We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made our trip complete.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Yorktown B&B and Inns
madison
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Made our trip complete.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Perfect location for visiting Yorktown. The owner is a descendent of early Yorktown settlers and was a great source of information making our trip even more special. The inn offers so many options for breakfast to make your schedule work. The upstairs king room was very comfortable. We could have enjoyed staying longer, but had plans elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank l c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
29
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We originally chose this B&B to stay in during our trip to Williamsburg/Yorktown/Jamestown because they were the only family friendly B&B in the area (none of the others allowed children). This was a perfect location for exploring the area, outside of the hustle and bustle of Williamsburg, but close enough that we could go to all three places in one day. Tom and Poppet were excellent hosts, and everything was very nice and very clean - the Thomas Nelson Jr. suite we stayed in had a living room and kitchen area in addition to the bedroom which is great for a family trip. Breakfast was excellent, and unlike any other B&B I have seen they offer 3 price levels (room only, room and continental breakfast, or room and full breakfast) which was nice as we were able to get the breakfast one day and bring our own groceries the other two. They have a huge yard and a cute little butterfly garden also! Excellent value for the price, and well worth the short drive to stay here instead of Williamsburg. Very cute town too, we did a tour of the battlefield, and went running through the town/along the beach. Would definitely go back next time we are in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stacie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Don't miss this B & B if you want the extra convenience of a kitchenette---one room even has a full kitchen! The gardens on the grounds are magnificent, with areas to sit and relax while you enjoy the beauty of the property. Yorktown is a great place to visit, and very close to Williamsburg, which is more expensive and much more congested. Tom is a very kind innkeeper and he genuinely cares about the well-being of his guests. Yorktown has a lovely shopping district on the river, a rich history, lovely homes and gardens, and a beach. We truly enjoyed our visit and highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stillanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed here Memorial Day weekend with my boyfriend and his family. We stayed in the top floor Lucy's Hideaway room, which connected to the Thomas Nelson Suite that we shared with his sister and brother-in-law. This arrangement made for a lovely mix of meal sharing and privacy. Lucy's Hideaway is exactly what it sounds like: cozy and quaint. Downstairs are lovely nooks and crannies to relax in: gardens expertly cultivated by co-owner Poppet, and a huge backyard with seating and a hammock. My boyfriend's second sister stayed in the downstairs suite that opens out to the yard, whih made for relaxing evening family gatherings watching fireflies over a glass of wine. Co-owner Tom is perfectly suited to his role as host. He is friendly, knowledgable, and has a long family history with Yorktown: he is related to THE Thomas Nelson often referred to throughout the town's helpful historical plaques. Yorktown itself is a perfect blend of colonial and civil war preservation and beach getaway. Marl Inn is close to everything and I took many a relaxing or invigorating walk depending on the location. All in all, Marl Inn largely contributed to a really wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EmilyTravels81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Marl Inn and loved it! Tom and Poppet were great hosts. The rooms were nice and clean. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms and it was a nice and quiet room. The landscaping was very nice, as was the breakfast. We actually made a couple of new friends that weekend. Everyone ate around the dining room table together, which was a new experience for us at a bed and breakfast. They have a large suite downstairs that we are considering staying in next time. It's only about 15-20 minutes from Williamsburg, VA and extremely close the riverside at Yorktown. I highly recommend staying at The Marl Inn.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We have recently returned from 4 weeks travelling in Virginia, North and South Carolina where we stayed in 8 B&B's and 2 hotels.
We came across the Marl Inn by accident. We were due to stay just south of Yorktown and visit all three of the 'Colonial towns'. Unfortunately there was no one to greet us on arrival and we had to find other accommodation. Marl Inn was full but Tom and Poppet were unbelievably helpful to us and we ended up staying there for 6 nights. The Inn is lovely, the rooms are super and the garden is a very peaceful place in which to relax and unwind.
They are an incredible couple, so friendly and generous with their time and hospitality.
This is the only Inn that we stayed in where the guest has the option of a breakfast with them or getting their own in their suite which has kitchen facilities.
Its great to stay in Yorktown itself. We just left the car at the Inn and walked everywhere. Its minutes to several good restaurants and all the historic area. There is a great beach and some good shops. The Saturday market was great and one evening a week there is music and dancing on the village green.
Its a beautiful drive to Williamsburg and Jamestown via the Colonial Parkway.
We had a great time and will definitely go there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RJT06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

Thomas and Poppet Nelson are wonderful hosts that understand what a business person needs on a getaway. They are warm and seem to intuitively sense what you need: a pickup and ride to/from the airport at a ridiculous early hour, fresh-baked bread, an easy-going stay with tons of privacy, a great separate unit with your own kitchen, bath, living room and giant bedroom overlooking a field with deer crossing and the water in view. I had an amazing time and it made me want to live in Yorktown, VA. I love my NYC lifestyle, so that's saying something. The location also has a lot of history, and this is one place in this historic town where you won't necessarily need a car. It's all withiin walking distance if you love to wander and take in nature. Thomas has great stories too. Definitely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DreamSMITH_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorktown
8.4 mi away
Courtyard Newport News Yorktown
15.7 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
10.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newport News-Yorktown
8.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newport News
10.6 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 220 Church Street, Yorktown, VA 23690-4008
Location: United States > Virginia > Yorktown
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Yorktown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marl Inn is a private home Bed and Breakfast. It is situated on a half acre lot, adjacent to the town's original 1691 surveyed lots. Yorktown is a National Landmark where American and French forces won the last battle of the American Revolution. Marl Inn is a half block from the restored Main Street village of Yorktown and two (2) blocks from Yorktown's Riverwalk Landing along the York River. The inn is 2 miles from the Coast Guard Training Center. We are within walking distance of fine restaurants, antique shops, museums and the beach. Bring your bicycles to tour the village, battlegrounds and museums. Take a short walk to the Colonial National Historical Park Visitor Center, at the location of the last major battle of the American Revolutionary War. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing