We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wonderful for pets!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Reviewed April 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed for two nights with our dogs. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We loved the location. Plenty of opportunity to explore on foot. Continental breakfast was not bad and we especially appreciated the coffee and hot cocoa available 24/7. The train wasn't a big deal at all. Overall we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weinerslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2009

Thank you for the nice review. This is a wonderful location for pets. We have plenty of grass, plus a park across the street and the beach right behind us. Almost everything is walking distance from here and the town is very pet friendly. We hope you come back again soon. If you didn't get a 10th Night Free card while you were here, please call and we will send you one

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Vagabond Inn Ventura
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 388 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2009

This motel could have been so much better than it was.

It had lots of parking, free continental breakfast, an attached restaurant, a heated pool, and decent sized rooms. Even so it came up short in two areas, one small and one great. While the room looked like it been redecorated within the last few years (newish carpet, tile, wallpaper, etc.), my wife noticed where it wasn't as clean as it could have been. She found blood stains on the bedsheets. Everything else looked clean enough.

The biggest flaw wasn't the motel itself but noise from our fellow travelers and service vehicles. Other reviews mentioned that the site is close to train tracks and HIghway 101. After the last train passed around 9:30 PM we didn't hear either. However, another guest showed off (or "broadcast") the subwoofer of his car stereo a few times throughout the night as he boomed out his music that literally shook the walls. He and his companions came and left at least three times during the night and yelled to each other every time they did. This went on between 10:00 PM and 3:00 AM. At 5:45 AM a food service truck noisily backed into the parking lot to unload its delivery. Other guests left in the wee hours of the morning and spoke loudly as they passed our room (I'm guessing they were fishermen). Needless to say, we hardly slept at all.

My wife said she'll gladly spend $100 more per night to stay somewhere away from such inconsiderate slobs. I'd be open to coming back here if I could figure out when the "off season" would be when there would be fewer fellow guests.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shiroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2009

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We strive to keep our hotel clean and appealing. I'm sorry to hear about the noisy guests and truck. I will contact you directly to make things right with you. We want you to come back often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Vagabond Inn in Ventura and were very happy with the stay. The room was large and well equipped. The train does run right behind the hotel but the train runs all along the coast of California so we were aware there would be train noise. The front desk people were very friendly and the breakfast was very good. The attached Vagabond Restaurant had home cooked style food at very reasonable prices. Something to note - the quoted room price on the Vagabond web-site was less than that quoted directly by the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maraeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2009

Thank you so much for the nice rewiew. The price listed on our wedsite is always at a 15% discount or better. We have a casual same day as arrival 4 pm cancellation policy, so if your plans change, you are not penalized, and there are no cancellation fees to worry about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

My wife and I stayed 4 nights while motorhome was being serviced. They allowed our 2 cats to stay with us @ no charge. There is a restaurant on the premises that is great for breakfast. We did not try it for lunch or dinner. Directly behind the property is a pedestrian bridge across the freeway (could not hear the traffic at all in our room) to the beach, pier and wonderful restaurants. We our planning to return for just a nice confortable get-away.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mandlsrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2008

After a long day of driving California's magnificent Pacific coast highway, the Vagabond was a welcome refuge, with a pool, a restaurant and walkable access to the beach. Yes, the Amtrak mainline runs behind the building (for those of us who are railfans that can be a distinct plus). Yes, the overall design evokes a 1970s road-trip. Yes, the walls are thinner than in newer accommodations. Yes, the clientele can be exuberant. But the room was clean, the staff were professional. And the price was right.

As for the unadorned continental breakfast--I skipped it for a hearty, reasonably-priced breakfast at the full-service restaurant mere steps away across the inn's carport.

The Vagabond's location is its biggest selling point. It is handy to the heart of Ventura: the town square and post office are within walking distance. It's directly on Business U.S. 101, with easy expressway on and off. The very best feature, though, is its proximity to the pedestrian bridge over to the beach and the municipal wharf. In the morning, especially, the walkway was a portal to a tranquil world of waves and seagulls and fishermen.

I saw other, well-known chain hotels nearby, that were no doubt available for twice the price. But, for a place to settle following a day of exploring, I was quite content with the Vagabond. Oh, and the night was perfectly comfortable, even without moonshine, America's lyrics notwithstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DoeHEAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

My husband and I were lucky enough to have scored a room on a Saturday night for a quick getaway from LA to the beach. After being stuck in traffic for over two hours, we arrived at the Vagabond, cracked up at the 60's cheesyness, but agreed it looked fresh and clean. We checked into our room, immediately suited up and crossed the footbridge for the beach, which was very convenient.

What we didn't expect when we arrived back was... Our trip for a quick swim in the pool - there was a whole family group there cracking open beers and smoking cigarettes. Wasn't pretty, nor do I think smoking and beer drinking should be allowed poolside, in the presence of other families and kids. We left for our room when...

Our door would not open. We tried the card up, down, all around - nothing. My husband went down to the front desk to get another and that one didn't work either. This time we both went and insisted the attendant come back with us. Now mind you, we're wearing WET bathing suits and are not happy at this point. The front office girl was very sweet(thank you "A"), but explained she was alone and couldn't leave her station.

WHAT? A very young lady ALONE running this hotel? Not nice. We sternly insisted she take a crack at our door. She comes to our room and tries all her card keys and none are working. She did not know what to do and we were ready to break the damn window. So let's recap, she's alone AND untrained. She makes a frantic call to someone (who mercifully was available) who directed her to an actual key and secret keyhole and walked her through the directions on the phone.

She ultimately got the door open, but ruined an hour + of our day, which we had wanted to spend more time downtown sans wet bathing suits, which would not have gone over well at the wine tasting bar.

Moving on, our next fun fact undisclosed by Vagabond is they're located smack-dab on railroad tracks that have trains barreling by all day. Loud? You figure it out... Someone mentioned the Lucy episode, in which I concur.

Ok, one last gripe - the tv picture was grainy at best.

I guess we're spoiled as we usually stay at the Bella Maggiore, and we will say our room was clean and we had a great getaway, but unless they make some changes (and warn guests about the railway) we won't return.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicalMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

The Front Desk Clerk was so rude , unprofessional and confrontational that it seemed like I was on "Candid Camera".

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Check in / front desk
Thank Harco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
0.1 mi away
Amanzi Hotel
Amanzi Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ventura
656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,110 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ventura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range: $80 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Historic Downtown Ventura, the Vagabond Inn is walking distance to the shops, restaurants, theaters and more. Just behind the Inn is a footbridge that takes you to the Ventura Pier and Promenade to the right and to San BuenaVentura State Beach to the left (where you will find the famous Jolly Oyster!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing