We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place but disappointed in hotel accommodations”
Review of Duke of York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duke of York Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Yorktown
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in a motel room “on the hill” section of this older facility. It had a magnificent view of the York River, from the motel room window as well as the grassy area in front of our room, which we enjoyed immensely. It was also very quiet and pleasant “on the hill” with a nice breeze, even in 100 degree temperature. Had we been in the newer section, which fronts on the River, we would have been looking at vehicular traffic as well as the beach goers. The hotel has a two star AAA rating, but I did expect a bit more than what we received for the rate we paid, even though this is prime time for a resort area. When we opened the door to our room, soiled carpet was the first thing I saw which made the entire room feel unclean. I do realize that it is a hotel room with a lot of different guests who do not treat it like they would treat their own home, but I feel it could be kept cleaner. The furnishings were very dated, but the mattresses were comfortable. This is the only hotel/motel in Yorktown, other than three B&B’s which had no vacancies for the time period that we wanted, so management can charge whatever they want to. So, if you want to stay in Yorktown, you have to tolerate the high room rate and the dated accommodations. There are a limited number of restaurants in Yorktown also, and I consider the food prices outrageous for the quality of food we received. We enjoyed the lovely Riverwalk area very, very much and the Saturday morning Farmer’s Market was awesome. Yorktown is a lovely place to visit and stay, with all its history, and we do plan to return, in spite of my comments about the accommodations. Next time, we will be better prepared for what to expect and be better prepared for meals.

Room Tip: Rooms "on the hill" are quieter with a lovely view of the York River and the swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jfoxs58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skurfa, Public Relations Manager at Duke of York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable remarks. We are glad that you immensely enjoyed our beautiful courtyard. It is very quiet and pleasant on the hill overlooking the York River!
We take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms. If we have failed at something and a guest brings it to our attention, we take care of it as soon as possible. We have had a busy summer and holiday week and are constantly keeping up with repairs. The carpets are cleaned regularly and replaced as needed.
Our location in Historic Yorktown, on the beach, is unparalleled. Since you do plan on returning to Yorktown, we do hope that you allow us the opportunity to accommodate you once again at the Duke of York Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 169 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

I had the distinct pleasure of a stay at this hidden gem hotel in Yorktown, VA which is directly overlooking the charming beach and the beautiful York River. The Duke of York Hotel is everything you want a room to be for a wonderful restfully nights sleep with super comfortable bed, many large pillows (difficult to find of late) super soft jumbo towels and the room was impeccably clean. Very friendly and helpful desk staff and a very convenient and reasonable restaurant on the property. All of this and in a lovely very historical town, right in the middle of everything. What more could one need? I will definitely go out of my way to stay here again. Dick.

Room Tip: Request room in main area with balcony overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CaptainDick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

You described the Duke of York to a T! We are proud of our desireable location as the only hotel in Historic Yorktown, friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms and locals favorite restaurant on site. Thank you so much for your review. It will be our pleasure to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Motel is located right beside the York River. I had a room in the Lower part of the motel, 3rd floor and my view was wonderful!! The motel is older but very clean. I arrived very late and the kind gentleman addressed me by my first name as I entered the lobby.....(I must have been the last person to check in for the night!) Breakfast in the cafe downstairs was AWESOME. Everything in Yorktown is within walking distance of the motel. Bring comfortable shoes though, the town is hilly.

Room Tip: For a guaranteed great view ask for the lower part of the motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mchuseby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skurfa, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

As the only hotel in historic Yorktown, there is a river view from every room! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to let us know. We hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again at Yorktown's hidden treasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, but is sorely in need of updates. Beyond that, we found out when we arrived that they had somehow mistakenly made pur resevation for October instead of April. We were able to clear things up and luckily they stIll had a room availble. Howevever when we checked out the next morning we found that they hadn't cancelled the reservation for October even though we clearly indicated the night before that the October reservatIon was their mistake. In addition there was no ironing board and iron in our room. We called downstairs to inquire and told us to come get one. The ironing board was a joke. It was the small table-top kind, and it sagged horribly in the middle. The cloth on the board looked 20 years old and was singed brown and black from years of use, and had several unwashed stains on it. We didn't dare put our clothes on the thing and decided that wrinkled garments weren't so bad afterall. I think that the Duke of York survives because it's the only hotel around. While the staff was friendly enough, the service was certainly not exceptional in any way, and the rooms and other areas of the facilities are ragged, worn, and in need of a makeover.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank birdseed_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skurfa, Guest Relations Manager at Duke of York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Feedback from our guests helps us improve. We have thrown away the table-top ironing board and have purchased full size ironing boards. We do apologize for your inconveniences and hope to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again when you return to Yorktown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed one night in early Feb., and hope to return again when the weather is a little nicer. The hotel had a great view of the river and bridge. We had a room right over the reception area, with it's own balcony. Yorktown was very quiet when we were there, but sightseeing on foot was enjoyable even in the light rain. I'm sure it is a very pretty place in the summer. We got the room at a very reasonable price by calling directly to the hotel. The room was older, but well kept up and clean. We had a small fridge and microwave, everything a person needs for a short stay. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was good, and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly, as were all the other locals we came in contact with during our short visit.

Room Tip: We were in the first building and had a great view from our own balcony of the river, little beach a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This is a quick trip from RIC. Duke of York has a great view of the York River, is a minute's walk to Yorktown Pub, plenty of places to walk to with a view of the river. Maybe not somewhere to go for more than a few days, but relaxing. The Duke of York rooms are BIG. Not modern, but definitely decent. Would stay there again. (And breakfast in their restaurant was good. Slow service, but pleasant wait staff.)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeds13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here the weekend of Oct. 21-23. We got married in Yorktown, at the Watermans Museum on that Saturday. The months preceding the big day, I worked closely with the manager, Ruth. She and I spoke frequently to make sure all of the guests were getting appropriate rooms ect. Upon arrival, she greeted us with a very warm welcome! Throughout the stay she ensured that every one of my guests were taken care of! Even on the final day, we didn't want to leave ( I think she had fun with us too ) we had such a fabulous time! From the location to the nice clean comfortable rooms, everything was perfect and cozy. Watching the sunrise and sunset was spectacular! The restaurant down stairs has amazing delicious breakfast, now it took a little while to get it, but they fix everything fresh! It was Sooo good! I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!! We will be back for sure!! Again, Ruth thank you so much for going above and beyond!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovetotravelRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yorktown
9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Newport News
7.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Newport News Airport
8.6 mi away
Courtyard Newport News Yorktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newport News-Yorktown
6.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Newport News - Yorktown
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Newport News-Yorktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of York Hotel

Address: 508 Water Street, The Only Hotel in the Historic Village of Yorktown, VA, Yorktown, VA 23690
Location: United States > Virginia > Yorktown
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Yorktown
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are family owned Hotel located in Yorktown, Virginia. We are the only hotel located in the historic village of Yorktown. All rooms have a beautiful view of the York River, from either private balconies or wide, open verandas. Large courtyard area with shade trees overlooking the river. All rooms have single cup coffee makers, refrigerators and microwaves. 20 Minutes from Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gradens, and 30 minutes to Jamestown. Locally famous restaurant on premises with many other dining choices within walking distance. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Duke of York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of York Hotel Yorktown
Duke York Yorktown
Duke York Hotel Yorktown
Duke Of York Yorktown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing