We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made a reservation based on other reviews. Somewhat disappointed.”
Review of Crown Inn

Crown Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Yorktown
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a very old, non chain property. It is getting very tired and in need of some renovation and repairs. It is a health code violation for the paint on a toilet seat to be pealing off. That is the case with the room I had. The cable for the TV was coming out of a hole in the wall, not a receptacle. Having said that, the room was clean, TV old, but works. Not the best picture quality; kind of snowy.
Bottom line, would I stay here again? Don't think so.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place has NEVER let me down. Affordable, clean, and the most comfortable bed imaginable. Ive stayed here MANY times and have not yet been disappointed. The comfort foam beds are to die for! Just dont faceplant in them...its like doing a bellyflop ;) Definitely worth a stay. Close to many places to eat, and near the interstate. LOVE IT

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The place is worth staying. The rooms are so clean and fresh. The matresses is so comfartable, The location of the hotel is perfect. The hotel staff is so friendly and helpful. It is worth more than what i Paid.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here just one night. The room was very clean and had amenities, like a tv and microwave. Would definitely stay here again. You do need to bring your own shampoo though as none is provided in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tmetme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for one night based entirely on the two reviews on TripAdvisor. The hotel was fairly average from the outside - just another one-floor hotel along a minor highway.

Making reservations was silly, given the time of year I was traveling, and the man on the phone couldn't have been less pleasant. He must have been the same person who checked me in because he was, sincerely, the least friendly person I've ever seen. NO smiles, no 'hello,' nothing friendly about him. Fill out the forms, get a key, go to room.

The room was WONDERFUL! For $39.98, I got a spacious room with a queen-sized bed, cable TV w/HBO, a working microwave and relatively large refrigerator, and a bathroom with great water pressure. The neighborhood is quiet and you control your own heat/air.

Best of all: IT IS CLEAN. Yes, there was an old crack in the sink that didn't affect perfomance - not sizeable, but noticeable - and a stain on a lampshade. But even *behind* the nightstand was clean (I pulled it out to plug in my noisemaker). And the bed and bath were both immaculate and comfortable.

I would not only stay here again - and I might - but I can wholeheartedly recommend it to fellow travelers. The owner may have no personality, but who cares? You only have to see him for one minute. The rooms are wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keerstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2008

The Motel is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before.

Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
4  Thank roshan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oxford, UK
113
Reviewed July 7, 2005

We came across the Crown Inn by chance during our tour of Civil War sites. The motel is about 4 miles from the Yorktown Battlefield. We took a fancy to the big green lawn in front, which reminded us of England, and we checked in for one night on account of the reasonable rates. In the end we liked it so much that we stayed 3 extra nights while we visited Williamsburg and some other historical locations. We had a regular room, not one of the efficiency apartments, but it still had a microwave oven and refrigerator as well as a coffee machine, so we could do the basics as far as eating. The staff was very friendly and we got everything we needed. We've recommended the place to our friends and we will certainly stay there again the next time we're in the Yorktown area.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorktown
4.6 mi away
Mulberry Inn and Plaza at Fort Eustis
3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Newport News - Yorktown
5.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newport News-Yorktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newport News
5 mi away
Courtyard Newport News Yorktown
4.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Newport News Yorktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn

Address: 7833 George Washington Mem Hwy, Yorktown, VA 23692-4855
Location: United States > Virginia > Yorktown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Yorktown
Price Range: $64 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing