We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Delightful Dinner--Great Service”

Duke of York Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 92 Restaurants in Yorktown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located inside the Duke of York Hotel on Yorktown Beach, we are Yorktown's longest running restaurant, serving our guests since 1976. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Delightful Dinner--Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Had a wonderful dinner of Mussels, Asian Chicken Sandwich, Rib Eye Steak and Drinks...Outstanding and delicious. The server Erin was prompt, courteous, unobtrusive and a nice gal. The Chef, L.J. came out and asked if our meal was to our satisfaction and of course it was. A wonderful dining experience. We will be back and we recommend this restaurant to everyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RKMSDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    55
    19
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, VA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“yummy breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

big dishes. hubby & I split veggie omelette and boys split french toast. plenty of food! made with love.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AmesnBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“60th Birthday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Restaurant is on bottom floor of hotel. Not fancy but comfortable. Hostess very pleasant and upbeat. Our waitress very attentive taking our orders.Did not have to wait long for our meals.My flounder was delicious! My guest had the chopped sirloin, very dry, had to ask for A1:( Was surprised with dessert, Baked Alaska and a candle! Whole restaurant sang to me after the waitresses started singing.Was large enough for all 4 of us to share with our coffee. Very enjoyable way to spend my birthday. Please note: early dinner starts at 4:30, we got there around 5, so not crowded. By the time we left there was a waiting line.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Okay, let's get the negative out of the way first:

My biggest problem with the Island Cafe is that EVERYTHING on the menu is looks amazing, and I am indecisive. Guess I'm just going to have to keep coming back to try it all.

In all seriousness, this really is a fantastic place. The food is always delicious, and I love how everything has its own little twist - lots of fresh, fun ways to serve classic foods. The service is wonderful. You won't find friendlier people anywhere. I love it, and will definitely stop in more often!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stormygirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Great customer service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Duke of York during the Memorial Day weekend and decided to give the restaurant a try for breakfast. Best decision thus far! Food was great and the service was outstanding. Fast and great tasting. Will def return.

Helpful?
1 Thank 4TBBUCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of York Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Duke of York Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing