We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish Taco vs Potato Taco”

Snapper Jack's Taco Shack
Ranked #73 of 425 Restaurants in Ventura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fish Taco vs Potato Taco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Good place for a fish taco and completely amazing place for a potato taco.

We eat here each time we visit Ventura. The Snapper Jack sauce is great. The battered fish tacos deserve Four Stars and will get them each time I visit. For something totally different, order the potato tacos. They are amazing and defintely deserve Five Stars. I'm addicted! They're like little fish tostadas and well worth the trip. It's located on the out skirts of Ventura but it has a nice beachy atmosphere.

The fish and potato tacos won't disappoint you and defintely won't hurt your wallet.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    28
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food. Great laid back atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

For tacos, burritos, and beach ambience, this is a great local place. It's all about surfboards and bicycles with surfing movies playing continuously. We love it.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rita2seahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
Level Contributor
299 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“I guess this falls under the fusion and beach mexican food category.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Snapper Jacks if you never been is a step up and better than Taco Bell but not really authentic mexican in design. They have kind of a different feel to them like some other places that have been popping up and are really pretty good. I didnt see carnitas on the menu, so I went with the grilled chicken burrito and my girlfriend had the fish tacos. They have a pretty extensive salsa bar and everyone gets homemade chips whether you eat in or take it to go. My girlfriend seems to think the one in camarillo is a little better overall (havent been to that one myself). Anyway really dug their habenero salsa but could stand to even be a bit hotter. Will return when Im in the area.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jedimasterkush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The potato tacos are yummy, but better...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

The potato tacos are yummy, but better with crunchy corn tortillas. The fish tacos are always great. Their salsa bar has something for everyone. Snappers is one of our favorite places. Also the beer on tap makes it all go down easy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelissaTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventura
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best fist tacos in town!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

I think Snapper jacks has the best fish tacos in the ventura area. Super cool old school surf boards and bikes as the decor. Aways a classic surf flick and off road movie playing. O ya. the collage is across the street. Great poeple watching place. exelent salsa bar and bottom less drinks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kamiakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snapper Jack's Taco Shack also viewed

 

Been to Snapper Jack's Taco Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing