We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Nice hotel right on the beach”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here for one night prior to our boat trip out to Santa Cruz Island (great, by the way!). We were warmly welcomed and given a room adjoining that of our daughter, which was convenient. Our fourth floor room had a great view of the beach and we could even hear the waves crashing at night. The hotel is a short walk from the many restaurants in downtown Ventura. While we were there it was overcast and a bit cold so we didn't get to enjoy the pool, but it looked nice - large and with comfortable pool furniture. The bed was nice and comfy, with nice linens. Actually the entire room seemed recently updated and was very nicely decorated. My only complaint would be that the website stated that all rooms have a refrigerator and microwave but we had neither. The front desk person said the fridges were all in use. No problem, but the website should be updated. Otherwise, a nice place to stay and wish we could have stayed more than one night to enjoy the stellar view.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear. Jeanette1,

Thank you for rating us a 4 during your most recent visit to our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at the Channel Islands and we hope to see you back once it's Whale Watching season. We wish you a wonderful summer and thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    390
    235
    164
    117
See reviews for
286
428
56
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel was a great place to stay. Everything was very clean and very well taken care of. The staff is so friendly, they were always going out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and that we were having a great time. The beds are amazing! So comfortable and slept so good. It is perfectly located and within walking distance to restaurants. Fun surf out front too. The downtown is so cute and really fun to walk around, so many great restaurants. Definitely recommend staying here. We had room 902 and it was on the 9th floor on the ocean view side of the hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 902 and it was on the 9th floor on the ocean view side of the hotel. great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear. Jonatron,

The 5 star review is greatly appreciated and we thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach. It's great to know our staff excelled and our proximity to downtown and the beach met your needs. We wish you a fantastic summer and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I must admit, I am a local to Ventura. However, I recently moved to Boston and was looking for a place to stay with my boyfriend while visiting my family. I have been familiar with the property for years and it has seen MAJOR improvements since it's time as the Holiday Inn. It was really charming that as we were waiting in the line to check in, we overheard the conversation of the man checking in prior to us. He was in town celebrating his 54th wedding anniversary with his wife and had actually gotten married on the very beach the Crowne Plaza is located on. We ran into him later on and he was clearly having a blast at the hotel.

The rooms are simple and well equipped with all the usual necessities. We had a ocean view room that overlooked the pier and the Ventura shoreline. I don't know what the schedule is, but I don't think the railroad is used regularly. We actually only heard the train once and that was when we had the screen door to our porch open.

The hotel's best feature is easily it's location. As far as I know, it's the only hotel located on the beach all the way up to Carpinteria. Each morning we got to walk the trail along the beach and watch the surfers at C Street while drinking our hotel-provided coffee.

If you want to explore the the best of the city, I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is walking distance to downtown Ventura, so you can walk to a variety of souvenir and high end shops, but the real benefit is access to many bars without having to worry about transportation. If you don't feel like walking the two blocks to downtown Ventura, the hotel offers great happy hour specials in their lobby bar and lounge. Seriously, you can't bet their beer specials while watching the sunset from the lounge patio.

Like I said, I was born and raised in Ventura and Crowne Plaza is hands down the best Ventura has to offer. From the ever-cheerful staff to the killer location, I will continue to stay at the Crown Plaza even if my family moves out of town.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear. Erin T.

Thank you for being an advocate of our hotel and for offering us the very kind 5 rating. Our team takes great joy in reading these reviews and hearing that we did well. We hope all is well at your new home in Boston and we have the opportunity to serve you again soon. Best wishes to you from the Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I am just coming off a series of business trips with my company and I stayed two days here.

Hotel is in a great location, I need to come back and bring my family because it smack on the beach.

Hotel staff is great with service and desire to please with a long list of positive amenities from WiFi, business services, room service and quick breakfast service.

The hotel guest rooms are big and clean and beds are excellent in comfort! Love this location just wish my family was there with me.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MacDigity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear. MacDigity,

Thank you so much for the very kind 5 you rated us during your most recent stay. You mentioned that the only thing that was missing was your family and we hope we get to see you and your family very soon! Please feel free to reach out to us at anytime as we are ready to make you next reservation for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for warped tour this year, best location possible just a short walk away! Checking in was smooth they were just super busy though with everyone staying for warped tour and there was also a lacrosse tournament going on. Booked the 2 double beds ocean view and the view was great I see other reviews saying it's not an ocean view it was "a roof" but all you have to do is turn you head to the right and there it is! I think some people expect something else, but I thought it was really nice. 4 people stayed in the room and I never felt cramped. Just wish there was a refrigerator. Parking for 2 cars for 2 nights was $24 all together which is a lot cheaper than I thought it was going to be I've stayed in hotels that we 35 each a night!! so that was a nice surprise. Definitely staying here again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tes1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear. Tes1989,

Thank you for the very awesome score of 5 and we are glad to hear that were able to provide a great stay while you attended the Warp tour. This concert has been at the Ventura County fairgrounds which is only a short walk along the beach or boardwalk from us for years and we look forward to having you stay with us again next year. Thank you again we hope you have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Drove down from San Francisco, along the coast road, took all day, so wanted our next hotel to be quiet and comfortable. Rocked up at this joint as per our schedule, and wow, lobby full of surf dudes, boards etc, check in was ok, and free wifi along with parking. Room was basic and clean. Shame we weren't told about the train line alongside the hotel and every hour upto 11pm the train driver hoots his horn, then that restarts at 0600!
It's a poor hotel, mainly used by surfers and beach bum types. The steakhouse next door is fantastic. The beach is overrun with furry critters darting in and out of the rocks by the walk way.
We couldn't pack our bags the next morning fast enough and get back to LA.....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zugara01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dquintana, Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear. Zugara01,

Thank you for the review we appreciate the feedback and we are very sorry to hear that we were not what you were seeking. We do cater to all types of guests and surfers are just one of the many guests we have the privilege of serving. We hope we get another chance to show you all that the hotel has to offer from the great views to the terrific food we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ventura hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
634 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,071 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Property: Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Address: 450 Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ventura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing