We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the Fish Tacos!”

Snapper Jack's Taco Shack
Ranked #72 of 427 Restaurants in Ventura
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I love the Fish Tacos!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Everytime I go to Snapper Jacks, I always end up ordering the fish tacos. They are so absolutely yummy. You can get the tortilla friend or steamed and I prefer steam. And the fish the same friend or grilled...that is prefrence they are both good. What I love is the salsa bar also with a variiety of different salsas and even a fresh fruit salsa. God try it you will love it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvelynSpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    30
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Crispy flour tacos are amazing”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

So this place is owned by the same family that owns Yolanda's. They even have "Yolanda's" salsa. The food is always fresh and yummy but my favorite item on the menu is the crunchy flour tacos with special sauce.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castaic, California
Level Contributor
247 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Outstanding Potato Tacos!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Tripadvisor reviews we read assured us of a good meal, but in reality it was truly great! My wife and I had the potato, shrimp, and battered fish tacos. All were wonderful especially with crunchy flour torillas and secret sauce. The servings are generous. The salsa bar is one of the best I've seen. The staff is friendly and the tables and floors are clean. We went on a weekend slightly after noon and finding a table was very easy. I can imagine that during a school day it could get crowded with all the Ventura College kids. We weren't expecting it to be in a strip mall, yet our parking was easy. We'll be back again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos around”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Above average traditional Mexican food but perhaps the best fish tacos I have ever had. Order them with crispy tortilla and grilled fish. Secret sauce and Yolanda's Mild salsa are also highly recommended from the salsa bar. Very reasonably priced ala carte so great for the whole family.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best salsa bar in town!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Excellent snapper burrito or fish tacos! The service is quick with very tasty salsa options. A great place near Ventura College to grab a bite and watch some surf on the Televisions...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank tracy805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snapper Jack's Taco Shack also viewed

 

Been to Snapper Jack's Taco Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing