We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peking is under new management/on site owners....much improved” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peking Chinese Restaurant

Peking Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #170 of 423 Restaurants in Ventura
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peking is under new management/on site owners....much improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I dine at Peking once a week when I pass through Ventura. A new owner-operator named Margaret and her husband who have years of experience running Chinese restaurants in LA took over The Peking recently. They did a complete refurbish, including bathroom, booths and decor. Their food is of great value and quality for the price. They pretty much kept the former menu but expanded to larger portions and upgraded the quality too such as their Kung Pao Chicken and home made soups like Chicken and Corn, Won Ton. Their lunches are $5.95 with chilled salad, soup and entree and very generous portions I must say. I urge people in Ventura and those visitng to go to The Peking since it is the very best Chinese eatery in Ventura. Some weekends they do Din Sum too. I have tried ALL of the Chinese restaurants in Ventura and none come close to Peking. There are 3 to 4 other Chinese eateries un Ventura ... I will not mention names, but all are bad to fair, to put it kindly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura County
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I ordered delivery for 14 people. The orders were all correct when delivered, the portions were more than enough, and the prices were so great (approx.$5.95 per person). We ordered the lunch specials which came with soup, steamed or fried rice, and the entree. Everyone Their customer service was really good. I would definitely order from them again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravels18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
“Recommend it and you will NEVER be asked again.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

I ordered take out for 12. Other than the fortune cookies and soup there wasn't enough for 8. The salad for 12 was a little bigger than a jack-in -the box side salad. I can accept being hungry an hour later, but not having people leave the table hungry. My friend who recommended the place apologized and admitted she hadn't eaten there in years. The food quality was adequate.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, Ca
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

I eat here all the time.
I love the spicy orange chicken an beef with brocolii.
The owner knows me and he is very friendly!
I take my friends to lunch here all the time because it's just too good.
I highly recommend eating here when you are in the mood for good chinese food.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gamerboy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good main dishes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

The main dishes are good, I usually get the shrimp w/ lobster sauce, lunch special. Have only been here for lunch. The decor leaves much to be desired, it is a little dark. Service is good though. The lunch special comes w/ choice of fried or white rice but the fried rice is not really the traditional fried rice as it doesn't come w/ anything much like peas, carrots, egg, etc... I don't think that applies to the main dish of fried rice, just the free rice that comes w/ the lunch combo. Decent basic Chinese food.

Helpful?
1 Thank GCake1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peking Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Peking Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing