We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riding Our Bikes on the Colonial Park”

Colonial National Historical Park
Ranked #11 of 25 things to do in Yorktown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: An area of southeast Virginia where the following major historical sites/towns are linked by a 23-mile road: Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Riding Our Bikes on the Colonial Park”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This park and the paved bike path was a welcome tour for my husband and me - as we had planned to stay outdoors as much as we could. There were posters along the way, with information of historical facts. There were few people on the path and we felt like we had it all for ourselves.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roseana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    23
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Serene informative, drive”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Such a beautiful area to drive through. Historical markers were very helpful. The only thing I did not like is that motorists would often pass when there were "do not pass" signs.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank treble3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very INFORMATIVE”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We visited the Historical Triangle, it was very interesting, it was better than any History Class, you felt as if you were back in time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marcus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“AWESOME! Loved Yorktown!”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

WOW! What history! Yorktown makes me proud to be an American! The Victory Center was a great way to start our visit. The video was informative, the walking tour was educational, and the driving tour was enlightening. We stopped along the driving tour to see the Earth Works, the Augustine Moore home, and many other things. It was all fantastic! The Victory Monument was beautiful.

The reenactments of the army camp and farm were so educational. The "actors" were very well informed and kept the educational information fun for the kids. I'm so glad my children got to experience Yorktown history! We would definitely recommend the Historic Triangle of Yorktown, Jamestown, and Williamsburg to anyone, but especially families with older kids. I'm proud to be an American!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank tomwyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The World Turned Upside Down”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We visited both the Jamestown and the Yorktown venues of this historical park. At Jamestown our oldest granddaughter (11) loved the explanation of the archeological dig. The younger children ftlitted from one cannon to another. They all earned the Jamestown Jr. Ranger badge, which was quite an accomplishment. Some of the activities were pretty detailed, and required some adult help to locate answers to questions in the museum displays.

The orientation film at each site was excellent.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank grand9mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Colonial National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing