We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hornsby House Inn
Nearby Hotels
$109
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites Newport News(Yorktown)(Great Value!)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Inn(Yorktown)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Eustis Inn(Newport News)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Mulberry Inn and Plaza at Fort Eustis(Newport News)(Great Value!)
$71
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
174
7
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
174
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesevictory monumentother guestsfamily historyb beggs benedictyork riverhistoric yorktownrevolutionary warbreakfast was deliciouscrackersmain streethomemade granolahis brotherlovely homeeach morningsouthern hospitality
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 182 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife found this place online, loved the way it was decorated and had to stay here on our trip to Williamsburg. It was a great place to stay, the host were wonderful and the rooms were great. Great view right on the river and within walking distance of riverfront area. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chester D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife went away for a weekend to Yorktown to do a bit of history and see the area. We stayed at the Hornsby House ans a great weekend in a beautiful bed and Breakfast. The house is stately and beautiful. The hosts are gracious and charming. Be sure to make a reservation and then go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask about the view of the bay
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Hornsby House is the ultimate lodging experience in Historic Yorktown. The Innkeepers made guests feel welcome in their lovely family home. Based on our ten years of B&B experience, the Inn exceeded our expectations and is even more charming than described on the website. The inn provides spectacular views of the York River and is a short walk to the Yorktown Battlefield, the Historic Riverwalk. It's also an easy drive to Williamburg and Jamestown. We enjoyed swapping family stories during happy hour and were treated to an delightful breakfast prepared from old southern family recipes. The accommodations were clean and spacious.

Room Tip: Some rooms offer balconies and all can enjoy lounging on the screened in porch or curled up on the couch in front of one of their many fireplaces.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcollins421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a trip that ended with a two-night stay at Hornsby House Inn. We had a terrific time. The house itself is beautiful, with a large screened in porch, a pleasant sunroom, and lots of public areas to sit and relax. We stayed in the Riverview Room and it was very nice, with plenty of space and a comfortable bed.

David and Phil Bowditch are excellent hosts, warm and welcoming. They are very ably assisted by Meghan, a charming young woman who really added to our experience. We came back from dinner on Saturday and found her in the kitchen baking brownies with three of the other guests - what a wonderful smell to come home to!

The house has been in the family since it was built in the 1930s, and one of the really special things was to see all of the family memorabilia - don't miss the WWII photos in the office.

We're already talking about a return trip...there is plenty to do in the area, and it would be worth the 7 hour drive just to experience this wonderful hospitality again.

Room Tip: The Riverview Room is on a corner and features large windows and a pleasant sitting area.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrFriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I were afforded a private tour by a Bowditch family member of this gorgeous inn and all I can say is WOW...I want to go back and shoot the interiors. The location is spectacular, overlooking the York River and Yorktown Monument (one of the bedrooms actually has a miniature of the monument on the window sill), and the grounds gorgeous. Simply exquisite architecture, landscaping and interior decorations - especially the side "porch" or sunroom to the left (facing the house) with its wonderful floor-to-wall bricked fireplace. I have to tell you that the wonderful pictures simply don't do this Inn justice. You have to get inside to "feel and absorb" the family history through all of its rooms, pictures, mementos, china, etc. Check it out and know that it looks much better in person: http://www.hornsbyhouseinn.com/

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews