We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Nearby Hotels
$149
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Inn Ventura Beach(Ventura)(Great Value!)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Crystal Lodge Motel(Ventura)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ventura Beach Marriott(Ventura)(Great Value!)
$182
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura(Ventura)(Great Value!)
$119
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amanzi Hotel(Ventura)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
82
142
93
44
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
142
93
44
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedsroom was cleanpedestrian bridgequiet at nightpool and hot tubclose to downtownwithin walking distanceroad tripbeach accessmain streetpierdeborahpetlodgingmicrowavehousekeeperchannels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 398 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you are traveling from san francisco to LA, its a good chance to stay here. Good jacuzzi and the rooms are quiet and clean. Also the service are very kind. You must have breakfast in the main desk, this is not very cool. The could have at least tables and chairs where to have breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferfeito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We are looking into enlarging the lobby to accommodate some tables and chairs and also a small business area with a computer and printer for our guests convenience. We do however, have a restaurant on site that offers many choices including Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert and Appetizers. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We arrived in Ventura without hotel reservations. After seeing how much cheaper the Vagabond was compared to another place we checked, we were a bit hesitant but decided to save the money. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was clean and quite nice. We did hear the nearby train, but only a few times and never when we were trying to sleep. As others have written, the location was great--convenient to downtown and the beach. The continental breakfast was a step below other free breakfasts at similar hotels. You could tell this was an older place but it was well-maintained. The furniture was dated but in decent condition. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for the nice review, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed at the Vagabond for two nights and enjoyed the close proximity to the beach, the pool and jacuzzi and the overall feeling of a safe place to stay. The best part was the connnecting rooms on the ground floor for myself and nieces. I wouldn't have been able to get those rooms if it wasn't for the help of Dan, one of the employees at the Vagabond. He was very helpful and knew exactly what my situation was and how to help me. Thank you Dan!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue3800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for the review! It's always great to hear good things about the staff. I will make sure that Dan sees this review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Ended up here by default as all other Ventura hotels were booked.

Awesome location, a short walk to the beach/pier and downtown.

Rooms are average, definitely a little tired & the bedding is a bit thin (ac was overpowering even on low setting, but too hot without it).

Front desk staff were very friendly & helpful. Pool & hot tub were a nice feature.

The room doors were 'sticky' and very noisy, so neighbouring room doors closing woke our baby. Very little soundproofing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hutchero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for posting a review of our property. We are in the process of upgrading the guest rooms. When they are finished, the upper shelf in the closet will contain an extra blanket and pillow. Right now, they are available at the front desk. We will look into the sticky door issue. I'm sure that can be fixed. I will have maintenance check all of the doors and get back to me with a list. We really appreciate the input and the opportunity it gives us to make the Vagabond Inn the best choice in town for overall value and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I booked a room for 2 nites with 2 queen beds. The room large, airy, and very clean. Very comfortable beds, good a/c. Could have used a few hangers and hooks, but not a big deal. The area was quiet enough for us. We were above the pool, in the back. The view out the front window was great, with the hills, palm trees, and a peek of the city in between. The view out the bathroom window was the ocean, but we generally kept that small window closed. The train came by a few times, and coming from Long Beach where there's a fair share of airplane noise above us, that wasn't much of a bother. The staff was very friendly. The restaurant was OK. Presentation was excellent but the substance was only fair. Once again, the staff here was super friendly and accommodating. Didn't have to eat there, though. There were tons of great restaurants around. In back there's a walkway over the 405 freeway that gets you straight to the Ventura pier and promenade. And out front you're very close to downtown. Wonderful location! I'd stay again, for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfineart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for the review! I suspect you got one of the rooms that has an added closet. I will check today to make sure there are plenty of hangers. We hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews