We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vagabond Inn Ventura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
New Jersey
Level Contributor
191 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Vagabond Inn for 2 nights. The room was very basic and clean. It has the sink outside the bathroom and a refrigerator near the sink. The beds were comfortable and it was fairly quiet at night. The hotel is just a few blocks from the main part of town with all of the restaurants and shops. There is a walkway behind the hotel to get over to the pier and beach area but we preferred to walk there via the street.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank babobear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. I hope you can come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    112
    61
    34
    25
See reviews for
69
106
37
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We weren't sure what we had arrived at when we got here but the staff were very friendly. Our room was clean and very well equipped with coffee maker, good range of toiletries and towels beautifully presented. Room itself was a bit dated looking from the outside and the carpet had definitely seen better days. Heard the train but it wasn't a problem. Ideal stopover for a night or two at a very good price. Don't bother with the free breakfast thought,meat in the friendly diner on site

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LarkrisetoCandleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property! All of our rooms have a microwave oven, a small refrigerator and a coffee maker. They also have an iron and ironing board just in case your clothes get wrinkled on the way. We don't offer a breakfast at this location, but we do have an on-site restaurant. We do have complementary breakfast snacks, like cereal bars and danish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Basic room. Lovely shower. Lots of banging and trains noise. Rubbish WIFI. No breakfast. You pay for what you get. Very close to the beach, in walking distance. The pool is nothing like as big as it looks in the picture. Ok for one night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank search4sun_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for writing a review. Our location is one of the best in town. We had some problems with the WIFI for a couple of days. We needed to replace a transmitter. It is running good now. I'm sorry that we didn't catch it right away. We do not offer a breakfast at this location because the County of Ventura requires a commercial kitchen to do so. We do have an on-site restaurant with some great values for breakfast. We also have a hot tub, which is my favorite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Have driven by this motel over the years but had not stayed there until this visit. Has an overall vintage 70's look but our room was updated and very comfortable. The Amtrax train runs right behind the back building which and it is both loud and you can feel the rumble...thankfully it only came by a couple of times during our 1 day stay. Juanita at the front desk was very friendly and helpful...a real asset to this establishment.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the back building that fronts the railroad track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonflydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for the review! I will make sure that Juanita sees this. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this motel on two different occasions its very close to the ocean and easy to get there from the inn. The staff in the evening is very helpful very nice friendly they tell you where you can go and sight see the rooms are older but ours was remodeled and they were remodeling others while our stay very clean parking gets tough at night, down town is just 3 blocks away so a good location a lot of homeless lounge in the back of the motel but they dont bother you besides parking the only complaint I have is you can hear people like if there standing talking just outside your door i wake up off and on early in the morning because of peoples voices but really overall very affordable and we like this place and we will always stay here when in ventura

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mcorza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
With our Loyalty program, a few more stays and you will earn a free night. Be sure to mention it next time you check in. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. This is a great location if you want to walk to the Fairgrounds, the Beach, or Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

I was really impressed with Alexandria and Jenny at the front desk. Very helpful. Room was clean especially the bath. Restaurant on location. Least liked -- Slow wifi, noisy at night. My first time staying here though I've driven past it many times.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I will pass your comments on to Alexandria and Jenny. The staff really tries hard and it is great when they are recognized by name. We are upgrading our WiFi service to accommodate the high usage at night. We hope you stop by again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

I checked in 6/20/2014 with my girlfriend on the way to an event. The front desk was very helpful and the restaurant connected to the hotel was great. The room was a decent size, clean, new flat screen tv, but since it's pet friendly it smelled a bit. Don't know if the person who stood before us had a pet but we aired it out for 5 minutes and the smell was gone. The doors need some work, you need to push really hard to close them. There was a group of people drinking in the room next to us around 1-2am and they kept going in and out of their room every 3 minutes or so for 2 hours and all you would hear is a very loud slam(the doors the need some fixing) and it would wake us up. Other than that my stay was pretty good. Family friendly with your occasional group of young hotel partiers. I wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomCat123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for giving us your thoughts about your stay with us. The information provided is very helpful to us to see where we need to focus our attention. Today, my attention will be on the doors. I'll have all of them checked and figure out a solution. Thanks again, and please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
1.1 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Property: Vagabond Inn Ventura
Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ventura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Historic Downtown Ventura, the Vagabond Inn is walking distance to the shops, restaurants, theaters and more. Just behind the Inn is a footbridge that takes you to the Ventura Pier and Promenade to the right and to San BuenaVentura State Beach to the left (where you will find the famous Jolly Oyster!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing