rooms. Both the managers I met when I checked in/out were very kind, polite and professional. Definitly a plus is the location: within walking distance from the main part of downtown and of a good supermarket and right off US 50. The I 70 exit is pretty close as well. There is no breakfast in the morning but guests may get some coffee and pastry in the lobby. It doesn't happen often to find such a quality for such a good rate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank d8889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We did not hear the train mentioned by other reviewers the night we stayed there. Balanced Rock is pretty basic, no frills but we would definately stay here again! We also made reservations and were not given a confirmation number but had no issues with the reservation when we arrived.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gayngar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hotel itself is a 4 but the fact that I called and made a reservation over 10 months ahead and again a week before to confirm, yet when we arrived the front desk had no record of a reservation makes me give it a 3. In fairness to the hotel, I was not given a confirmation # and did not request one. I would if I we you! Luckily, we arrived about 5pm and they did have a room but the hotel was full later that evening.

The room itself was very large and clean and pretty comfortable. The beds were firm but not hard (imo) and we slept well. Note to housekeeping; Leave a back up roll of tissue...Please
Owner was friendly and breakfast was basic coffee/danish.

We would stay there again only with a reservation confirmation

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Titustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are the cleanest we have ever seen. Perfect size and convenient to rest. And downtown. Owners live on site and are wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fruita
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fruita
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Fruita
Comfort Inn Fruita
#3 of 3 in Fruita
210 reviews
11.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
#6 of 28 in Grand Junction
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Junction
0.4 mi away
H Motel
H Motel
#2 of 5 in Fruita
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Fruita
Super 8 Fruita
#2 of 3 in Fruita
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balanced Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balanced Rock Inn

Address: 126 S Coulson St, Fruita, CO 81521-2015 (Formerly Balanced Rock Motel)
Location: United States > Colorado > Fruita
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fruita
Price Range: $59 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balanced Rock Inn is in the heart of mountain biking paradise! A family run business with clean rooms, free cable tv and wi-fi, a free mountain bike wash as well as a continental breakfast is included. We are a 5 minute drive to the Colorado National Monument, within walking distance to grocery store and restaurants and there is a nice park right across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Balanced Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balanced Rock Hotel Fruita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing