We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch”
Review of Westside Cellar Cafe & Lounge - CLOSED

Westside Cellar Cafe & Lounge
Restaurant details
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a pleasant lunch experience at this bistro and nice chat with the executive chef / owner Michael Noyes. This is breakfast / lunch venue and is affordable and tasty. We each had the Tomato Bisque soup and the Tuna Melt and 3 cheese sandwiches. The prices were reasonable and the atmosphere is rustic and bright. The ingredients that Michael uses are fresh and organic.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
2 reviews
“Bachlorette Dinner”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

On April 23rd, 2011 my daughter hosted a wine pairing dinner for her future sister in law. The dinner was planned as a wine pairing dinner and the chef was just amazing in coming up with some outstanding courses to pair with wonderful wines for everyone!! Even though several of the guests were late(and a couple not even showing up) the service and atmosphere could not have been better!!! I am going to Westside for a birthday breakfast/lunch next Friday and cannot wait!!! You will not be disappointed in thie establishment!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5grandspac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Westside Cellar - Best Lamb Sandwich”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were first time visitors to the City of Ventura, so we parked for free at the parkade at the corner of Santa Clara and California, and made our way to the Visitors Information station. Armed with a walking map and a recommendation to consider Main Street for lunch options, we began the process of looking at menus and checking out restaurants.

We had headed left on Main, walked up until Mission Plaza with nothing really catching our eye, until we saw Westside Cellar Cafe. The menu displayed outside looked good, reasonably affordable, and the interior was welcoming.

And so it was that we had one of the best lamb sandwiches ever. Slow roasted, tender and savory lamb with caramelized onions, roasted red peppers, provolone cheese, with a brush of a herbed aioli. All this nestled between two thin toasted slices of sourdough bread, just enough bread to envelope the filling, which of course was the star attraction.

The sandwich was accompanied by perfectly cooked (and hot) pommes frites.

What an excellent lamb sandwich, and we have sampled many in our travels. The only gloomy spot in our entire lunch experience, was that we had decided to order and share only one sandwich, and share a salad as well. With food this good, you will want to have it all to yourself.

Kudos to the chef.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Keskeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“True gourmet breakfast in Ventura!!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I have been to Westside cellar severals times for dinner and I was pleasantly surprised to find out that they are now open for breakfast and lunch! Dinner there is always amazing (I personally am a huge fan of the duck) but I was curious to see how breakfast would play out. You will NOT be disappointed! Just like dinner, the plates are artistically presented and the flavors bursting with each bite! Although Westside offers the typical breakfast foods (I.e. pancakes, eggs Benedict, omelets, etc.), this is not a typical breakfast house! The quality of the food and service is just so much better than the average breakfast house and the prices are just as cheap! I would definitely recommend Westside Cellar whether it be for breakfast/lunch or dinner!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jlam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great Find!”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We found ourselves in Ventura around dinner time & had no idea where to go...then we saw Westside ~ thought let's give it a shot and voila...one awesome meal, amazing service, beautiful environment and perfect stemware for a great glass of vino!! Looking forward to going back soon :)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing