We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage”

Chickasaw Cultural Center
Rantoul, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Heritage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

A relatively new and well developed cultural center for the Chickasaw people. Very informative with interactive displays. Worth the trip to learn about the indigenous people.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank trib_ona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    45
    8
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't bring pets”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Aside from the fact that there is a large outdoor area, this is not a pet-friendly center. We were traveling from Houston with a dog and wanted to take turns walking the dog outside the center while the other toured the inside - it was the price we would pay for traveling with our dog. We checked in at the front gate with a dog poking his head out the window, and were warmly welcomed in and directed to the events. But upon walking the dog around the outer perimeter, we were jumped on by some employee who said we needed to get the dog off the entire premises immediately and follow the posted signs. Signs? There is nothing on the website, and we hadn't seen any signs at the entry. We looped back around once more and found one tiny sign with a long list of rules in small print that said no pets ... *shrug*

What a waste of my time. Of course I did not expect to bring him shopping in the gift shop or to lunch with me, but I don't understand why a well-behaved dog cannot sit beside me outside the building on a leash... like he would outside any other establishment in town. But if that is the rule, then it should be posted on the website.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank k8enmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hephzibah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great educational place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The cultural center was a great place to relax and learn more of the Chickasaw nation and customs. I would reccomend this to anyone in the Sulfer area

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RGR64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
182 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Are you hungry for corn soup or Indian tacos? After touring the facility and learning about the Chickasaw tribe, you can eat at the cafe and try native foods. The genealogy library is a good place to research family history.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyable time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The center is extremely well maintianed and is a very nice facility. It is set up more like a campus with several builings not just everything inside one building. I would say it's more of an educational expericence rather than a novelty or fun hands-on type exhibit some museums are designed as. The cafe is the only downfall to the place. It is extrememly slow and while prices are good portions are small. The amount of time to get an order placed and receive your food is just too long. This has been a problem the 3 times we've went so this last time we just didn't purchase anything to eat. If you have no idea of the Chickasha people this will give you a history of their culture. It's beautifully designed inside and out and all the exhibits are carefully laid out and easy to access for able bodied as well as handicapped. The cost is also quite reasonable. Entrance to everything including the 94 minute movie was ONLY $10 FOR Seniors,military, or Native Americans.You get special pricing if you did both museum and movie. The movie theater is very nice. The seats are angled so there are no bad seats. The movies change so two different ones are offered. It is also very family and young age appropriate so no problem in taking little ones to see it. You really shouldn't leave without seeing the movie. If you have plenty of time then do plan to eat in the cafe, but if you don't have alot of time to kill then don't. The outside stockade traditional huts is okay but you don't get much out of that. I think sometimes there are special events going on but you'd have to call ahead to find out when, otherwise it's not much to see with them but the other artifacts inside the museum and other features make this a worthwhile visit to the center. It would be a fantastic field trip for students as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jellybean111692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chickasaw Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Chickasaw Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing