We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It really is beachfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Ventura
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It really is beachfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for five nights with a Road Scholar tour. The hotel is the tallest building in town having been grandfathered in before an ordinance forbid anything above 3 stories. It sits on the beach with all rooms having a view of the beach. Each room has a balcony with chairs to sit and look at the ocean, but I'm not sure it is ever warm enough to do that. The week we were there the high temperature hovered about 70 (August). Morning marine layer added to the cold. Still there were surfers our every morning. Don't know if the air conditioning worked, we never used it.
The room was pleasant with the only complaint being that the bath was small and all in one room with a single sink making for morning and evening congestion. Staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating.
Noise level from nearby rte 101 and the railroad is a problem if you want to leave the window open. You will not hear the surf. With the window closed, only the occasional train whistle was a problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macpatg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    372
    229
    163
    115
See reviews for
280
417
53
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has an awesome location. It's walking distance to the downtown shops, steps from the beach & near many yummy restaurants. The staff at the front desk is friendly and the room service and restaurant staff are exceptional! Accommodating, cheerful & professional. Unfortunately, the rooms are just so-so. It looks as though they recently updated the bedding decor but in our room(619) they failed to change the curtain color. The balcony above us constantly had water dripping from it. The balconies are small & the chairs look cheap. The ocean view rooms are ok. If you are lucky enough to get a room in the front one third of the hotel, your views are much better. There is a lot of freeway vehicle noise. Trains go by as well, but I didn't find them to be a problem at night.

I do recommend this hotel based on the location and the staff's quality service. I have stayed here many times over the years and come back just because of its location. On this trip the Ventura County Fair was going in & it was a quick walk to
the fair.
The hotel restaurant is quite good. I would also recommend Cafe Fiore and Eric Ericson's on the pier.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Travel1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Love2Travel1632,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and for your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room and balcony condition. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin fall, id
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Ventura for two weeks while attending Katherine Chang Liu's Art Conference/Workshop. This is my fourth summer to stay at the hotel, and the service has always been excellent. In the past I was a quest of the hotel. However, this is the first year that the workshop was held in the hotel. For the workshop and our room service, the staff was always friendly and accommodating. There were 25 people in our group, and in addtion some of us came with spouses. The food in the restaurant was good. You can't beat the location. It is a short walk into town, and the hotel is right on the beach. I plan to attend the workshop next year and I will stay again at the Crowne Plaza.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fifth floor thru the ninth foor are quieter than the rooms on lower floors. They are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicklana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

the hotel was like a busy beehive! All sorts of different groups coming and going! great food, beautiful service. and always responding to the guest questions and needs with a gracious, friendly attitude. As a two week resident, I found services to be always performed with the highest quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Crown Plaza Ventura for one night after attending a wedding nearby. The options in the area are quite limited and even though the reviews for this hotel seemed quite poor, we found a great rate and figured we'd roll the dice for one night. I have to say the service was outstanding, the bellman, the front desk staff, and even the lobby bartender all offered 5 star service. Our room was located on the North side of the hotel on an upper floor. I had a clear view of the breaking waves while laying in the bed. Couldn't believe the view we had for such a low rate ($119, booked directly on their website) the hotel is getting older, but the rooms seem to have been redone and have a "Westin" feel to them. The hotel is on the beach, it has a nice pool area and is walking distance to the downtown shopping and restaurant district. We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank storels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Other reviews say "great location right on the beach". What they don't say is the other side of the hotel is a main road, next to the railway which is next to the freeway! It was like trying to sleep on the hard shoulder of the M25 in rush hour. Service at breakfast and the one evening meal we had was VERY slow. On the positive side the rooms were large and bright and clean although bathrooms were small

Room Tip: Choose a room high up to get away from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPVB_Management, Online Media Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for putting together your review. We apologize about the noise in your room. We tend to get a bit of noise being in a downtown setting which is not great for a night of sleep but we are working on refreshing our rooms and looking at feedback so this helps. However if you book directly with us at cpventura.com or calling we can better situate you in a room where this is less of a problem. Enjoy your day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ventura hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Booked 2 adjoining rooms for us and friends for 2 nights. Both rooms were dirty and aged. Could not find one usable outlet to charge phone or computer. Bathrooms very small and lacking any amenities. Had to call for towels as the 3 they provided where not enough. The balcony had looked as if they had not been cleaned in sometime and the wonderful Train that runs by more than one would like takes away from the ocean view. This Hotel has all the makings of a great place but the lack of staff involvement and their don't bother us attitude has us not planning a return

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel are on the train tracks but the south side is more buffered and provides a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPVB_Management, Online Media Manager at Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for composing a reviews about our hotel. We are currently in the middle of a refresh of our hotel. It sounds like you might have been staying in one that we have not refreshed yet. We are sorry about that but we would like you to know if you were to come back if you book with us directly we can make sure that you are going to be in a room that is refreshed.

As you have noted we are next to the beach and in the middle of Downtown. So because of the close proximity to everything and being in a downtown atmosphere we tend to have a lot of noise coming from the trains and extra foot traffic. It tends to softer in the rooms closer to the ocean, again we can help you get into those rooms easily if you booked directly with us at cpventura.com

Anymore suggestions please either respond or email us we would be happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ventura hotels
1.2 mi away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 22 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach

Property: Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
Address: 450 Harbor Blvd, at The Promenade, Ventura, CA 93001-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ventura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ventura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach between Santa Barbara and Malibu. Near downtown Ventura Beach wine tasting, boutiques, outdoor cafes, and nightlife, Seaside Park, Ventura County Fairgrounds. Outdoor dining with firepits at Aqua Beachfront Bar and C-Street Restaurant. Walk along the Promenade Boardwalk to Amtrak and the historic Ventura Pier. 19,000 square feet of function space including the 6660 sf "Top of the Harbor" Ballroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Santa Barbara Channel and the Channel Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach Hotel Ventura
Ventura Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing