We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stop when you're in the area”

Colorado National Monument
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Fruita
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This monument, 23,000 acres of canyons, plateaus and massive towers of naturally sculpted monoliths, includes Balance Rock, a 600-ton boulder perched on a rock pedestal. Two entrances are located outside the cities of Fruita and Grand Junction, Colorado.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Worth a stop when you're in the area”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This park is a great place to visit if you're traveling that way. We spent a half day there on our way to Moab.
The scenery is beautiful, especially at sunset. We didn't do the trails, just the overlooks. Could have easily spent a full day there. Anyone into hiking would want to spend more time there. I'd rate it higher if we hadn't visited Canyonlands & Arches. The road is fun to drive. There are some serious mountain curves so keep your eyes on the road.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DutchH37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,104
    188
    25
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cudahy WI
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Glad We Didn't Pass it Up”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had no plans of visiting the Colorado National Monument but I'm surely glad we did!

The scenery is magnificent, the engineering of this 1930's and 1940's constructed 23 mile road is amazing, and even on a day with very high winds we were happy to have visited. There are numerous trails to be walked/hiked depending on your ability and stamina. The are ample pull-outs for cars to stop and take pictures. The staff at the visitor center are very helpful. We spent a great day looking at nature from some of her best 'sides.'

We'll visit again I'm sure.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a beautiful winding road with elevation gain which overlooks majestic rock formations and valleys with the Grand Valley and the Grand Mesa in the background. Take the time to do the entire loop from Fruita on the west to Grand Junction to the south east.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hiddenshutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnhart, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breathtaking scenery”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is an awesome area to explore by car and/or by foot. We did both and enjoyed every minute. Would definitely recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank slvinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Why had I never heard about this place? We drove the scenic road twice and took several hours each time. We hit sunrise and sunset, definitely the best times for photography.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank freqtrav17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colorado National Monument also viewed

Grand Junction, CO
Colorado, United States
 

Been to Colorado National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing