We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel - Good option price -”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good hotel - Good option price -”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you are traveling from san francisco to LA, its a good chance to stay here. Good jacuzzi and the rooms are quiet and clean. Also the service are very kind. You must have breakfast in the main desk, this is not very cool. The could have at least tables and chairs where to have breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferfeito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are looking into enlarging the lobby to accommodate some tables and chairs and also a small business area with a computer and printer for our guests convenience. We do however, have a restaurant on site that offers many choices including Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert and Appetizers. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    127
    76
    36
    31
See reviews for
83
122
44
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We arrived in Ventura without hotel reservations. After seeing how much cheaper the Vagabond was compared to another place we checked, we were a bit hesitant but decided to save the money. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was clean and quite nice. We did hear the nearby train, but only a few times and never when we were trying to sleep. As others have written, the location was great--convenient to downtown and the beach. The continental breakfast was a step below other free breakfasts at similar hotels. You could tell this was an older place but it was well-maintained. The furniture was dated but in decent condition. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for the nice review, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed at the Vagabond for two nights and enjoyed the close proximity to the beach, the pool and jacuzzi and the overall feeling of a safe place to stay. The best part was the connnecting rooms on the ground floor for myself and nieces. I wouldn't have been able to get those rooms if it wasn't for the help of Dan, one of the employees at the Vagabond. He was very helpful and knew exactly what my situation was and how to help me. Thank you Dan!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue3800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for the review! It's always great to hear good things about the staff. I will make sure that Dan sees this review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Ended up here by default as all other Ventura hotels were booked.

Awesome location, a short walk to the beach/pier and downtown.

Rooms are average, definitely a little tired & the bedding is a bit thin (ac was overpowering even on low setting, but too hot without it).

Front desk staff were very friendly & helpful. Pool & hot tub were a nice feature.

The room doors were 'sticky' and very noisy, so neighbouring room doors closing woke our baby. Very little soundproofing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hutchero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of our property. We are in the process of upgrading the guest rooms. When they are finished, the upper shelf in the closet will contain an extra blanket and pillow. Right now, they are available at the front desk. We will look into the sticky door issue. I'm sure that can be fixed. I will have maintenance check all of the doors and get back to me with a list. We really appreciate the input and the opportunity it gives us to make the Vagabond Inn the best choice in town for overall value and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I booked a room for 2 nites with 2 queen beds. The room large, airy, and very clean. Very comfortable beds, good a/c. Could have used a few hangers and hooks, but not a big deal. The area was quiet enough for us. We were above the pool, in the back. The view out the front window was great, with the hills, palm trees, and a peek of the city in between. The view out the bathroom window was the ocean, but we generally kept that small window closed. The train came by a few times, and coming from Long Beach where there's a fair share of airplane noise above us, that wasn't much of a bother. The staff was very friendly. The restaurant was OK. Presentation was excellent but the substance was only fair. Once again, the staff here was super friendly and accommodating. Didn't have to eat there, though. There were tons of great restaurants around. In back there's a walkway over the 405 freeway that gets you straight to the Ventura pier and promenade. And out front you're very close to downtown. Wonderful location! I'd stay again, for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfineart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for the review! I suspect you got one of the rooms that has an added closet. I will check today to make sure there are plenty of hangers. We hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Because I'm a dog owner, I always look for a place where I can take my dogs. I had a reservation with the Motel 6, but every room reeked of cigarette smoke and I decided to stay somewhere else. The Vagabond Inn had room available and zero smell of smoke. The bed was very comfy and it was a plus having a hot tub/jacuzzi. (I even ran to the local Ross and purchased a swimming suit, so I could use it). And I got a discount with my Triple A card, score! The only negative aspect is that Amtrak trains run nearby and it can be disruptive... but I didn't really mind.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsCDinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for the nice review! We love to hear feedback from our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stopped off in Ventura during our coastal trip to San Diego and after viewing the local hotels we chose the Vagabond. We found this an excellent place to stay with welcoming / professional staff and a restaurant which provided a brilliant choice, lovely welcoming staff and excellent value for money. - Keep up the great work Vagabond.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scot010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mventura, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Ventura, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you! We hope to see you if you come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
1.0 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Ventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Ventura

Property: Vagabond Inn Ventura
Address: 756 E Thompson Blvd, Ventura, CA 93001-2916
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ventura
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Ventura 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Historic Downtown Ventura, the Vagabond Inn is walking distance to the shops, restaurants, theaters and more. Just behind the Inn is a footbridge that takes you to the Ventura Pier and Promenade to the right and to San BuenaVentura State Beach to the left (where you will find the famous Jolly Oyster!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Vagabond Inn Ventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Ventura Hotel Ventura
Vagabond Hotel Ventura
Ventura Vagabond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing