We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bill is Amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yorktown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
York River Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Yorktown B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 12, 2008

My husband and I loved our stay at the York River Inn. The room was comfortable and interesting (we stayed in the Presidents' room) but it was Bill who made it great.

Both mornings, Bill sat with us during breakfast and shared his knowledge of Yorktown and Virginia history. We spent an hour just watching the bridge opening and closing, and hearing about the history of the area. If you have any questions about VA history, forget the guides at various local sites - just ask Bill!

We've stayed at a lot of bed and breakfasts, and this was the first that had a stocked fridge available to guests at all hours. The "snacks" were amazing... the best peanut cluster cookies I've ever had (Bill owns a peanut farm, incidentally.) Breakfast is beyond compare. Not only was everything delicious, it was totally unique. I've never had broccoli for breakfast before, but I can't wait to do it again!

If you are anywhere near Yorktown, I highly recommend the York River Inn. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicolasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for York River Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 140 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2007

My friend and I had the only room of three booked the night we stayed. We woke up to the smell of a delicious breakfast and came downstairs to a table for two set adjacent to a big brick fireplace, the wood fire roaring just for us. The food was exceptional but hope you're not on a diet! The host Bill took a break and pulled up a chair. We chatted for hours. It was a delightful and entertaining experience. Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank archy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

We stayed for one night in the Washington Suite. Very good accommodations. The room was well appointed with much Washington memorabilia. I spent half the night browsing the nice book collection both in the room and downstairs. We had a nice view of the river. Bill was very knowledgeable about the area and we enjoyed our walk around this nice quiet town.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonydinardo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

The accomodations were lovely, the view beautiful and the innkeeper unique. Bill Coles truely wants each of his guests to enjoy their stay and it shows. He makes a point to greet each guest upon arrival , makes sure all guests have met each other and provides a genuinely hospitable experience from start to finish. The aroma of baked cookies greets you as you come in the door and from there your eye is drawn towards the picture window at the back of the house that frames the shimmering York River. The walls of every room are covered with old Virginia documents and prints. There are wonderful antique furniture pieces and accessories as well. And Bill is a one man show. He cooks, cleans, gardens and will even chauffer his guests to the waterfront at night. It was hard to leave and we look forward to our next trip to the area and to the Yorktown Inn. Jane and Richard Marvin, Winston-Salem, N.C.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrmwvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

Too much praise can conceivably sound false or hollow but to do less in this case would be a disservice to the York River Inn. It is, in a word, perfect. The location is unsurpassed, in the heart of historic Yorktown, with magical views of the York River, spectacular by day and perhaps more so at night!. But that is just the tip of the iceburg! The Inn is a Museum, and Bill its expert curator (as well as host, tour guide, gourmet chef, etc). You can spend a day just touring the Inn itself! Our room was as comfortable as it was interesting and stocked with every amenity known to man including but not limited to fresh flowers, fancy chocolates, notecards, numerous magazines and books, a TV, any essential toiletry item, and the most luxurious of towels and linens. Downstairs there are drinks, cookies, and snacks available 24/7. Help yourself. And Breakfast!?! Only a capital "B" can be used to describe Bill's Breakfasts! Other adjectives that come to mind are gourmet, Southern, generous, and deliciously filling. Hint: You can skip lunch...you won't need it! Be sure and read the wonderful notebooks Bill has assembled and placed in each room; there is not only a wealth of important history and tourism tips in each one but also a series of fascinating articles about your Innkeeper and his centuries old ties and contributions to the Tidewater Region and to the state of Virginia. Bill, you rock! :-) Thanks for a perfect stay!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank slong116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

We found this Bed and Breakfast on the Yorktown website. We stayed over the July 4th holiday and were able to walk to all events taking place in Yorktown to commerate Independance Day. Bill, our host, was hospitable and extemely knowledgeable about Yorktown and Tidewater. The breakfasts were gourmet and delicious! We felt very comfortable coming and going as we pleased. There is a very pleasent view in the common area and we especially enjoyed the birds at the feeders. We do hope to return for another visit. There is more to see in Yorktown than we could accomplish during this visit. We also found the Yorktown website and the visitor brochure (provided at the B & B) extremely helpful. Fireworks in Yorktown are spectacular!

Terry and Bobby

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vabeachersVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast. The rooms are all beautiful ( we peeked) Our room was the Presidential suite overlooking the York river. The house's location is an easy walk down to the beach, the battlefield and to town. The breakfast was a special treat, excellent food and great conversation. Owner Has an excellent knowledge of the area and history of Virginia in general. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank muffin_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorktown
9.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newport News-Yorktown
8.7 mi away
Courtyard Newport News Yorktown
10.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
603 reviews
9.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newport News
10.7 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York River Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York River Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 209 Ambler St, Yorktown, VA 23690-3702
Location: United States > Virginia > Yorktown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Yorktown
Price Range: $110 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York River Inn Bed & Breakfast is situated on a high bluff overlooking the York River in a colonial-style building. It is the only waterfront bed and breakfast in the Yorktown and Colonial Williamsburg area. The York River Inn Bed & Breakfast is the ideal location for a relaxing visit in historic Yorktown, Virginia. The York River Inn B & B is also a delightful place to enjoy the historic areas of Yorktown and Williamsburg. Gracious settings, generous amenities, and knowledgeable host create a memorable experience rather than just a night away from home. All three guestrooms are filled with standard amenities enhanced by many charming and useful additions--the innkeeper's extensive travel and hospitality career have contributed to his skill at providing the finest accommodations possible. The common area includes a sofa and comfortable chairs, where you can browse through piles of current magazines. The refrigerator is fully stocked for guests. The innkeeper has a vast selection of Virginia books, maps and extensive materials on travel from all over the US and the world. You are welcome to enjoy the shared deck with deck chairs, as well as the cookies and treats always set out on the dining room table. A gourmet breakfast served in the elegant antiques-filled dining area overlooking the river is a highlight of the experience provided at the York River Inn. The Inn is only a short distance from the colonial area and other attractions of Yorktown and is only 15 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg by the way of the scenic Colonial Parkway. The local area is filled with historic, cultural, and entertainment activities without the stress of a busy crowded town. In Yorktown itself are two major historical attractions celebrating the winning of American independence October 19,1781 when George Washington accepted the surrender of the British under Lord Cornwallis, an event commemorated by the 1881 victory monument just down river from the York River Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
York River Inn b&b
York River Hotel Yorktown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing