We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a few hours”

American Revolution Museum at Yorktown
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Yorktown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Museum where you can find all types of displays regarding the momentous events and activities during Revolutionary times.
Summerfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
410 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Nice for a few hours”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

After seeing Colonial Williamsburg and Jamestown our kids were ready to be done with sightseeing. The did enjoying the small farm/ settlement and being able to water the garden. They also liked the encampment area and seeing the cannon being fired. The museum is very nice and this is worth the trip if you are in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Abycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    226
    97
    38
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Try the bike trails!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Park your car and ride your bike in the designated areas. I don't recommend highly traveled weekends such as holiday weekends during the summer. Colonial Parkway has specially marked areas where you can ride your bike. All areas are mostly shaded and even during the hot months is worth a little extra sweat you will be glad you did!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cindyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent demonstrations.”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We all loved the demonstrations of the artillery, muskets and surgeon. The presenters were very knowledgeable and fun. The farming area was nice too. The free trolley takes you around the area without much of a wait. The museum was nice and had lots of displays. Parking is free.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CWO4Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Yorktown Victory Center contains indoor galleries and outdoor interpretive areas to complement the sights at the battlefield and in the town of Yorktown.

In the museum, you can walk through a series of exhibits whcih tell the history of the American Revolution. It was done well enough but didn't really add much as far as Yorktown is concerned.

The outdoor interpretive areas include a revolution-era farm and a Continental Army encampment. I was expecting these to be the highlight of the Yorktown Victory Center but was greatly disappointed. These were supposed to be "living museums" where the farms and encampment are brought to life. Instead it included maybe a half-dozen people who didn't really seem to take an interest in their responsibilities. Maybe we were expecting too much after having been in Colonial Williamsburg where it was a "living history" museum.

Overall, I was very disappointed in the Yorktown Victory Center and don't feel it was worth the price of admission.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TexRanger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yorktown”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lot of history here. I decided to go with the guide group. While he was very knowledgeable, he was also very long winded. I did okay, but my 10 year old checked out after about 10 minutes. He talked for about another 60 minutes. It might have been better if we could have walked around more, but we only stood in 2 different places while he recited the events of the battle: before, during and after. If you have young children, then just do the driving tour(s) and watch the cannon demonstration, which was a lot of fun.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Revolution Museum at Yorktown also viewed

 

Been to American Revolution Museum at Yorktown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing