We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Well It is a Motel 6” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Ventura South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Ventura South to your Saves list
Motel 6 Ventura South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3075 Johnson Drive, Ventura, CA 93003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well It is a Motel 6”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

So I travel for a living and I stayed everything from the Fairmont to well uh THIS, so its not like I expect a Motel 6 to be a Hyatt or even a Best Western but I feel hotels / motels have some obligation of providing at least a safe environment. Had I not had a dog with me or I left for sure. ( I feel safer with a dog here.)

The Pros: Cheap, fairly quite with the exception of the fire alarm going off 2 times in the middle of the night due to unattended teens.

The Cons:
Very tiny and I mean tiny Jail Cell uh I mean Hotel room. Tho I have a feeling the cliental feels more at home in the jail cell type room if you get my drift.
Hookers and other unsavory business being conducted at all hours at this property. By Guest and unregistered guest. Good luck getting a decent towel or sheets or a pillow not yellow stained. A/c did not work and toilet ran all night and day but I got lucky my friend had to clean the toilet in her room. I smoke but I hate seeing burns on everything including the floor.
Decent police presents keeps some of the trouble down I assume.

They claim they are remolding. Well I got news for them it won't help unless they start refusing some guests from a stay. I never stay hear if I had kids!! I never stay if I was a woman alone!

Bottom line if your desperate on a road trip tired and its just for one night go for it. Otherwise I stay else where plenty of nice hotels up the street.

Room Tip: Theres not one here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roll-About
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    15
    14
    22
See reviews for
16
16
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
STEVENSON
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Economy lodging is difficult to come by in this part of the world so this motel is an option. It may not be as fancy as Sandyland reef right down the road but I feel more comfortable here. The service was excellent and yes it's time for some improvements which I believe is in the making. I don't really like motel 6 because of the nonconformity from motel to motel. I was told that the corporate Motel 6s get regular inspections which is badly needed in most places. However for a place to crash this motel will do.

Room Tip: I'd prefer a room facing the courtyard and swimming pool. otherwise in the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vovhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a very nice Motel 6, three story with an elevator. Room are typical Motel 6, but property is well kept and nice looking.
I thought the 101 freeway noise would bother me, as I was on 3rd floor on freeway side. Once the door was closed on my room you could not hear traffic.
Nothing really special but for the price in a beach resort town this place was perfect. 5 minutes from the golf course I had come here to play.
Staff very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed on non-free way side. Will be perfect and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have been on a cross-country trip and was pleasantly surprised by other motel 6's I've stayed at. Not this one. The rooms smell like wet dog, the linens on the beds are stained and had cigarette burns in them. The carpets are old, dirty and stained. Not worth the savings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KellyR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ventura hotels

Mission Hills,ca
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

2 weeks every year for over 10 years. Always a decent place. Now, A DUMP. A dirty smelly,worn out Motel 6. Carpets,sinks, tubs,Disgusting. Outside rear parking lot,trash,trash cans,broken glass,Filthy grounds.Never again....

Room Tip: Check the rooms first before unpacking. We did not and working 12-14 hrs a day,for 2 weeks, our opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bradley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I have stayed there about 1/year for the past 10 years and for the price it was always a good deal. This year, they pushed their luck as the motel is so run down, as if they haven't invested a penny in upkeep for years. The 2nd bed was right up against the air conditioner which meant it had to be turned off or freeze. The sheets/towels were old - big hand towels or small bath towels, not sure. The room smelled dampish and stale. Water pressure in the sink non-existant. No trash, my friend had to go get a trash can. Poor storage space in the bathroom. The sheets were worn out and the bed - OMG --- lumpy and soft... not a good nites sleep. The light fixture by the bed was worn out and not easy to turn on to the lamp wanted since it worked for both

In its favor the shower curtain was excellent as it wrapped around and kept the water in the shower and not on the floor. And, I will say that the wake up calls were on time.

$100/night is not a lot for a room, but I have stayed in other places for this amount there there were tissues, decent towels/sheets and hair dryers. The location is great for my needs and I hope they invest some money in fixing the place up

Room Tip: Take your chances unles they invest some money to fix it up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gowanderaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed several days with our kids and mid sized pet dog. They gave us the perfect rooms lower level, in the back-good for taking the dog out for a quick run. There is also a field nearby great again for running the dog around a bit. The pool was out of service, which bummed the kids out, no breakfast either-this is bare bones. The rooms were large and both were relatively clean. They have no adjoining rooms. We all thought they may rent the rooms to the county for families transitioning from homeless to housing because one of the rooms had a lot of wear to the sink and dresser that looked like someone had stayed there a while. Why interesting on the weekend? Saturday day we checked in, went to visit relatives, we came back later that evening, it was like a prison in lockdown. The back exit near our room was closed down, roadblocked, then at the main entrance, there was a security guard who had to verify we had rooms there to let us through. This was not true sunday evening, so I guess they must step up the security on the weekends. It is not necessarily a bad part of ventura either, so I am not sure why this happened. But it is a good place for a budget trip to a great town, do be aware though it is quite a drive to the beach, there are fast food restaurants nearby, a CVS pharmacy and a few grocery stores a few blocks away. If you have kids, dog and would like a working pool and breakfast and are staying more than a day, it is a little more costly, but we would recommend the local La Quinta. It is very basic, but just what it should be a budget hotel. One more note, they allow medium sized and larger dogs-not just the small ones! :)

Room Tip: the back side of the hotel is away from the freeway, it is also great if you have a dog or kids, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalItal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ventura
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Ventura
La Quinta Inn Ventura
#13 of 22 in Ventura
3.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Victoria Motel
Victoria Motel
#15 of 22 in Ventura
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
5.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Ventura
Vagabond Inn Ventura
#9 of 22 in Ventura
3.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Ventura South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Ventura South

Property: Motel 6 Ventura South
Address: 3075 Johnson Drive, Ventura, CA 93003
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Ventura South 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Ventura South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Ventura South Hotel Ventura
Motel Six Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing