We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun with a History Lesson”

Patriot Tours & Provisions
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Offering guided Segway tours of historic Yorktown daily and off-road Segway tours in Williamsburg! Bike, kayak, and paddle board rentals are available and we offer a great selection of kites, flags, and fun beach toys! Stop in and sign up or book online.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Fun with a History Lesson”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I have always wanted to do a Segway tour and in Yorktown we had that opportunity. Our guide took time to make sure that we were comfortable with the segway before starting out. I had always heard that the Segway was very easy to use, and that is the case. There is an initial tendency to want to push and pull with your arms but you quickly learn that a slight shift in your center or gravity is all that it takes to move along.
The tour was very enjoyable, and our guide took time to go over the history of the area and how it pertained to the Revolutionary War. It was a 90 minutes well spent and if you are in the area I would encourage you to take advantage of this unique way to experience the history of the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MCFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    13
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Segway tour was wonderful, don't miss it”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The 90 min segway tour is a can't miss if your in Yorktown. Zoey (sp?) and Adam are wonderful guides and keep a careful eye on the group while not being intrusive. The segways themselves are VERY easy to control. The only way to describe the experience is a blast! After the tour, you want to run out and buy one. We has 6 people in out group and the cost was not exorbitant for the experience either (the more in your group, the cheaper it is. Up to 6 or 8 I believe.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KevenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great friendly people!”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Very helpful, very accomodating when we wanted to use the bikes outside of normal business hours.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheClamWhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia,SC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great way to see Yorktown!”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I love Segway tours and this one did not disappoint! We only had time for the Breeze tour - but it was such fun! Zoe, our guide, was delightful! If you've never ridden a Segway - you must try it!!! It's a great way to see a new place. The customer service was great - very friendly and accomodating. I highly recommend!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank cmiller387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for tourists. Not for history buffs.”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Lovely guide, Zoe, who was well informed and careful to be certain we understood the Segway and had the necessary skills before beginning the tour.
However, the owner has no concept of customer service. Needing a restroom, the owner went out if his way to describe that he ..." doesn't trust anyone, even people who look honest".... to use the restroom on site. Instead he sent us and all customers, who have paid a steep fee, down the way to a restaurant to use their bathroom.
Had we not wanted to ruin our afternoon plans, we would have asked for a refund
The tour was fun and easier than walking but us not very steeped in history. " The Carrot Reataurant has great carrot cake."

Helpful?
1 Thank clranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patriot Tours & Provisions also viewed

 

Been to Patriot Tours & Provisions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing