We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything but the kitchen sink!”

El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Fruita
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Everything but the kitchen sink!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This a great Mexican restaurant with over-the-top deco! The 4-page menu offers a selection of every imaginable Northern Mexican dishes. It also serves a decent - if not memorable - marguarita. The portions are grotesquely huge! This is probably one of the better restaurants in town!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    61
    20
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Good value, large portions very authentic! The atmosphere was very authentic like the ones you see closer to the border, very clean! Good value for your money, nobody leaves hungry!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food, ever. Anyplace.”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Every time we pass through Fruita Colorado we take the time to eat here. It is fabulous food, well priced, in a festive atmosphere. Best salsa, chipotle sauce, .....ummmm! Yummy.
We came through here for lunch on the way to Moab 10/22/12 and it was so good we skipped breakfast in Moab on our way home so that we could eat here again 10/28/12.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BARLEYthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Co
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Authentic, rich flavors, in a great atmosphere!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We have been to many areas of Mexico, and travel there yearly. Every area, every restaurant has its own specialty, it's own way of cooking things, and it's own flare to add. As in Mexico, America has its good, bad, and great places to eat. On this trip we have found a little gem! Camping in our RV at the James M. Robb -Colorado State Park in Fruita, we wandered around one day, getting the "lay of the land" type of thing, and saw the this Mexican Food restaurant that we read about here on the "advisor". We were staying for one week, and that's how much food I brought.. Plus one day more "just in case"! I'm a gourmet cook, so the food is always loved by my family, but "real" Mexican food is hard to pass up. We decided to take a chance, and I must say... we went back two more times! It's different in many ways than what most Americans are used to, but it's really good. The only thing we didn't like so much was the whipped cream, chocolate, and cherry syrup on the flan, and the sopapias were squares dusted heavily with cinnamon and sugar, served with more whipped cream (honey was brought to the table). We won't eat desert next time we are here, but we certainly will eat at this place again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravelfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Fiesta fare”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

From the outside, blinking beer signs don't really attract my attention, however, we were hungry and enjoy Mexican food so ventured in. The senses begin to vibrate as you enter by the colorful decor and mariachi music. Olé!
The quick appetizers were home fried chips, salsa and a lovely cabbage salsa from the Guadalajara region. Huge selection of tequilas and Mexican fare. Everything was good, my favourite being the mole enchiladas and chiles rellenos.
My husband rated this place as the best Mexican restaurant he's been to in North America. I loved it too but my one disappointment was that the corn tortillas were not fresh - they lacked that authentic smell of fresh masa so often found in Mexico.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria-Enrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing