We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but could have been better”

Yorktown Sailing Charters
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice, but could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Went on the sunset cruise ($35 per person); it was supposed to be a 2 hour cruise, but we were only out for an hour and 15 minutes. Don't know why the time was cut short; the weather was fine. Older man, owner of the ship, sailed the ship, while a young high-school girl and a 20/30ish age male served as crew. The crew hoisted the sails with volunteers from the passengers. Points of interest were pointed out along with the way by the young female crew member. Overpriced beer/wine/sodas/snacks were sold on board. Limited places to sit on the ship. The crew members did not present a good image for a sunset cruise, on which most of the passengers were neatly dressed and freshly showered. The two crew members had on filthy t-shirts, and looked very unkept. A clean shirt, a comb, and a washcloth to freshen up would have done them wonders. I realize they are hosting 3 cruises a day; but they are also responsible for projecting an image that represents the business. There was also no music on board the ship. It would have been nice to listen to some Jimmy Buffett or island music while cruising at sunset. For $35 per person, it could have been a lot better!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Valorie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    47
    17
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A great way to spend a few hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Out of all the things to do in Yorktown, I would have to rate a cruise on the Alliance as my favorite! We boarded the ship from the dock in the center of the River Walk, although it should be noted that credit cards are not accepted, so bring cash. After boarding the ship we received a thorough airplane style safety briefing on the ship and then we set sail. Turning towards the George P Coleman bridge, we got an opportunity to hoist the sails (a lot of fun but more work than you might think!). The ships crew, including first mate "JM" (John Michael) and second mate Julianna took the time to explain everything from why a schooner is a schooner to what each sail was for and how to raise them. During the cruise they explained more about the ship, the York river, and information on the local area. It was very relaxing and enjoyable sailing the river under sail power only. We were able to observe the US Coast Guard conducting training drills both at the dock and on the river in the area. Once under way, the crew opened the galley, where water, ice cream, beer and other refreshments were available. Don't forget the camera on this trip as the are a lot of great photo opportunities. The only sad part of the entire trip was that the two hours went by way too fast. The rest of Yorktown is pretty average, but the Alliance is a cut above.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allegany, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Smooth sailing, great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This as a great experience. We took a morning cruise and were able to see 2 Navy ships pass under the bridge, with the bridge opening horizontally. We were told this is the only bridge in the country that opens like that. The three member crew were very friendly and knowledgable. The ride was smooth. The price was reasonable. Will definately do it again if in the area. A must do if in the Yorktown area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank armydadof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Werners Sailing Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

In June,18 members of the Werner Reunion visited Historic Yorktown,VA.
Some went on a tour of Yorktown aboard Segways which was a new experience for all.
Yorktown has a great website with details on everything.
We had made reservations for the 3pm. sail for the 18 of us on the Alliance.
They list 3 sailing times but you should check ahead.
It was a 2 hour sail on the Alliance,a 3 masted sailing vessel,down the York river and back.
The 2 young crew members were very knowledgeable and efficient.
We returned to Historic Powhatan via the Colonial Parkway which is a beautiful drive.
.

,

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank wweenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Schooner Alliance Disappointing-not worth the time or money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We booked an evening cruse on the James River. The captain cut it short by about an hour. Not sure why the weather seemed okay. The captain is a little weird-he went on and on about not wanting a party boat-belive me you could not party here if you tried. They do sell some snacks and some cans of beer/ wine I believe. It was actually kind of boring. The captain has some young kids who live on the boat and serve as crew also. They told us they live aboard with no air, no TV etc... They seemed odd also. They hung out after we docked for tips-probably the only money they see. They told you a little about the history but if you have been anywhere in the area visiting you already know the most basic stuff they told us. I would not recommend this attraction. The captains wife captains the other boat they own called the Serenity which is also in the area. This was just not a fun, interesting or exciting trip and the crew is just too weird.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank YosemiteTraveler603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yorktown Sailing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Yorktown Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing