We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our heritage and biscuits and gravy”

Duke of York Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 92 Restaurants in Yorktown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located inside the Duke of York Hotel on Yorktown Beach, we are Yorktown's longest running restaurant, serving our guests since 1976. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“our heritage and biscuits and gravy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

in the midst of the birth of America's freedom, the Island Cafe is truly a local tradition... overlooking the York River, our family's favorite is biscuits and gravy on Sunday morning after church... the staff is excellent, the food is southern, and the walk along the beach or up the hill to the historic district is relaxing after enjoying your meal... we make sure all of our guests experience Yorktown...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorktown1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    55
    19
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great crabcakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have been coming here for years for the crabcakes and have sent numerous other people to try them. Everyone has agreed that the crabcakes are the best - solid crabmeat with no filler (important for people who cannot have gluten). There has been a change, however, in the French fries. In the past, they were cut in uniform sized pieces and were golden on the outside and cooked to perfection. Lately, they have been randomly sized, brown to burned on the outside and soggy inside - they seem like frozen fries. Please, please go back to the old way of preparing them; then my whole meal can again be perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seafoodfan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Food and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

My Husband and I have always enjoyed the fresh Seafood at Duke of York. Great service . Their desserts are homemade. Excellent views of the York River.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Turkey and Swiss on a Home Made Roll...Yum!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

...and my husband had a hamburger on a "Home Made Sesame Seed Bun"...double Yum! OK...maybe these aren't your typical breakfast foods but we had both for breakfast this week at the "Island Café" and they were delicious! You can't beat the Island Cafes' hand-patted grilled burgers--high quality meat cooked to perfection--the freshest home made bun topped it off perfectly. The Turkey and Swiss was exceptional. Great atmosphere, friendly staff, nice prices...we'd eat here every morning!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RKMSDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dear Lord deliver us from mediocrity”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Beautiful seafood that was over cooked and smothered in greasy butter. Sad salad with mostly iceberg lettuce with bland dressing. Service was fine, but food was not. Great way to burn up a bunch of money. I will never go here again. Don't waste your time or money here. Either slum it at the Yorktown Pub or get overcharged at River's Bend Over, but F this place. WAY over-priced!

I am super irritated that I spent precious moments of my life at this crappy joint. Too bad the last hurricane didn't demolish it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thejiggse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerDuke, Owner at Duke of York Restaurant, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that we did not make your dining experience a good one. I think you can see from our long list of good reviews that this is not the norm. We are however, not perfect and obviously were not when you visited. We are doing everything we can to make sure our failures are as rare as we can make them. I do wish that you had brought these issues to my (or my managers) attention while you were here. We do everything we can to make our guests happy and I never charge anyone for a meal they did not enjoy. I would hope that you might give us (and for that matter The Pub and Riverwalk Landing, who seem to have displeased you also) another chance. I am here all day every day to take care of our guests. Again, thank you for helping keep us on our toes. Cole Crockett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke of York Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Duke of York Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing