We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect bed and breakfast.”
Review of Hornsby House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yorktown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hornsby House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Yorktown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The Hornsby House Inn is located right off the battlefield and at the entrance to historic Yorktown. You can walk to the river front and to everywhere you'd like to go in Yorktown. It is very near Williamsburg (about a ten minute's drive) and also near Jamestown (about ten more minutes). David and Phillip, two brothers who own and operate the Hornsby House, are as nice as they can be and very helpful, making dinner reservations and giving wonderful advice. The house itself is beautiful, immaculate, and comfortable. I can't remember ever having a more pleasant time at a bed and breakfast or ever having stayed in a more lovely one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 179 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

This place is magical! My husband and I have stayed here multiple times and plan on returning every anniversary. The staff is simply wonderful and strives to make sure that all of the guests are satisfied with their stay. The accommodations are luxurious. The complimentary wine and cheese hour is often the highlight of our stay there. The breakfast is always fantastic. I'm not sure what else they could improve to make this place a more wonderful B&B. If you are looking for accommodations in the Yorktown-Williamsburg-Jamestown area, Hornsby House should be your first stop!

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Hornsby Suite, Grand Monument Suite, and the Magnolia Room. They are all exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

What a fabulous place to stay! The location could not be more spectacular. The rooms are beautiful, the views are wonderful, and there were so many interesting decorations that it would take several days just explore it all.

While I was there for business, my family enjoyed so many extras such as walking "Bow Tie" (the dog), driving the golf cart, and hearing vignettes of history - to name just a few. We arrived to HHI at 1:30 am. And there was David waiting up for us and helping us in every possible way to settle in. Every time I tried to apologize for our arrival in the "wee hours," he wouldn't even let me finish the sentence.

This is the best B & B our family has ever stayed in - no question.

Room Tip: The monument grand suite is second to none!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

I got married at Yorktown beach and chose the Inn to stay at pre-wedding and wedding night. It is in a wonderful location and has gorgeous views of the York River. The house is beautiful and relaxing. Their were other guest staying but we only saw them during breakfast and the 5 o'clock wine and cheese. Truly felt like we were at home. David and Philip were excellent host! We got to enjoy wonderful breakfast prepared by Philip. I would definitely stay here again. A++

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seayturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

What a lovely time we had on a recent stay at Hornsby House Inn. The accomodations were wonderful. We slept very well and the breakfast was delicious and plentifully. Their breakfast powered the day well into the afternoon. We especially enjoyed meeting the two brothers who are the owners of the Inn. They offer a wine and cheese plate in the late afternoon where we were able to meet other guests and discuss area travel options. The owners grew up in the home and are very friendly. They graciously shared their wealth of information of the area with us. The Inn is filled with beautiful antiques and is a very welcoming place. It is centrally located providing easy access to all of the historical sites of the area. We highly recommend the Inn and look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the York River provide a beautiful view of the monument.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our family stayed at the Hornsby House Inn for 2 nights for the wedding of our nephew in Yorktown. We had 3 bedrooms.The inn is beautiful, the beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms are modern, The house has been restored and is well appointed with lovely furniture and many antiques. Breakfast each morning was delicious and prepared using family recipes. In the evening we relaxed on the porch while enjoying the wine and cheese reception. The owners
( brothers) David and Phillip were very nice and shared interesting information about the home, their family and local history. I wish we could have stayed longer. It was a delightful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn28560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Second time I have stayed at the Inn and it is wonderful. Gorgeous building filled with beautiful antiques, showcasing the history of the region. David, Phil and Megan are extremely helpful and make you feel like family. Plus, afternoon wine and cheese by the fireplace! What could be better!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kewe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yorktown hotels
8.3 mi away
Courtyard Newport News Yorktown
8.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newport News-Yorktown
8.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newport News
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marl Inn Bed and Breakfast
6.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Newport News - Yorktown
8.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Newport News Yorktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hornsby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hornsby House Inn

Address: 702 Main St, Yorktown, VA 23690-4044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Yorktown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Yorktown
Price Range: $139 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you visit Yorktown, colonial Williamsburg, and the surrounding areas, rest your head at The Hornsby House Inn. The Hornsby House Inn has been the center of hospitality in Yorktown for three generations. Newly renovated, The Hornsby House offers five guestrooms and suites. Filled with family antiques, the inn is spacious, comfortable, and inviting. Each room offers its own thermostat to ensure your comfort. There's so much to do, see, and enjoy in the Yorktown area. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit. Welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing