We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room - Even Nicer View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Ventura, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Room - Even Nicer View”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel was perfect. Situated on the beach, the view was amazing. You literally walk out of your hotel room and your steps away from the sand. The front desk was very helpful and friendly and we received a quick check-in. We did book with the Government rate so we received free parking and breakfast. The breakfast was very bland but it was free so I couldn’t complain much. There was a game room, you can bring your pets, and if you wanted to hold a special event, this is the hotel for you. The room was pretty basic. Two beds, a tv with 40 channels, and a restroom. The wallpaper was peeling in the restroom and I had to flush the toilet twice each time I used it for the toilet paper to actually go down. I’m not too sure how “green” that is but that’s what we had to do.

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a room away from the main street. It is situated right next to AMTRAK b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syteseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    394
    239
    167
    117
See reviews for
291
435
57
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

One day was not even enough time to enjoy this great property. This beautiful tower in the sky offers amazing views and a nostalgic city life that I could certainly get used to.
Very clean rooms with a private balcony to watch the sunrise. I walked out to the quaint community up the street and found great vintage shops, boutique clothing stores, and cool pubs with live music. But I couldn't wait to get back to my hotel to sit out on the best beach front patio anywhere. Great luxury furniture to lounge on and fire pits to hang around. It was only Monday night and it was very lively with lots of local just hanging out.
I also have to mention the great staff. Everyone was so friendly and happy. My hands were full in the morning and someone ran over and got me coffee and made my oatmeal. Turns out he was the GM of the hotel, talk about service! I can't wait to come back here for leisure and enjoy the place even longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Avs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Perfect hotel for my business at hand and my SUP boarding! Hotel is ideally located in Ventura and the BEST location to launch my SUP paddleboard...directly in front of hotel!! The Coconut Crusted Calamari Strips in the Aqua Beachfront Bar are the BOMB!! Totally loved the Ahi Tartar as well!

Room Tip: Higher the better...the hotel is on the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda N, Front Desk Supervisor at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much we appreciate appreciate your feed back.

Im so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and you were able to enjoy our beautiful Ventura Beach. We look forward to your next stay with us and like to recomend for your next stay with us that you try our Hang Ten Surf Package.

Hang Ten Surf Package includes:
•One night accommodation & Free Parking at our hotel
•Two hours of Private Surfing Lessons
•$10 coupon per room or dining at C-Street Restaurant located inside our Hotel

We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Spent only 2 days at the beach in Ventura awesome old hotel . Rooms very nice and clean. Ocean view (maybe I can see the Ocean from my room! Staff every nice! Location couldn't have been better. Walking distance to downtown restaurants and shops. Great night life area. The Santa Ana winds kept it very warm for October.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smarshallaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

C Street beach (California St. Beach), Ventura is where the Crowne Plaza is located. Nice pool, Aqua Bar and Resturant and has miles of beautiful beach out front. Very pleasant atmosphere, very friendly employees, internet, & parking. I was referred here by RCI travel, and I am happy I chose this hotel. Very reasonable, for ocean front hotel.

Room Tip: South side of the building, closest to the beach, on the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeLa2pups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda N, Front Desk Supervisor at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank You so much for staying with us. So delighted to hear that the recommendation was a great one. Hope you were able to enjoy everything that Ventura has to offer and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a very bad experience at this "older and not very updated" hotel.
Location was its only plus during our stressful 2 day stay in Sept.... Right on water and boardwalk and close walk to restored downtown restaurants.
Room was small and dirty on arrival and in bad need of repair. Security locks broken, balcony filthy and needing paint.
Kept up until 4 AM first night by unruly Comicom guests that Hotel management and security could not control. Management comped the night but should have done more.

Room Tip: Higher is better for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rllbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear rllbol,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. It is great to know you liked the location of our hotel. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with your room accommodation and the service you received. Though this matter has been resolved in a timely manner, I regret this has negatively impacted your stay with us. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ventura hotels

West Central Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Would return again under similar conditions. Right on the beach, short walk to Eric's restaurant or downtown. Some complain about traffic noise, however I was closer to the beach side - no issues and a great view.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to traffic and train noise, ask for a room nearer the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OFGinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda N, Front Desk Supervisor at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
1,087 reviews
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Property: Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Address: 450 Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ventura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing